Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award Nomination

The Board of Directors of the Plains Anthropological Society is seeking nominations for the 2014 Distinguished Service Award. Nominations may be submitted by regular mail or by email and must include a vita or resume, a brief synopsis of the nominee's career, contributions to Plains Anthropology and the Plains Conference, letters of support from others, and a justification statement for the nomination. The award, established in 1991, recognizes outstanding lifetime achievement in Plains anthropological research, teaching, scholarship, and service to the profession. Past recipients include: Waldo R. and Mildred Mott Wedel, W. Raymond Wood, William J. Mayer-Oakes, Robert E. Bell, George C. Frison, Larry and Janice Tomsyck, David M. Gradwohl, Richard G. Forbis, James and Delores Gunnerson, Don G. Wyckoff, Fred and Mary Jane Schneider, Thomas Kehoe, Dale R. Henning, Stanley A. Ahler, Thomas A. Witty, Patricia O'Brien, Leslie B. Davis, Richard A. Krause, and F. A. Calabrese. Submit nominations by August 1, 2014 to:

Susan C. Vehik
Department of Anthropology
University of Oklahoma
Room 521, 455 W. Lindsey
Norman, Oklahoma 73072
Phone: (405) 325-3261

Past Recipients

Student Paper Awards

Full or part-time, undergraduate or graduate students are invited to participate in the annual Student Paper Award. You will present your paper at the annual Plains Conference. The winner will receive a cash award and the winning paper will be published in the Plains Anthropologist.

Guidelines and past recipients

Native American Student Award

Native American anthropology students enrolled in Plains colleges or universities are invited to apply for the PAS Native American scholarship award.

Guidelines and past recipients