Skip Navigation

Graduate Students

College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Biology, The University of Oklahoma website wordmark
Skip Side Navigation

Biology Graduate Students

Adams, Amy

Alumni Fellow and PhD student with Drs. Ken Hobson and Michael Patten; BS University of New Mexico; Research interests include plant-insect interactions, biogeography, evolutionary ecology, physiological ecology.

amy.e.adams@ou.edu

 

Afkhami, Mehrnaz

PhD student with Dr. JP Masly; BS & MS University of Tehran, Iran. Research interests include evolutionary genetics, male-female interactions.

mehrnaz.afkhami-1@ou.edu

 

Ban, Yue

PhD candidate with Dr. Michael Markham; BS Henan Normal University, China; Research interests include cellular, behavioral neurobiology.

yue.ban-1@ou.edu

 

Barnard, Alex

Wethington Fellow and PhD candidate with Drs. Ola Fincke and JP Masly; BS Colorado State University, BS Metro State College of Denver; Research interests include conservation biology, behavioral ecology, and sexual conflict as a promoter of speciation in insects.   

alex.barnard@ou.edu

 

Besozzi, Elizabeth

Alumni Fellow and PhD student with Dr. Michael Patten; BS Smith College; Research interests include exploring relative importance of top-down and bottom-up drivers of distribution, community ecology, biogeography and conservation.

ebesozzi@ou.edu

 

Bittner, Steven

PhD student with Dr. Dan Allen; BS University of Massachusetts – Amherst. Research interests include freshwater community and ecosystem ecology, food web dynamics and meta-ommunities.

smbittner@ou.edu

 

Brown, Joseph

MS student with Dr. Cameron Siler; BS University of Kansas; Research interests include herpetology, community ecology and conservation biology, particularly focused on ecology and conservation of crocodilians

Joseph.Brown-1@ou.edu

 

Burt, Carolyn

Alumni Fellow and PhD candidate with Dr. Rosemary Knapp; BA Indiana University; Research interests include the maintenance of sexual reproduction and host/parasite coevolution.

carolyn.s.burt-1@ou.edu

 

Busch, Michelle

PhD student with Dr. Dan Allen; BS University of Michigan. Interested in how anthropogenic effects affect macroinvertebrate communities, hydrology, trophic level interactions and food webs.

mhopebusch@ou.edu

 

Butterson, Skye

MS student with Dr. Katie Marshall; BSc Stellenbosch University, South Africa. Research interests include ectothermic adaptations to environmental stresses, particularly thermal stress.

skye.butterson@ou.edu

 

Cimprich, Paula

MS student with Dr. Jeffrey Kelly; BS Miami University, Ohio; Research interests include conservation biology, ornithology and ecology.

paula.m.cimprich-1@ou.edu

 

Cohen, Joshua 

PhD candidate with Dr. Rich Cifelli; BA University of California–Berkeley; Research interests in evolution of mammals of the Cretaceous Period.

jecohen@ou.edu

 

Cooper, Alex

MS student with Dr. Elizabeth Bergey; BA & BS University of Iowa. Research interests include biogeography, conservation, and community ecology.

Alexander.cooper@ou.edu

 

Dantzler-Kyer, Maryanne

PhD student with Dr. Michael Patten; BS Southwestern Oklahoma State University; Research interests include community ecology and conservation.

dantzlerkyerm@ou.edu

 

De Smet, Jessica

MS student with Dr. Rich Cifelli; BS University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign; Research interests include vertebrate paleobiology with a particular interest in basal mammals and protomammals, biogeography, paleoecology, morphometrics, morphological systematics, and behavioral inferences from fossils.

jessicadesmet@ou.edu

 

Eliades, Sam

Alumni Fellow and PhD student with Dr. Cameron Siler; BS North Carolina State University. Research interests include reptile systematics, phylogeography and conservation.

sjeliades@ou.edu

 

Frederickson, Joseph

GAANN Fellow and PhD candidate with Dr. Rich Cifelli; BS University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee, MS Temple University; Research interests in paleoecology and dinosaur ontogeny.

Joseph.A.Frederickson-1@ou.edu

 

Freitas, Elyse

GAANN Fellow and PhD candidate with Dr. Cameron Siler; BS University of California-Santa Barbara, MS Villanova University; Research interests include reptile systematics, biogeography phylogeography and functional morphology.

efreitas@ou.edu

 

Goodenough, Katharine

PhD student with Dr. Eli Bridge; BS Humboldt State University, MS San Diego State University; Research interests include ornithology, marine biology, tropical ecology and stable isotope applications in ecology.

kate.goodenough@ou.edu

 

Guruacharya, Anuj

PhD candidate with Dr. Richard Broughton; BS Tribhuvan University, Nepal, MS Louisiana Tech University; Research interests include genomics, evolutionary theory and computational/mathematical approaches to biology.

anuj2054@ou.edu

 

Hallidayschult, Thayer

PhD candidate with Dr. David Hambright; BS Lawrence University; Research interests include aquatic community ecology, fish community assemblage and its impact on ecosystem functions, roles and impacts of invaders, and conservation ecology.

thayer.c.hallidayschult-1@ou.edu

 

Hartnett, Rachel

NSF Graduate Research Fellow, Alumni Fellow and PhD candidate with Dr. Larry Weider; BS University of Texas–Austin; Research interests include community ecology, trophic interactions and community structure

rhartnett@ou.edu

 

Hawkins, Kevin

PhD student with Dr. Matthew Miller; BS Miami University, Ohio, MS Wright State University; Research interests include genomics, population genetics, bioinformatics, evolutionary biology and ornithology. Specifically interested in disentangling role of various evolutionary forces in speciation and hybridization using next generation sequencing techniques.

kevin.hawkins@ou.edu

 

Higgins, Ed

Alumni Fellow and PhD student with Dr. Caryn Vaughn; BS Boston University. Research interests include freshwater ecology, ecosystem services and genetics.

higginse@ou.edu

 

Hille, David

PhD candidate with Dr. Michael Patten; BS Northwest Nazarene University, MS University of Oklahoma; Research interests include conservation biology and ornithology.

dhille@ou.edu

 

Hjalmarson, Emily

GAANN Fellow and PhD candidate with Dr. Michael Patten; BA Lawrence University; Research interests include avian ecology and conservation, particularly species affected by anthropogenic factors such as prairie chickens whose habitat is impacted by wind farms and other land use modifications. 

ehjalmarson@ou.edu

 

Hooker, Katherine

NSF Graduate Research Fellow and PhD student with Dr. David Hambright; BS Baylor University; Research interests in include aquatic ecology, botany and water resource management.

khooker@ou.edu

 

Hunt, Tyler

MS student with Dr. Richard Cifelli; BS University of Oklahoma; Research interests include functional morphology and systematics.

tyler.c.hunt-1@ou.edu

 

Kiehnau, Emily

PhD student with Dr. Lawrence Weider; BA Lawrence University; Research interests include evolutionary ecology, aquatic ecology and evolutionary genetics.

emily.l.kiehnau@ou.edu

 

Kopp, Darin

PhD student with Dr. Daniel Allen; BS DePaul University, MS New Mexico State University; Research interests include geographical ecology, food webs, biodiversity and ecosystem functioning.

darin.kopp-1@ou.edu

 

LePage, Heather

MS student with Dr. Eli Bridge; BS University of Florida; Research interests include avian migration, movement ecology and conservation.

hlepage@ou.edu

 

Lopez, Jonathan

PhD student with Dr. Caryn Vaughn; BS North Carolina State University. Research interests include ecology and ecosystem services of freshwater mussels.

jwlopez@ou.edu

 

Lopez, Krisangel

MS student with Dr. Matthew Miller; BS Villanova University; Research interests include disease ecology, phylogenesis and biogeography among vector-borne viruses in birds.

krisangel.lopez-1@ou.edu

 

Lucas, Jane

NSF Graduate Research Fellow and PhD candidate with Dr. Michael Kaspari; BS University of St. Thomas, Minnesota; Research interests include tropical ecology, ecological stoichiometry, microbial ecology and entomology.

Jane.m.lucas-1@ou.edu

 

McLaughlin, Jessica

Alumni Fellow and PhD student with Dr. Matt Miller; BS & MS University of Alaska - Fairbanks. Research interests include secondary contact and avian speciation, population genomics.

jfmclaughlin@ou.edu

 

Muller, John 

PhD student with Dr. Jeremy Ross; BS & MS Texas State University – San Marcos. Research interests include natural history of birds, biogeography and wintering ecology of migratory birds.

jmullerS1@ou.edu

 

Nourbakhsh, Mehrnoush

PhD student with Dr. Michael Markham; BSc Isfahan University, Iran; MSc National Institute of Polytechnic and University, France. Research interests include neurobiology in weakly electric fish.

mrey@ou.edu

 

Oakley, William

PhD student with Dr. Eli Bridge; BA College of Charleston, Charleston, SC, MA The Citadel, Charleston, SC; Research interest include migration and population ecology of songbirds, wintering ecology of tidal marsh sparrows, technology used to track migratory songbirds and science education and citizen science.

wf.oakley@ou.edu

 

Pandit, Meelyn

PhD student with Drs. Eli Bridge and Jeremy Ross; BS Indiana University; MS Oklahoma State University. Research interests include ornithology, behavioral ecology, sexual selection, electrical engineering and computer programming.

meelyn.pandit@ou.edu

 

Popejoy, Traci

PhD student with Dr. Caryn Vaughn; BS University of Texas at Dallas, MS University of North Texas; Research interests in community ecology and nutrient cycling involving freshwater mussels and conservation biology of aquatic ecosystems.

TraciPopejoy@ou.edu

 

Prather, Rebecca

Alumni Fellow and PhD student with Dr. Michael Kaspari; BS George Washington University; Research interests include community ecology, ants and tropical ecology.

rebeccaprather@ou.edu

 

Rodriguez Silva, Rodet

PhD student with Dr. Ingo Schlupp; BS and MSc University of Havana, Cuba; Research interests include ecology, evolution and conservation of livebearing fishes.

rodet.rodriquez.silva-1@ou.edu

 

Roeder, Karl

GAANN Fellow and PhD candidate with Dr. Michael Kaspari; BS & MS Texas A&M University; Research interests include community ecology, arthropod biodiversity, and nutritional ecology.

karoeder@ou.edu

 

Shahrokhi, Golya

PhD student with Dr. Michael Patten; BS Shahid Beheshti University, Iran; MS Texas State University-San Marcos. Research interests include genetic studies, evolution, ornithology and ecology.

golya.shahrokhi-1@ou.edu

 

Spikes, Montrai

PhD student with Dr. Ingo Schlupp; BS University of Missouri-Columbia; Research interests include behavior, sexual selection and evolution of complex mating systems.

spikesm@ou.edu

 

Stumpf, Kayleigh

MS student with Dr. Jeff Kelly; BS University of Oklahoma; Research interests include conservation biology, ecosystem restoration and community ecology.

kaynics@ou.edu

 

Tweedy, Brent

GAANN Fellow, Wethington Fellow and PhD candidate with Dr. Caryn Vaughn; BS Oklahoma Baptist University, MS Texas Christian University; Research interests include aquatic and community ecology and ecotoxicology.

brent.tweedy@ou.edu

 

Wang, Kai

NSF Graduate Research Fellow and MS student with Dr. Cameron Siler; BS Washington State University; Research interests include phylogeography and evolution of reptiles and amphibians.

kai.wang-2@ou.edu

 

York, Joshua

PhD candidate with Dr. David McCauley; BS & MS University of Central Oklahoma; Research interests include understanding the roles of microRNA in neural crest cells and the early evolution of vertebrates.

joshuayork@ou.edu

 

Yuan, Tian

PhD candidate with Dr. David McCauley; BS Sichuan Agricultural University, MS Sichuan University, China; Research interests include genetics and evolution.

tian.yuan-1@ou.edu