Skip Navigation

Affiliate Faculty - ERES Mentors

Skip Side Navigation
Dr. Robert Nairn on a field trip with students
Dr. Robert Nairn on a field trip with students

Environmental Studies Affiliate Faculty

Environmental Studies is an interdisciplinary program and thus we have a diverse group of affiliate faculty who support Environmental Studies and its mission, to provide a student-guided curriculum designed to create the leadership and a workforce with the skills needed to help meet global challenges relating to water security and other pressing environmental issues, such as pollution, climate change, and deforestation. The purpose of the affiliate faculty is to provide advice and instructional support to the program and to facilitate a connection between the program and other constituents of the University of Oklahoma's Environmental Portfolio, as well as to the general University of Oklahoma community. Most Environmental Studies affiliate faculty offer courses or research experiences that can be used to fulfill the requirements of Environmental Studies major and minor degrees. Contact from the list below for possible inquiries related to the potential for ERES - Environmental Research Experiences for Students. 

Name - PositionDepartment - ResearchEmail - Website
Daniel C. Allen
Ph.D. - Assistant Professor

Department of Biology

Research Areas:
Community ecology; ecosystem ecology; stable isotope ecology; stream and riparian ecology

dcallen@ou.edu;
Website
Michael T. Ashby
Ph.D. - Professor

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Research Areas:
Inorganic Antimicrobials and Inorganic Antioxidants

mashby@ou.edu
Laura Bartley
Ph.D. - Assistant Professor

Department of Microbiology and Plant Biology

Research Areas:
Plant Biology, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, Evolutionary Biology

lbartley@ou.edu;
Webpage
Elizabeth Bergey
Ph.D. - Associate Professor

Oklahoma Biological Survey and Department of Biology

Research Areas:
Land snails, effects of disturbance on freshwater macroinvertebrates and algae, Invertebrate surveys

lbergey@ou.edu
Eli S. Bridge
Ph.D. - Assistant Professor

Oklahoma Biological Survey

Research Areas:
Behavior, endocrinology, evolution of life histories, avian migration

ebridge@ou.edu;
Website
Kathleen A. Brosnan
Ph.D., Travis Chair of Modern American History

Department of History

Research Areas:
American West, environmental history, urban history, legal history, and public history

kbrosnan@ou.edu;
Webpage
Richard E. Broughton
Ph.D. - Professor

Oklahoma Biological Survey and Department of Biology

Research Areas:
Historical patterns of diversification among genes, genomes, and organisms. Taxonomically, we are interested in all fishes with particular emphasis on North American freshwater fishes; however, several projects involve other animal groups such as amphipods, mussels and frogs. We are also interested in application of high performance computing to analysis of molecular data, and methods of phylogenetic inference.

rbroughton@ou.eduWebpage
Thomas J. Burns
Ph.D. - Professor of Sociology

Department of Sociology

Research Areas:
social institutions from a comparative and historical perspective, particularly as they pertain to issues of well-being and sustainability

tburns@ou.edu;
Webpage
Priscilla Crawford
Ph.D. - Conservation Specialist

Oklahoma Biological Survey

Research Areas:
Survey and monitor rare species and document invasive species throughout Oklahoma. Running the Oklahoma Natural Areas Registry that encourages private land conservation on properties that have rare species or excellent examples of natural habitats. Organizing BioBlitz! Oklahoma, the annual biodiversity education event, and coordination of other outreach activities.

prill@ou.edu;
Website
Phillip B. Chilson
Ph.D. - Professor

School of Meteorology

Research Areas:
Weather radar, remote sensing, boundary layer meteorology, aeroecology, unmanned aerial systems

chilson@ou.edu;
Webpage
Alison Fields
Ph.D. - Associate Professor

Art History, College of Fine Arts

Research Areas:
visual culture, western cinema, public memory, museology, and cultural tourism

afields@ou.edu; Webpage
Lee A. Fithian
Ph.D. - Associate Professor

College of Architecture

Research Areas:
The application of biological and ecological models to architectural design.

leefithian@ou.edu;
Webpage
R. Keith Gaddie
Ph.D. - President's Associates Presidential Professor and Chair

Department of Political Science

Research Areas:
The measurement of opinion formation and preference ordering as well as other methodological social science issues. The role of race, ethnicity, and culture in preference formation and perceptual and real bias in voting rights, and how institutional, legal, and systemic ordering relate to bias in allocating collective and public goods.

rkgaddie@ou.eduWebpage

J. Phil Gibson
Ph.D. - Associate Professor

 

Department of Biology and Department of Microbiology and Plant Biology

Research Areas:
Plant Biology, Environmental Science, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Science Education

 

jpgibson@ou.edu;
Website

 

 

 

Michael S. Givel
Ph.D. - Professor

Department of Political Science

Research Areas:
Public Policy Theory, Himalayan Area Studies, Urban Politics, Social Movements, Comparative Public Policy, Complexity Theory

mgivel@ou.edu;
Webpage
Miriam Gross
Ph.D.

Department of History and Department of International and Area Studies

Research Areas:
The history of public health and the popularization of science

mdgross@ou.edu;Webpage
Piers Hale
Ph.D. - Associate Professor

Department of the History of Science

Research Areas:
The science of biology's contribution to the ways in which we think about what it means to be human.

phale@ou.edu;
Webpage
K. David Hambright
Professor of Biology 

Department of Biology

Research Areas:
Plankton Ecology, freshwater consumer and prey species, Limnology

dhambright@ou.edu; Webpage
Hunter Heyck
Ph.D. - Associate Professor and Chair

Department of the History of Science

Research Areas:
19th- and 20th-century science; science and social thought; history of technology; information technology and society; technology and the environment.

hheyck@ou.edu;
Webpage
Bruce W. Hoagland
Ph.D. - Professor

Department of Geography and Environmental Sustainability and Oklahoma Biological Survey

Research Areas:
Vegetation classification and mapping, analysis of plant species distributions, reconstruction of historical vegetation, and floristic surveys. 

bhoagland@ou.edu;Webpage
Yang Hong
Ph.D. - Professor and Presidential Research Professor

CEES School of Civil Engineering and Environmental Sciences and School of Meteorology

Research Areas:
Radar/Satellite Remote Sensing of Precipitation, Evapotranspiration, Soil Moisture, and Streamflow. Hydro-sciences, Hydrometeorology, Hydroclimatology, Water Cycle, and Climate Change/Variability. Digital Image Analysis, Clustering, Artificial Intelligence, Geospatial Analysis, Geoinformatics. Natural Hazard and Disaster Monitoring, Prediction, Mitigation, Preventation, Water Resources Engineerng. Environmental Impact Assessment, Environmental Sustainability, Optimization and Decision Support Modeling

yanghong@ou.edu
Webpage
Michael Kaspari
Ph.D. - George Lynn Cross Professor

Department of Biology

Research Areas:
Exploring the biogeography of brown food webs most of our work is a focus on natural history and the principles of organismal biology toward predicting the behavior of communities and ecosystems.

mkaspari@ou.edu;
Website
Jeff Kelly
Ph.D. - Professor of Biology and Director

Oklahoma Biological Survey

Research Areas:
Ecology and Conservation of Migrant Birds, Radio Frequency ID, Geolocation Devices, TAGS Geolocation Analysis, Radar Aeroecology, Stable Isotope Ratio

jkelly@ou.edu;
Website
Bo Kong
Ph.D. - Assistant Professor

Department of International and Area Studies

Research Areas:
Energy, Policy Analysis, Politics, International Relations, Emerging Markets, Climate Change, Environmental Policy, Econometrics, Sustainable Development, Asian Studies

bo.kong@ou.edu;Webpage
Lee R. Krumholz
Ph.D. - Professor

Department of Microbiology and Plant Biology and Institute for Energy and the Environment

Research Areas:
Microbiology, Molecular and Cellular Biology, Environmental Science, Ecology, Anaerobic Microbiology

krumholz@ou.edu;
Website
Paul Lawson
Ph.D. - Professor

Department of Microbiology and Plant Biology

Research Areas:
Microbiology, Environmental Science, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Anaerobic Microbiology

paul.lawson@ou.edu;
Website
Robert D. Lifset
Ph.D. - Donald Keith Jones Associate Professor

Honors College

Research Areas:
Energy History, Environmental History, Modern U.S. History

robertlifset@ou.edu;
Webpage
Sarah Little
MLA, PLA - Assistant Professor

Division of Landscape Architecture, College of Architecture

Research Areas:
Understanding the influence of the design of the physical environment on human development. Her current research projects involve linking human attachment with place attachment, understanding the link between natural environments and autonomy, and developing observation scales for behavior mapping.

sarah.little@ou.edu;
Webpage
Andy S. Elwood Madden
Ph.D.  - Associate Professor

School of Geology and Geophysics

Research Areas: 

Environmental geochemistry of metals (eg., arsenic, chromium, manganese, uranium, etc.), minerals, and microbes.  Importance of nanoscience and size-dependent properties of materials in the environment; interactions of nanomaterials with organisms.

amadden@ou.edu;

Webpage

Heather McCarthy
Ph.D. - Assistant Professor

Department of Microbiology and Plant Biology

Research Areas:
Plant Biology, Environmental Science, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Ecosystems Ecology, Global Change Biology, Physiological Plant Ecology, Forest ecology, Urban ecology

heather.mccarthy@ou.edu;
Webpage
Claude Miller
Ph.D. - Associate Professor

Department of Communication

Research Areas:
The effects of psychological reactance and the restoration of freedom on the inoculation process, and on health promotion and risk prevention messages; the effects of regulatory focus and subliminally induced mortality salience on social influence processes; and the application of vested interest theory to crisis and disaster-related communication.

cm@ou.edu;Webpage
Abigail Moore
Ph.D. - Assistant Professor, Herbarium Curator

Department of Microbiology & Plant Biolog & Oklahoma Biological Survey

Research Areas:
Plant Biology, Evolutionary Biology, Ecological Diversification, Phylogenomics, Plant Systematics

abigail.j.moore@ou.edu; Webpage
Robert W. Nairn
Ph.D. - David L. Boren Professor and Sam K. Viersen Family Foundation Presidential Professor

CEES School of Civil Engineering & Environmental Science

Research Areas:
Environmental Science, Watershed Biogeochemistry, Ecological Engineering, Ecosystem Restoration, Wetland Science

nairn@ou.edu;
WaTERCenter Webpage; CREW webpage
Mark A. Nanny
Ph.D. - Professor

CEES School of Civil Engineering & Environmental Science

Research Areas:
Characterizing the chemical composition and morphology of biofilm communities and extracellular polymeric substances (EPS) using nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy (NMR), confocal fluorescence laser microscopy (CFLM) and other techniques.

nanny@ou.edu;
Webpage
Katherine A. Pandora
Ph.D. - Associates' Presidential Associate Professor

History of Science Department

Research Areas:
Relations between politics and the scientific enterprise as they play out in research settings and cultural arenas, particularly in relation to the social sciences of anthropology, psychology, and sociology; exploring how natural history has served as an “intellectual commons” for contestations by both the public and professionals about the nature of scientific authority; and by taking science in popular culture seriously, in order to better understand how scientific knowledge circulates “in the vernacular.”

kpandora@ou.edu; Webpage

Michael A. Patten, Ph.D. - Professor

Oklahoma Biological Survey, Department of Biology, & Sam Noble Museum

Research Areas: the Intersection of theory and application in evolutionary ecology and biogeography, applied to conservation of biodiversity. Conservation Biogeography, with focus on the mechanisms and consequences of habitat selection.

mpatten@ou.edu;
Webpage
Stephanie Pilat, Assistant Professor

College of Architecture

Research Areas:
Architecture and politics; Twentieth century architectural theory and history; Italian architecture and urbanism; Renaissance and Baroque architecture; Urban design and social housing

spilat@ou.edu;
Website
Asa R. Randall, PhD RPA - Assistant Professor

Department of Anthropology

Research Areas:
Examine the ways in which hunter-gatherers of deep antiquity interacted at multiple scales. The material dimensions of community coalescence, dispersion, and ritual integration. Archaic (10,000—3000 years ago) Communities of the Southeastern United States, Hunter-Gatherer Complexity, Mobility, and Exchange, Monumentality and Social History, Paleohydrology and Social Change

ar@ou.edu;
Website
George Richter-Addo, Ph.D. - Professor

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Research Areas:
Bioinorganic, Inorganic, Structural Biology

grichteraddo@ou.edu;
Website
Scott Robinson, Ph.D. - Professor and Henry Bellmon Chair of Public Service

Department of Political Science

Research Areas:
Disaster Politics, Public and Nonprofit Management, Policy Process Theory 

robinson.bellmon@gmail.com;
Website
Cynthia L. Rogers,
Ph.D. - Professor

Department of Economics

Research Areas:
Public Finance, Regional & Urban Economics, State & Local tax policy, Local Economic Development

crogers@ou.edu;
Website
Jeremy D. Ross,
Ph.D. - Assistant Professor

Oklahoma Biological Survey

Research Areas:
Aerobiology, Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, Conservation Biology, Ornithology

rossjd@ou.edu;
Website
Robert A. Rundstrom, Ph.D. - Associate Professor

Department of Geography and Environmental Sustainability

Research Areas: 
Historical and Cultural Geography, Maps, Geohumanities, U.S., American Indians

rrundstrom@ou.edu; Webpage
Edward Sankowski, Ph.D. - Professor

Department of Philosophy

Research Areas:
Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Social Science, Philosophy of Education, Aesthetics

esankowski@ou.edu
Rhona D. Seidelman,
Ph.D. - Assistant Professor

Schusterman Center for Judaic and Israel Studies, Department of History

Research Areas:
Israel, immigration, public health and medicine

rds@ou.edu;
Website
Mark P. Sharfman,
Ph.D. - Puterbaugh Chair in American Enterprise; Director, Division of Management & International Business

Division of Entrepreneurship and Economic Development, Price College of Business

Research Areas:
Strategic Decision Making, Social and Environmental Issues Management, Strategic Planning, Corporate Citizenship

Msharfman@ou.edu;
Website
Cameron Siler, Ph.D. - Assistant Curator of Herpetology

Sam Noble Museum, Department of Biology

Research Areas:
Phylogenetics and Patterns of Diversification, Phylogeography, Conservation and Landscape Genetics, Biodiversity Research and Education Outreach

Camsiler@ou.edu;
Website
Peter S. Soppelsa, Ph.D. - Assistant Professor

History of Science Department

Research Areas: 
Technology and culture

peter.soppelsa@ou.edu;
Website
Paul Spicer, Ph.D. - Professor

Department of AnthropologyCenter for Applied Social Research

Research Areas:
Anthropologies of health and human development; Medical, psychological, and educational anthropology; Alcoholism, obesity, genetics; Native North America  

paul.spicer@ou.edu; Webpage
Bradley Stevenson, Ph.D. - Associate Professor

Department of Microbiology and Plant Biology

Research areas: 
Microbiology, Molecular and Cellular biology, Environmental Science, Ecology, Anaerobic Microbiology

bradley.stevenson@ou.edu;
Website
Joseph Suflita, Ph.D. - Professor

Department of Microbiology and Plant Biology

Research areas: 
Anaerobic Microbiology, Biocorrosion, Biodegradation, Bioremediation, Microbial Ecology, Environmental Microbiology

jsuflita@ou.edu; Webpage
Zev Trachtenberg, Ph.D. - Associate Professor

Department of Philosophy & Director of Environmental Studies

Research Areas:
Social and Political Philosophy, Environmental Political Theory, Rousseau

ztrachtenberg@ou.edu;
Website
Caryn Vaughn, Ph.D. - Presidential Professor

Department of Biology and Oklahoma Biological Survery

Research Areas:
Freshwater ecology and conservation biology

cvaughn@ou.edu;
Website
Jason Vogel, Ph.D. - Associate Professor

Oklahoma Water Survey

Research Areas:
Stormwater and stream management, water related eucational programming, 

jason.vogel@ou.edu; Webpage
Janet Ward, Professor of History; Faculty Director

Department of History

Research Areas: 
Urban studies, visual culture, European cultural history, urban modernity, global borders, memory studies, World War II, the Holocaust, and comparative genocide studies

janet.ward@ou.edu;
Webpage
Gary Wellborn, Ph.D. - Professor and Director

Biological Station, Department of Biology

Research Areas:
Interactions among species, species diversity and maintenance of diversity within species, freshwater animal population and communities, ecology and evolution of freshwater crustaceans in the genus Hyalella 

gwellborn@ou.edu;
Webpage