Skip Navigation

Faculty

Skip Side Navigation

Faculty

Current Faculty

Headshot of Wayne Riggs, Department of Philosophy Chair

 

Wayne D. Riggs

(Ph.D., North Carolina)
Professor and Chair; Epistemology, Value Theory
LGBTQ+ Aspiring Ally 2.0, Green Zone, OUR Voice Active Bystander/ Not On OUR Campus
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 628
Email:
wriggs@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Brian Burkhart

 

Brian Burkhart

(Ph.D., Indiana)
Associate Professor; Native American Philosophy, Philosophy of Race, Latinx philosophy
Pronouns: he/him/his/they
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 614
Email: brian.burkhart-1@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Monte Cook

 

Monte Cook

(Ph.D., Iowa)
Professor; History of Modern Philosophy, Metaphysics
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 624
Email:
 mcook@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Steve Ellis

 

Stephen (Steve) Ellis

(Ph.D., Rutgers)
Associate Professor; Decision Theory, Philosophy of Economics, Philosophy of Mind, Ethics
LGBTQ+ Aspiring Ally
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 613
Email:
 sellis@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Tyler Huismann

 

Tyler Huismann

(Ph.D., Colorado)
Visiting Instructor; History of Ancient and Medieval Philosophy, Logic, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 609
Email:
 tyler.huismann@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Sherri Irvin

 

Sherri Irvin

(Ph.D., Princeton)
Presidential Research Professor of Philosophy and Women's and Gender Studies, Associate Dean of the Graduate College; Aesthetics, Philosophy of Race
LGBTQ+ Aspiring Ally
Office: Robertson Hall rm 213
Email:
 sirvin@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Rusty Jones

 

Russell (Rusty) Jones

(Ph.D., University of Oklahoma)
Associate Professor; Ancient Greek Philosophy
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 622
Email:
 rustyjones@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Neal Judisch

 

Neal Judisch

(Ph.D., Texas)
Associate Professor and Academic Director of Multidisciplinary Studies; Metaphysics, Action Theory, Philosophical Theology
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 618
Email:
 neal.judisch@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Martin Montminy

 

Martin Montminy

(Ph.D., Montreal)
Professor; Graduate Liaison - Placement; Philosophy of Language, Epistemology, Metaphysics
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 626
Email:
 montminy@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Amy Olberding

 

Amy Olberding

(Ph.D., Hawai'i)
President's Associates Presidential Professor; Early Chinese Philosophy, Ethics
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 617
Email:
 aolberding@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Matt Priselac

 

Matthew (Matt) Priselac

(Ph.D., North Carolina)
Assistant Professor; History of Modern Philosophy
LGBTQ+ Aspiring Ally
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 610
Email:
 mdpriselac@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Edward Sankowski

 

Edward Sankowski

(Ph.D., Cornell)
Professor; Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Social Science, Philosophy of Education, Aesthetics
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 625
Email:
 esankowski@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Nancy Snow

 

Nancy Snow

(Ph.D., Notre Dame)
Director, Institute for the Study of Human Flourishing; Professor, Ethics, Moral Psychology
Office: Chemistry Building rm 208E
Email: 
nsnow@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Zev Trachtenberg

 

Zev Trachtenberg

(Ph.D., Columbia)
Director of the Environmental Studies Department; Professor; Social and Political Philosophy, Environmental Political Theory, Rousseau
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 627
Email:
 ztrachtenberg@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Linda Zagzebski

 

Linda Zagzebski

(Ph.D., UCLA)
Kingfisher College Chair of the Philosophy of Religion and Ethics; George Lynn Cross Research Professor; Graduate Liaison; Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, Epistemology
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 629
Email:
 lzagzebski@ou.edu

 

Affiliate Faculty


Roksana Alavi

(Ph.D., University of Kansas)
Assistant Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies, Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy, Race, Gender

 


Greg Heiser

(Ph.D., Penn State; J.D. University of Oklahoma)
Affiliate Faculty; Associate Provost and Director of Academic Integrity Programs; Philosophy of Law, Applied Ethics, Continental Philosophy
Office:
Email:
gheiser@ou.edu

 

Retired Faculty

Headshot of Neera Badhwar

 

Neera Badhwar

(Ph.D., Toronto)
Professor Emeritus; Ethics, Moral Philosophy, Political Philosophy, International Ethics
Email:
nbad@ou.edu

 

Headshot of Hugh Benson

 

Hugh Benson

(Ph.D., Michigan)
Professor Emeritus; George Lynn Cross Research Professor; Samuel Roberts Noble Presidential Professor; Ancient Philosophy, Epistemology. LGBTQ Ally.
Office: Dale Hall Tower rm 621
Email: hbenson@ou.edu

 


 

Reinaldo Elugardo

(Ph.D., Western Ontario)
Professor Emeritus; Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language
Email:
relugardo@ou.edu

 

Headshot of James Hawthorne

 

James Hawthorne

(Ph.D., Minnesota)
Professor Emeritus; Formal Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Logic and Mathematics, Formal Logic, Artificial Intelligence
Email:
 hawthorne@ou.edu

 


 

Kenneth R. Merrill
(Deceased)

(Ph.D., Northwestern)
Professor Emeritus; History of Modern Philosophy, American Philosophy, Whitehead

 


 

Chris Swoyer

(Ph.D., Minnesota)
Professor Emeritus & Affiliated Professor of Cognitive Psychology; Philosophy of Psychology & Social Science, Applied Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science
Sooner Ally
Email:
 cswoyer@ou.edu