OU Biology News


News Archive for 2003                                                             return to current news

December 2003

  • Mariëlle Hoefnagels is the new editor for Labstracts, the online newsletter published by the Association for Biology Laboratory Education (ABLE). Web site: http://www.zoo.utoronto.ca/able/. ABLE's purpose is to improve biology laboratory education by promoting communication among biologists actively involved in undergraduate laboratory instruction.

November, 2003

  • The Department of Biology invites applications for two tenure-track Assistant Professor positions, in Cell/Molecular Biology and in Ecology, to begin in the fall of 2004. Screening will begin in mid January, 2004, and will continue until the positions are filled.

August, 2003

  • Doug Mock honored with the 2003 William Brewster Memorial Award by the American Ornithologists' Union for his work on avian siblicide. The award recognizes the most significant contribution to Western Hemisphere ornithology of the past ten years.

July, 2003

  • Welcome to Bill Matthews, in his new role as Department of Biology Chair, and many heartfelt thanks to Jim Thompson for his 20 years of superb leadership.

April, 2003

  • Laurie Vitt, nominated by the Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, was awarded a George Lynn Cross Research Professorship.
  • Regina Sullivan, nominated by the Biology Department, received a Presidential Professorship.
  • Michael Mares, nominated by the Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, received a Presidential Professorship.
  • Doug Mock was recognized as Most Aspiring Faculty at the Athletes' Awards Ceremony.
  • Tania Roth received the Outstanding Research Associate Award from the Provost's Office.
  • Rickey Cothran received the Graduate Teaching Assistant Award from the Provost's Office.
  • Marielle Hoefnagels, nominated by the Department's of Biology and Botany/Microbiology, received the General Education Teaching Award.
  • Han Wang received a Junior Faculty Summer Research Program Award from the University of Oklahoma Research Council.
  • Kent Smith received a Junior Faculty Summer Research Fellowship from the College of Arts and Sciences.




Events in Biology:




OU Home

College of Arts and Sciences

Email Webmaster