OU Biology News


News Archive for 2007                                                            return to current news


October, 2007

  • Associate Professor Randy Hewes received the 2007 Kinney-Sugg Award as the Outstanding Professor in the College of Arts and Sciences in recognition of his teaching, research, and service at the University of Oklahoma.
  • Dave Hambright, Associate Professor at the University of Oklahoma Biological Station and Department of Zooogy, received a 5-year commitment for $1,764,835 from the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation for research on the invasive and toxic golden alga, Prymnesium parvum in Lake Texoma. Dr. Hambright is also the U.S. PI on a 4-year, $126,000 research project funded by the U.S.-Israel Binational Science Foundation that will attempt to model carbon, nitrogen, and phosphorus fluxes within historical and present-day Lake Kinneret food web. This topic is of global interest today as anthropogenic stresses continue to alter species assemblages in ecosystems worldwide.
  • Adam Fudickar heads to Lund University for its Ecology of Animal Migration course via funding from NSF's MIGRATE Research Coordination Network.

September, 2007

  • Throughput at the Biology Core Molecular Lab is optimized for quick turn-around, typically less than 24 hours.  "Full service" options as well as facilities and reagents to "do it yourself" are available.  We are open to all Biology students, staff, and faculty, as well as researchers from other units.  Please contact Nancy <nzehrbach@ou.edu> or drop by Sutton Hall 310 for a complete list of services and competitive prices.  Check back soon to see the lab's new webpage.

August, 2007

  • Rich Broughton, associate professor at the Oklahoma Biological Survey and Department of Biology, is the lead investigator of a 5-year, $3 million grant from the National Science Foundation’s Assembling the Tree of Life program. Dr. Broughton will lead a team of internationally-recognized experts on fish evolution. The project is directed at understanding the evolutionary history and diversity of the world’s fishes, a major unresolved problem in vertebrate phylogeny.
  • Doug Mock and Patricia Schwagmeyer were awarded the Margaret Morse Nice Medal For Research from the Wilson Ornithological Society in recognition for their house sparrow work
  • Michi Tobler won the Stoye Award from ASIH for his presentation on "Ecological Differentiation and Reproductive Isolation along Environmental Gradients in Poecilia Mexicana (Poeciliidae, Teleostei)
  • Doug Gaffin voted President Elect for the Association of Deans and Directors of University Colleges

July, 2007

David McCauley received a 2 year $148,000 NIH-R03 grant from the NIDCR, the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, to study "SoxE gene regulation of Type II collagen in the sea lamprey Petromyzon marinus." The goal of the project is to determine if genes that regulate the development of cartilage took on that role early in the history of vertebrates. Dr. McCauley is using a primitive vertebrate, the sea lamprey, as a proxy for the ancestral or early vertebrate. In the lamprey, he will interrupt the function of genes that are known in higher vertebrates to regulate cartilage development, and will determine if cartilage formation is then affected. This study is important because it will tell us if the developmental mechanisms that are used to form cartilage are similar among various vertebrate species.

May, 2007

  • Matt Dugas was awarded a highly competitive Student Research Grant from the Animal Behavior Society.
  • Congratulations to Heather Rice, who was awarded second place for her poster at Research Day at the Capitol 2007, sponsored by NSF, Oklahoma EPSCoR and Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.

Congratulations to the following students who were recently awarded scholarships and honors in Biology.

Jane A. Quade Scholarship winners:

  • Rachel Kempf
  • Amber Makowicz
  • Barret Phillips

Biology Graduate Student Research Award:

  • Sebastien Gauthier

Thompson Award for Graduate Teaching:

  • Matthew Chumchal

Biology Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award:

  • Clayton Hallman

Outstanding Biology Graduates for Spring 2007

  • Lori Garman
  • Jeff Hart
  • Michael Hood
  • Ann Kruckeberg
  • Kitty Lee
  • Amber Makowicz
  • Jeff McBride
  • Scott Melson
  • Melissa Musser
  • Edward Nguyen
  • Heather Rice
  • Patrick Risch

M. Blanche Adams and M. Frances Adams Summer Graduate Scholarships:

  • Joanna Buley
  • Gabriel Costa
  • David Donoso
  • Adam Fudickar
  • Tingting Gu
  • Ruediger Riesch
  • Jonathan Shik
  • Stephanie Strickler

M. Blanche Adams and M. Frances Adams Academic Year Graduate Scholarships:

  • Daniel Allen
  • Joanna Buley
  • Gabriel Costa
  • Adam Fudickar
  • Tingting Gu
  • Chunjing Qu
  • Ruediger Riesch
  • Donald Shepard
  • Jeff Wesner

M. Blanche Adams and M. Frances Adams Summer Undergraduate Scholarships:

  • Joshua Johnson
  • Rachel Kempf
  • Ann Kruckeberg
  • Kathleen McAdams
  • Evelyn Meyers
  • Kendall Moore

M. Blanche Adams and M. Frances Adams Academic Year Undergraduate Scholarships:

  • Joshua Johnson
  • Amber Kuzmic
  • Jennifer Wallace
  • Chad Knight
  • Taylor Sprague
  • Christina Forest
  • Tyler Kallsen
  • Quinci Layman
  • Evelyn Meyers
  • Katherine Shoush
  • Jay Dalto
  • Keyaria Gray
  • Jonathan Smith
  • Michelle Morgan
  • Krishna Vedala
  • Shilpa Verma

April, 2007

Congratulations to:
  • Ingo Schlupp and Phil Gibson recipients of 2007 CAS Junior Faculty Summer Fellowships.
  • Liz Bergey, recipient of the Fulbright Award to teach six months in Thailand academic year 2007-2008.
  • Mike Kaspari, named Bullard Fellow at Harvard University spring and summer 2008.
  • Caryn Vaughn, who was awarded the Donald W. Tinkle Research Excellence Award from the Southwestern Association of Naturalists, representing an outstanding body of research during the last ten years, on April 21.
  • Cindy Gordon, who received the Good Teaching Award from the faculty awards committee at the Tribute to the Faculty on April 16.
  • Doug Gaffin, who received an OU Foundation Excellence in Teaching Award at the Tribute to the Faculty on April 16.

March, 2007

  • Daniel Allen received a First Place Prize for a student poster at the national Freshwater Mollusk Conservation Society symposium.
  • Ola Fincke received a 4-year, $370K grant "The evolution of female-specific color variation in damselflies" from the National Science Foundation. This project will test hypotheses about possible benefits of multiple color morphs for females, and will quantify the cost of the female variation on mate-searching males.  Population density and reflectance patterns of sexual signals will be quantified across populations and species to better understand the role of sexual harassment in the evolution and maintenance of the polymorphism. The work will advance our understanding of the role of sexual conflict in shaping reproductive behavior and sexual signaling, and provide a springboard for assessing the role of sexual conflict in speciation. 

January, 2007

  • Congratulations to Matt Chumchal (OU Biology Ph.D. program). Beginning in August 2007, Matt will be joining the Biology Department at TCU (Ft. Worth, Tx) as a new tenure-track Assistant Professor of Ecology and Vertebrate Biology.

Events in Biology:




OU Home

College of Arts and Sciences

Email Webmaster