Advisory Board

Dr. Christopher Marshall

He is a senior research scientist in the Chemical Sciences and Engineering Division of Argonne National Laboratory.  Here he is the Director of the Institute for Atom-efficient Chemical Transformations (IACT) a US Department of Energy "Energy Frontier Research Center." Dr. Marshall is an expert in the use and development of instrumentation for the application of in-situ x-ray absorption spectroscopy (XANES and EXAFS) as well as conventional materials characterization methods to determine the structure and chemical properties (metal oxidation states) of heterogeneous catalysts. His group carries out studies of catalyst materials properties under a variety of pretreatment and reaction conditions. He is also involved in in situ characterization of supported catalysts using synchrotron x-rays and infrared techniques along with reactor studies to determine catalytic mechanisms.

Phone: 630-252-4310; Email:


Dr. Peter Stair

He received a B.S. in Chemistry from Stanford University in 1972 and a Ph.D. from University of California, Berkeley in 1977 under the supervision of Gabor Somorjai. He has been on the faculty at Northwestern University since 1977. He is Professor of Chemistry, Director of the Center for Catalysis and Surface Science and of the Institute for Catalysis in Energy Processes. He is a Senior Scientist in the Chemical Sciences and Engineering Division at Argonne National Laboratory and Deputy Director of the Institute for Atom-efficient Chemical Transformations. His research interests are in the synthesis, characterization, and physical properties of heterogeneous catalysts. He has worked in surface science and in-situ Raman spectroscopy. His goal is to develop fundamental understanding in catalysis science that leads to advances in industrial chemistry and energy technology. He is a past recipient of the Alexander von Humboldt Senior Scientist Award and recipient of the 2010 ACS George Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry.

Phone: 847-491-5266; Email:


Dr. Sergey Rashkeev

Dr. Sergey N. Rashkeev received his MS in Applied Physics in 1981 (Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (PhysTech), Moscow, Russian Federation) and his Ph.D. in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics in 1985 from the same institution. He is a senior research staff scientist and Directorate Fellow at the Center for Advanced Modeling & Simulation, Idaho National Laboratory (hired in September, 2006, as a Strategic Hire). He is also an Adjunct Professor of Physics at Vanderbilt University (Nashville, TN). His research interests include (but are not restricted to) catalysis, surfaces and interfaces, point and extended defects, mesoscopic physics, superconductivity, nonlinear dynamics, plasticity phenomena, and nonlinear optics. Rashkeev was Principal Investigator in several National Science Foundation funded projects. He has authored more than 150 peer-reviewed publications, 6 patents pending, and national and international presentations in the above areas

Phone: 208-526-9402; Email:


Dr. Joe Allison

Dr. Allison received a BS in Chemistry from the University of Central Arkansas and his Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry from Purdue University. He joined ConocoPhillips (then Conoco) Research and Development directly from graduate school in 1983. Dr. Allison has been active in process chemistry with a focus on catalyst development. He has taken more than a dozen projects from the lab to a demonstration or commercial scale. He is currently working on the use of nanomaterials in oil field applications. He is an inventor on 37 US patents, with an additional dozen more pending and numerous international patents. Dr. Allison is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society; an Outstanding Alumnus of Purdue’s Department of Chemistry and received the 2008 Oklahoma Chemist Award.

Phone: 918-661-3248; Email:


Dr. Lenore Dai


Phone: 480-965-4112;