Skip Navigation


Skip Side Navigation
US China Logo

Study in China Scholarships

To promote student study abroad, the Institute for US-China Issues offers scholarships to OU students hoping to study in the Chinese speaking world. The number and size of scholarships each year will be contingent upon the quality of the applications and the Institute’s budget, but we anticipate awarding several scholarships of $1,000 to $2,000 in a typical year.

Study in China Scholarships will be given on a competitive basis to qualified students whose financial needs are not being met by other channels. Priority will be given to applicants accepted into semester or yearlong Chinese language academic programs in the Chinese speaking world. Scholarships will be awarded on the basis of the overall strength of the application (especially the cover letter), academic record, and financial need. 

Upon returning to OU, Study in China Scholars are asked helpto promote study abroad in China through classroom presentations, study abroad fairs, or information sessions.

Application Information

Applications should be submitted to the Institute no later than the first Friday of April. They will be reviewed by the Institute’s scholarship committee, and the winners announced by the second Friday of April. All applications should include:

  • cover letter of no more than two pages that explains why the applicant wants to study abroad in China.
  • short cv / résumé
  • transcript of grades
  • letter of acceptance into the proposed academic program

If you have questions about Study in China Scholarships, please direct them to or 405-325-1346.

2012 Study in China Scholars
Mason Kitchens, City University of Hong Kong
Derek Mattingly, City University of Hong Kong
Jessica Murphy, Yunnan University, Kunming

2013 Study in China Scholars
Andrew Rankin, Beijing Normal University
David Stroup, Beijing Normal University
Cassabndra Toney, Beijing Normal University
Margie Tanner, Beijing Normal University
Kiersten Strachan, Beijing Normal University
Jessica Murphy, Tsinghua University, Beijing
Michael Masterson,Yunnan University, Kunming
Lauren Aragon, Yunnan University, Kunming

2014 Study in China Scholars
Amy Lantrip, CIEE Beijing University
Adam Brobson, CIEE Beijing University
Brittany Ribble, CIEE National Chengchi University, Taipei
Nathan Robertson, Fudan University, Shanghai
Haruka Tsuchiya, Beijing Normal University

2015 Study in China Scholars
Jeanie Ta, CIEE Shanghai
Joshua Morrison, Xi’an International Studies University
Amanda Deng, Beijing Normal University
Margie Tanner, Beijing Normal University
Brooke Blackwood, OU Journey to China
Jennifer Chang, OU Journey to China
Christian Moler, OU Journey to China
Julia Ye, OU Journey to China

2016 Study in China Scholars
Brennan Davis, CIEE Beijing University
Jospeh Plummer, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Brittany Ribble, Beijing Normal University
Johanna Masterson, OU Journey to China
Rebecca Maldonado, OU Journey to China
Kelly Jones, OU Journey to China

2017 Study in China Scholars
Alison Roeth, National Taiwan University
Jedd-Ruben Soh, Beijing Normal University
Hannah Dillard, Beijing University
Riley McGill, OU Journey to China
Katherine O'Neal, OU Journey to China

Newman Scholars in China Studies

To reward Oklahoma high school seniors who have studied Chinese, and encourage them to continue their study of China at OU, the OU Institute for US-China Issues announces a $2,000 scholarship competition, the Newman Scholars in China Studies.

Newman Scholars will receive $1,000 in their OU bursars account upon enrollment in a single Chinese class their freshman year. Should they choose to study abroad in the Chinese speaking world their sophomore or junior years, they will receive another $1,000 in their OU bursars account.

Newman Scholars will also have special access to Institute programming, such as meeting with the Chinese and American diplomats who attend the US-China Diplomatic Dialogue, Chinese writers and literary experts involved in the Newman Prize for Chinese Literature, and attending monthly China faculty lunch talks.

Application Information. Two steps:

  1. Chinese teachers in the state of Oklahoma are encouraged to nominate the best graduating seniors in their Chinese classes. Nominations should be submitted by e-mail to by the second Wednesday in February, and should include student names and e-mail addresses. No more than three names can be submitted by any one Chinese teacher. They must be ranked, and each applicant’s experience and strengths and weaknesses as a Chinese language student should be briefly discussed.

  2. The Institute for US-China Issues will then e-mail qualified nominated students inviting applications, which students should submit electronically to by the first Wednesday of March. Student applications should include a one page statement about their experience studying Chinese and why the student wishes to attend OU, a copy of their high school transcript, and a short résumé or cv. Students should also have one high school teacher other than their Chinese teacher submit a brief (no more than one page) letter of recommendation by e-mail to no later than first Wednesday of March.

Winners will be announced the first Friday of March. Please address questions to or 405-325-1346.

2012 Newman Scholars in China Studies
Jesse Bradfiord-Rogers, Booker T. Washington HS in Tulsa
Aulia Hill, Booker T. Washington HS in Tulsa
Brandon Sibala, Booker T. Washington HS in Tulsa
Elle Portwood, Casady HS in OKC
Hillary Fields, Santa Fe South HS in OKC
Bradley Quy, Norman HS
Claire Miller, Norman North HS

2013 Newman Scholars in China Studies
Meriden Lee, Booker T. Washington HS in Tulsa
Lauren Langholz, Booker T. Washington HS in Tulsa
Maddie Phillips, Booker T. Washington HS in Tulsa
Collin Gaddie, Norman HS

2014 Newman Scholar in China Studies
Nicholas Todd, Norman HS

2015 Newman Scholars in China Studies

Trey Henderson, Holland Hall, Tulsa
Lauren Lusk, Booker T. Washington HS, Tulsa
Viviana Lopez, Norman HS

2016 Newman Scholars in China Studies
Jacob Hale, Norman HS
Alexandra Bejarano, Booker T. Washington HS, Tulsa
Elise Stephenson, Heritage Hall HS, Tulsa
Sarah Betz, Jenks HS
Sam Trizza, Booker T. Washington HS, Tulsa
Caitlyn Box, Edmond North HS
Riley McGill, Norman HS
Yebin Cho, Norman North HS

2017 Newman Scholars in China Studies
Daniel Bays, Norman HS
Kailyn Merchant, Booker T. Washington HS, Tulsa
Ivy Zollars, Booker T. Washington HS, Tulsa