Skip Navigation
The University of Oklahoma, Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts

Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts Mission Statement

The Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts, as part of the University of Oklahoma, recognizes the universal language of the Arts and the integral role of the Arts in the improvement of the human condition in a culturally diverse environment.


The Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts provides excellence in arts education, scholarship, and creative activities, and the nurture of its students by maintaining a university environment in which the highest professional standards are exemplified through its faculty.


The College promotes the Arts through statewide community-based outreach programs. As the Center for the Arts in the State of Oklahoma, the Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts is dedicated to bringing recognition to the state within the national community.

University of Oklahoma Overview Statement

Created by the Oklahoma Territorial Legislature in 1890, the University of Oklahoma is a doctoral degree-granting research university serving the educational, cultural, economic and health-care needs of the state, region and nation.  The Norman campus serves as home to all of the university’s academic programs except health-related fields.  The OU Health Sciences Center, which is located in Oklahoma City, is one of only four comprehensive academic health centers in the nation with seven professional colleges.  Both the Norman and Health Sciences Center colleges offer programs at the Schusterman Center, the site of OU-Tulsa.  OU enrolls more than 30,000 students, has more than 2,600 full-time faculty members, and has 20 colleges offering 163 majors at the baccalaureate level, 157 majors at the master’s level, 81 majors at the doctoral level, 28 majors at the doctoral professional level, and 28 graduate certificates.  The university’s annual operating budget is $1.5 billion.  The University of Oklahoma is an equal opportunity institution. (5//11)