Skip Navigation
Telly Statues

Student Competitions

AAF Outstanding Minority Students Award (American Advertising Federation)

Annually given by AAF in February. Results in several employment opportunities. Students must be members in good standing of the local AAF chapter (OU Ad Club) and nominated by the chapter adviser. Members are strongly urged to apply. For more information, please contact David Tarpenning at 325.5278 or

AEJMC Magazine Division Student Contest (Assoc. for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication)

The rules and entry forms for the Magazine Division student competition are available online at

BEA Festival of Media Arts (Broadcast Education Association)

The BEA Festival provides a national refereed exhibition of faculty creative activities and is a national showcase for our students’ work. Exhibition includes recognition, showcase and awards presentations.  The BEA Best of the Festival Charles and Lucille King Foundation award winners receive $1,000 and Avid software. For more information, please contact Scott Hodgson at 325-5221 or

Hearst Journalism Awards Program (Hearst Foundation)

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program is presented annually under the auspices of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication (ASJMC) with full-funding by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program's mission is to encourage and support excellence in journalism and journalism education in America's colleges and universities. Categories include writing, photojournalism, broadcast news and multimedia. For more information, go to or contact Warren Vieth at 325-5228 or

National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC)

NSAC is a year-long event involving approximately 22 students on the team. Students prepare an entire integrated marketing /advertising campaign for a specific client (for 2008 it's AOL) then present the campaign on a district level with all other AAF District 10 schools that enter. For more information, please contact Phil Willet at 772-485-9517 or

Native Media Awards (Native American Journalists Assoc.)

The Native American Journalists Association (NAJA) recognizes and celebrates the outstanding achievements of our diverse membership with the Native Media Awards. Application form can be downloaded at NAJA Media Awards Contest.