Skip Navigation
OU Public Affairs WebsiteThe University of OklahomaPublic Affairs

American Academy of Pediatrics Elects Tulsa Pediatrician As Its New President-Elect

AAP Contact: Debbie Linchesky, 847-434-7084
Photo available in the AAP online newsroom

For Immediate Release: Sept. 7, 2010

CHICAGO – The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) has elected Robert W. Block, MD, FAAP, of Tulsa, Okla., as its new president-elect. The AAP is the nation’s largest pediatric organization, with a membership of 60,000 primary care pediatricians, pediatric medical subspecialists and pediatric surgical specialists.

Dr. Block will take office as president-elect Oct. 4 at the 2010 AAP National Conference and Exhibition in San Francisco and will serve as the 2011-2012 AAP president.

Dr. Block is an award-winning teacher in general pediatrics and manages a thriving pediatric clinic for more than 12,000 children. In 1972, He received his medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania and completed three years of pediatric residency at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. After completing residency, Dr. Block joined the U.S. Army. In 1974, Dr. Block was board certified and elected as a Fellow of the AAP. A year later he joined the faculty at the University of Oklahoma, where he currently serves as professor and Daniel Plunket chair in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Oklahoma School of Community Medicine in Tulsa.

During his 37 years of practice, Dr. Block has focused on adolescent behavioral medicine, particularly drug abuse, teen pregnancies, learning disabilities and ADHD. The prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect has been a priority for the past 25 years. Dr. Block was the founding chair and remains a member of the newest American Board of Pediatrics sub-board, Child Abuse Pediatrics. Having presented more than 2,000 community and professional talks, Dr. Block often serves as a media spokesperson for children’s health issues both locally and nationally for the AAP.

Creating and sustaining the best environment for the healthy development of all children is the ultimate goal of the AAP, and Dr. Block will continue to work with the AAP to improve children’s health and well-being. One of his priorities will be prevention of child maltreatment and neglect, Dr. Block said. He also will focus on health care policy development that benefits children and the pediatricians who care for them.

“Delivering the best health care has only limited value unless all children have equal access,” Dr. Block said. “In my role at AAP, I will support programs that give pediatricians the resources they need to provide comprehensive care.”

The American Academy of Pediatrics is an organization of 60,000 primary care pediatricians, pediatric medical subspecialists and pediatric surgical specialists dedicated to the health, safety and well-being of infants, children, adolescents and young adults.


 2013  |  2012  |  2011

April 2014

Mary Cotter-Lalli Receives the 2014 Regents' Award for Superior Staff at OU Health Sciences Center

University of Oklahoma Students Achieve Perfect Grade-Point Average

OU Drama Achieves National Honors

University of Oklahoma Student Business Team Achieves Top Honors in International Competition

OU Commencement to Feature CEO and Co-Founder of Teach For All, Photo Highlights of Graduating Class and Music

Alan Velie Named 2014 Otis Sullivant Award Winner

OU Pilot Program Advances Research in Arts and Humanities

OU to Establish Premier Center for Judaic and Israel Studies with Grant from Schusterman Family Foundation

Three OU Students Receive Boren Awards for International Study

Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History to be Awarded National Medal for Museum Service in White House Ceremony

Brad Burnett Receives the 2014 Regents' Award for Superior Staff

OU Designated Big 12 Conference Champion In EPA's College and University Green Power Challenge

OU Norman Campus Faculty Senate Adopts Resolution Against Guns on Campus

OU Licensing Department Achieves National Honors

2014 Staff Senate Awards Ceremony to be Held April 22

Five Outstanding Individuals to Receive Honorary Degrees at OU Commencement May 9

OU's Alexis Taitel Named Recipient of Truman Scholarship

2014 OU Staff Week to Include Daily Activities and Annual Awards Ceremony

OU History of Science Department Receives Sloan Foundation Grant to Build an Innovative Tool for Collaborative Research

OU Junior Rashid Campbell Wins Top Honors at National Debate Tournament

Norman Campus Provost Announces Intent to Resume Classroom Teaching; OU President David Boren to Recommend Kyle Harper as Interim Provost

OU President's Day of Learning Welcomes Back Alumni and Friends for its Second Year

University of Oklahoma Student Business Team Achieves Top Honor in National Competition

CEO and Co-Founder of Teach For All to Deliver OU Commencement Address

Liz Bergey Named Fulbright Alumni Ambassador

Akash Patel to Receive OU's Carl Albert Award

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or