Skip Navigation
OU Public Affairs WebsiteThe University of OklahomaPublic Affairs

OU Law Professor Emeritus Frank Elkouri and Edna Asper Elkouri Make Historic $6 Million Gift to Fund Law Student Scholarships

Elkouris, Boren, Harroz
University of Oklahoma President David L. Boren (standing, left) and OU College of Law Dean Joseph Harroz (standing, right) meet with OU Law Professor Emeritus Frank Elkouri and his wife, Edna Asper Elkouri, to discuss details of their historic $6 million gift – the largest one-time contribution in the history of the OU College of Law – which will be used to support student scholarship programs in the college.


CONTACT:  Evie Klopp Holzer
(405) 831-0709

OKLAHOMA CITY – University of Oklahoma President David L. Boren today announced the largest one-time contribution in the history of the OU College of Law – a historic $6 million gift from OU Law Professor Emeritus Frank Elkouri and his wife, Edna Asper Elkouri, to support student scholarship programs in the college.

“Generations of students will benefit from this generous gift,” said Boren, noting that Professor Elkouri was his teacher and also taught OU’s First Lady, Molly Shi Boren, when they were students in the OU law school.  Boren said, “Professor Elkouri’s 58 years of service and the Elkouris’ devotion and ongoing commitment to the law school provide an incredible example to our university community. They demonstrate what is best in the OU family.”

Boren announced the Elkouris’ gift at the January meeting of the OU Board of Regents at the OU Health Sciences Center in Oklahoma City.

Professor Elkouri, a nationally noted authority on labor arbitration, joined the OU law faculty in 1952, teaching labor law, property, trade regulation, torts and workers’ compensation. He was honored with a distinguished George Lynn Cross Research Professorship in 1975.  Though he retired in 1985, he continued his leadership at the law school through 2010 as an inspirational mentor and accomplished scholar, said OU College of Law Dean Joseph Harroz. 

In 2002, the Elkouris made a major gift to endow the Frank Elkouri and Edna Asper Elkouri Professorship of Law, which is held by Professor Randall Coyne.

“Professor Elkouri is an outstanding scholar and treasured professor emeritus,” Harroz said. “He is a man of great character, and his contributions throughout the past five decades of service to the college are innumerable. Now, he and Edna, his partner in life and in dedication to the OU College of Law, leave an indelible mark on the future of the college. The Elkouri gift will provide many students with access to an exceptional legal education and inspire generations of excellence.”

Professor and Mrs. Elkouri said they were grateful to have scholarships while they were in law school, and they hope their gift provides similar opportunities to students today.

“We wanted to do for the students what we couldn’t do for those who helped us,” Professor Elkouri said. “OU is a very high quality institution. We always planned to give to the law school, so why wait? We decided to make our donation now, so we could enjoy it and observe it,” he said.

An Oklahoman, Professor Elkouri graduated from the OU College of Law in 1947 and subsequently earned LL.M. and S.J.D. degrees from the University of Michigan. Among his publications is How Arbitration Works, which is regarded as the authoritative treatise on the law and practice of labor arbitration. It was published in 1952 as his doctoral thesis. 

Mrs. Elkouri, who graduated with honors from George Washington University Law School and served on the staff of the Internal Revenue Service Chief Counsel, has collaborated with her husband on many projects throughout their legal careers, including working on the second, third and fourth editions of How Arbitration Works and co-authoring Resolving Drug Issues.

Professor Elkouri received an OU Distinguished Teaching Citation in 1974 and was awarded the Whitney North Seymour Medal from the American Arbitration Association in 1980. In late 2010, the wing of professor emeritus offices in the College of Law was named in honor of the Elkouris.

Incoming law students and outstanding first-, second- and third-year students are eligible for scholarships. 

 2014  |  2013  |  2012  |  2011

April 2015

OU Commencement to Feature Cornell University President-Elect, Photo Highlights of Graduating Class and Music

Five OU Faculty Named Presidential Teaching Fellows in Joe C. and Carole Kerr McClendon Honors College

University of Oklahoma Professor, OU Alumna Receive Apple Distinguished Educator Awards 

OU Alumnus Named Special Assistant to the Vice President for the University Community

OU Designated Big 12 Conference Champion in EPA’s College and University Green Power Challenge

OU President David L. Boren Announces $30 Million in Gifts to Name College of Engineering and Establish New School of Biomedical Engineering

OU and Nanowave Technologies Inc. Enter into Research Agreement

Four OU Students Receive Boren Awards for International Study

2014-2015 OU President's Trophy Winners Announced

OU Engineering Professors among Nation's Best 'Young Investigators'

Oklahoma Water Survey Plans Water Reuse Workshops

OU Students to Serve Hispanic Communities During "Big Event" Day of Community Service

OU’s Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center on List of Most Beautiful Conservatories, Schools of Music

Honorary Degree Recipients to be Honored at OU Commencement Friday, May 8

April 17 Dedication Ceremony Scheduled for Hester Hall, Home of OU College of International Studies

Cornell University President-Elect Elizabeth Garrett to Deliver OU's 2015 Commencement Address

Gary England to Lead New Severe Weather Series Featured on OU's Janux Platform

Two OU Students Receive Goldwater Honors

OU Physicists First to Create New Molecule with Record-Setting Dipole Moment

OU Makes History with Record-Setting Number of Freshman National Merit Scholars

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or