Skip Navigation
OU Public Affairs WebsiteThe University of OklahomaPublic Affairs

University of Oklahoma Announces College Convocations and Commencements

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

mc/5-1-14

Contact: OU Public Affairs, (405) 325-1701

NORMAN – The University of Oklahoma has announced its individual college convocations and other end-of-year academic ceremonies.

OU previously announced that Wendy Kopp, CEO and Co-founder of Teach For All, and Founder and Chair of Teach For America, will deliver OU’s university-wide Commencement address on Friday, May 9. Kopp also will receive an honorary degree at the 7 p.m. ceremony in The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium, 180 W. Brooks St.

Commencement is the ceremony where degrees are officially conferred. Filled with pageantry, it is the time for all 2013-14 graduates to celebrate the culmination of their time at OU. Doctoral degree candidates are recognized individually during this time.

At the college convocations, all other graduates will be recognized individually, have their pictures taken and their diplomas presented by their dean. Unless otherwise noted, all convocations will be held Saturday, May 10. Some events require tickets and/or have participation restrictions; for details and the most up-to-date information, please visit www.ou.edu/content/commencement/convocations_receptions/spring_convocation.html.

College of Allied Health Convocation
3:30 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House, 151 W. Brooks St. Reception set before the ceremony, at 1 p.m., Chesapeake Stadium Club, The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium, 180 W. Brooks St. Carol Clure, 271-6588 or carol-clure@ouhsc.edu; www.ah.ouhsc.edu/main/graduation.asp.

College of Architecture Convocation
1:30 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center, 500 W. Boyd St. Reception immediately following, Buskuhl Gallery, 130 Gould Hall, 830 Van Vleet Oval. Laura Stone, 325-9481 or lauraanne@ou.edu.

College of Arts and Sciences Convocation
10 a.m., Lloyd Noble Center, 2900 S. Jenkins Ave. Kristi Morgan, 325-2347 or kcain@ou.edu; cas.ou.edu/may-convocation-instructions.

College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences Convocation
7 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Reception immediately following, Chesapeake Stadium Club. Mona Springfield, 325-1819 or mspringfield@ou.edu.

Aviation Undergraduate Programs
Candidates will be recognized during the Michael F. Price College of Business Convocation listed below. Informal reception for Aviation Graduates and their guests to be held immediately prior, from 4 to 6:30 p.m., Max Westheimer Airport, 1700 Lexington St. Shelly Ainsworth, 325-7231 or sainsworth@ou.edu.

Michael F. Price College of Business Convocation
7:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Reception set before the ceremony, from 2 to 4 p.m., Dodson Lounge, Michael F. Price Hall, 307 W. Brooks St. Taylor Heatly, 325-4386 or theatly@ou.edu.

College of Dentistry Commencement
2 p.m., First United Methodist Church, 131 NW 4th St., Oklahoma City. Carla Lawson, 271-5444 or carla-lawson@ouhsc.edu.

College of Dentistry Dental Hygiene Convocation
10 a.m., First United Methodist Church, Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, First United Methodist Church. Kristy Jurko, 271-4435 or kristy-jurko@ouhsc.edu.

Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy Convocation
10 a.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Molly Shi Boren Ballroom, Oklahoma Memorial Union, 900 Asp Ave. Liz Ehrhardt, 325-4005 or lehrhardt@ou.edu.

Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education Convocation
6:30 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Collings Hall, 820 Van Vleet Oval. Christine Frank, 325-4844 or christine.frank@ou.edu.

College of Engineering Convocation
1:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Reception immediately following, Chesapeake Courtside Club, Lloyd Noble Center. Cori Maag, 325-2621 or cmaag@ou.edu; www.ou.edu/coe/wssc/grad_convocation.html.

Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts Convocation
10 a.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Jane Custar, 325-7370 or janecustar@ou.edu.

College of International Studies Convocation
2 p.m., Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center, 560 Parrington Oval. Reception immediately following, Molly Shi Boren Ballroom, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Tracy Holloway, 325-1429 or tracyholloway@ou.edu.

Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication Convocation
12:30 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Gaylord Hall, 395 W. Lindsey St. Arielle Hughes, 325-5684 or aehughes@ou.edu.

College of Law Convocation
10:30 a.m., Civic Center Music Hall, 201 N. Walker, Oklahoma City. Reception from 4 to 6 p.m. Friday, May 9, Sneed Lounge, College of Law, 300 W. Timberdell Road. Kasey Hendrix, 325-2011 or kaseyhendrix@ou.edu.

College of Liberal Studies Convocation
4 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Missy Mitchell, 325-2823 or mjmitchell@ou.edu; www.ou.edu/cls/convocation.html.

College of Medicine Commencement
10 a.m., Saturday, May 31, Civic Center Music Hall, Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, Civic Center Music Hall. James F. Albertson, 271-2316 or james-albertson@ouhsc.edu.

College of Nursing Convocation
4:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Margaret A. Robinson, 271-2428, Ext. 49130, or margaret-a-robinson@ouhsc.edu; nursing.ouhsc.edu/current-students/graduation.cfm.

College of Pharmacy Commencement
10 a.m., Saturday, June 7, Civic Center Music Hall, Oklahoma City. Darla Puckett, 271-6598 or darla-puckett@ouhsc.edu.

College of Public Health Convocation
2 p.m., Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, Beaird Lounge, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Robin Howell, 271-2308 or robin-howell@ouhsc.edu.

OU-Tulsa Convocation
7 p.m., Tuesday, May 6, Donald W. Reynolds Center at Tulsa University, 3208 E 8th St., Tulsa. Tracy Kennedy, (918) 660-3316 or tkennedy@ou.edu.

Health Sciences Center Graduate Student Convocation
2 p.m., David L. Boren Student Union, Room 170, 1106 N. Stonewall Ave., Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, David L. Boren Student Union, David L. Boren Lounge, Room 302. Karen Bentley, 271-2085 or karen-bentley@ouhsc.edu.

 

Receptions and Recognition Ceremonies

Advanced Programs Graduation Reception
3 p.m., Friday, May 9, Conference Room A, Thurman J. White Forum Building, 1704 Asp Ave. Joanne Braunbeck, 325-0133 or jbraunbeck@ou.edu.

African American Academic Achievement Celebration
3:30 p.m., Friday, May 9, Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center. Reception immediately following, Frontier Room, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Brandon Oldham, 325-3163 or oldham@ou.edu.

American Indian Academic Achievement Celebration
3:30 p.m., Friday, May 9, Jim Thorpe Multicultural Center, 1620 Asp Ave. Reception immediately following, same location. Lindy Waters, 325-1468 or lwaters@ou.edu.

Honors College Graduation Breakfast
8 a.m., Saturday, May 10, David L. Boren Hall, 1300 Asp Ave. Kelsey Lunsford, 325-5291 or klunsford@ou.edu.

Phi Beta Kappa Initiation
3 p.m., Friday, May 9, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, Beaird Lounge, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Lynne Levy, 325-6702 or lhlevy@ou.edu.

Student-Athlete Graduation Banquet
4 p.m., Friday, May 9, Chesapeake Stadium Club, The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium. Amber Demastus, 325-8265 or ademastus@ou.edu.

Graduate College Reception
1 p.m., Friday, May 9, National Weather Center, 120 David L. Boren Blvd. Clay Wesley, 325-0797 or claywesley@ou.edu; gradweb.ou.edu.

Air Force ROTC Commissioning Ceremony
9 a.m., Friday, May 9, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, Frontier Room, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Tori Lamoureux, 325-3211 or torilammy@ou.edu.

Army ROTC Commissioning Ceremony
Noon, Friday, May 9, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Johnny Charqueno, 325-3012 or jcharqueno@ou.edu.

Naval ROTC Commissioning Ceremony
10 a.m., Friday, May 9, Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center. Reception immediately following. Julie Dahlgren, 325-2021 or jdahlgren@ou.edu.

 2013  |  2012  |  2011

April 2014

Mary Cotter-Lalli Receives the 2014 Regents' Award for Superior Staff at OU Health Sciences Center

University of Oklahoma Students Achieve Perfect Grade-Point Average

OU Drama Achieves National Honors

University of Oklahoma Student Business Team Achieves Top Honors in International Competition

OU Commencement to Feature CEO and Co-Founder of Teach For All, Photo Highlights of Graduating Class and Music

Alan Velie Named 2014 Otis Sullivant Award Winner

OU Pilot Program Advances Research in Arts and Humanities

OU to Establish Premier Center for Judaic and Israel Studies with Grant from Schusterman Family Foundation

Three OU Students Receive Boren Awards for International Study

Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History to be Awarded National Medal for Museum Service in White House Ceremony

Brad Burnett Receives the 2014 Regents' Award for Superior Staff

OU Designated Big 12 Conference Champion In EPA's College and University Green Power Challenge

OU Norman Campus Faculty Senate Adopts Resolution Against Guns on Campus

OU Licensing Department Achieves National Honors

2014 Staff Senate Awards Ceremony to be Held April 22

Five Outstanding Individuals to Receive Honorary Degrees at OU Commencement May 9

OU's Alexis Taitel Named Recipient of Truman Scholarship

2014 OU Staff Week to Include Daily Activities and Annual Awards Ceremony

OU History of Science Department Receives Sloan Foundation Grant to Build an Innovative Tool for Collaborative Research

OU Junior Rashid Campbell Wins Top Honors at National Debate Tournament

Norman Campus Provost Announces Intent to Resume Classroom Teaching; OU President David Boren to Recommend Kyle Harper as Interim Provost

OU President's Day of Learning Welcomes Back Alumni and Friends for its Second Year

University of Oklahoma Student Business Team Achieves Top Honor in National Competition

CEO and Co-Founder of Teach For All to Deliver OU Commencement Address

Liz Bergey Named Fulbright Alumni Ambassador

Akash Patel to Receive OU's Carl Albert Award

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or publicaffairs@ou.edu.