Skip Navigation
OU Public Affairs WebsiteThe University of OklahomaPublic Affairs

OU Senior RJ Giglio Wins Top Honors at Three Out of Four National Debate Tournaments

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                   

CONTACT: OU Public Affairs, (405) 325-1701
NORMAN – Continuing his history of excellence in the University of Oklahoma’s Shannon Self Debate Program, OU senior RJ Giglio has earned the title of First Speaker at three of four major national debate tournaments in which he has competed this year. He won First Speaker at the Georgia State University, Harvard University and University of Texas national competitions. Giglio, a business management major from Shreveport, La., has already won two Cross Examination Debate Association National Championships – a record tied with the most any school has in the organization’s history.

“The entire university community is deeply proud of the accomplishments of RJ Giglio,” said OU President David Boren. “He has played an important role in revitalizing the great debating tradition at OU.”

Giglio rose to the top of more than 240 competitors at some tournaments, and together with teammate and political science freshman Chris Leonardi of Dumas, Texas, finished as a Top 10 Team at every tournament this year. Giglio and Leonardi will finish the season ranked as the No. 5 team in the nation and are favored to succeed at the 2012 CEDA National Tournament, scheduled for March 23 through 26 on the OU Norman campus.

OU currently is ranked No. 3 in national sweepstakes rankings overall as a team. An OU debate team from the Shannon Self Debate Program has won the national championship in debate three of the past five years.

 2014  |  2013  |  2012  |  2011

April 2015

OU Commencement to Feature Cornell University President-Elect, Photo Highlights of Graduating Class and Music

Five OU Faculty Named Presidential Teaching Fellows in Joe C. and Carole Kerr McClendon Honors College

University of Oklahoma Professor, OU Alumna Receive Apple Distinguished Educator Awards 

OU Alumnus Named Special Assistant to the Vice President for the University Community

OU Designated Big 12 Conference Champion in EPA’s College and University Green Power Challenge

OU President David L. Boren Announces $30 Million in Gifts to Name College of Engineering and Establish New School of Biomedical Engineering

OU and Nanowave Technologies Inc. Enter into Research Agreement

Four OU Students Receive Boren Awards for International Study

2014-2015 OU President's Trophy Winners Announced

OU Engineering Professors among Nation's Best 'Young Investigators'

Oklahoma Water Survey Plans Water Reuse Workshops

OU Students to Serve Hispanic Communities During "Big Event" Day of Community Service

OU’s Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center on List of Most Beautiful Conservatories, Schools of Music

Honorary Degree Recipients to be Honored at OU Commencement Friday, May 8

April 17 Dedication Ceremony Scheduled for Hester Hall, Home of OU College of International Studies

Cornell University President-Elect Elizabeth Garrett to Deliver OU's 2015 Commencement Address

Gary England to Lead New Severe Weather Series Featured on OU's Janux Platform

Two OU Students Receive Goldwater Honors

OU Physicists First to Create New Molecule with Record-Setting Dipole Moment

OU Makes History with Record-Setting Number of Freshman National Merit Scholars

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or