Skip Navigation
OU Public Affairs WebsiteThe University of OklahomaPublic Affairs

University of Oklahoma Announces College Convocations and Commencements

jc/5-3-13

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: OU Public Affairs, 325-1701

NORMAN – The University of Oklahoma has announced its lineup of individual college convocations and other end-of-year academic ceremonies.

OU previously announced that Fareed Zakaria, one of the nation’s leading critical thinkers who serves as editor-at-large of TIME and as a Washington Post columnist, will deliver OU’s university-wide Commencement address on Friday, May 10. Zakaria will receive an honorary degree at the 7 p.m. ceremony in The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium, 180 W. Brooks St.

Commencement is the ceremony where degrees are officially conferred. Filled with pageantry, it is the time for all 2012-13 graduates to celebrate the culmination of their time at OU. Doctoral degree candidates are recognized during this time.

At the individual college convocations, all other graduates will be recognized, have their pictures taken and their diplomas presented by their dean. Unless otherwise noted, all convocations will be held Saturday, May 11. Some events require tickets and/or have participation restrictions; for details and the most up-to-date information, please visit www.ou.edu/content/commencement/convocations_receptions/spring_convocation.html.

College of Allied Health Convocation

1 p.m.,T. Howard McCasland Field House, 151 West Brooks St. Reception set before the ceremony, at 10:30 a.m., Molly Shi Boren Ballroom, Oklahoma Memorial Union, 900 Asp Ave. Carol Clure, 271-6588 or carol-clure@ouhsc.edu; www.ah.ouhsc.edu.

College of Architecture Convocation

4 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center, 500 West Boyd St. Reception immediately following, Buskuhl Galley, 130 Gould Hall, 830 Van Vleet Oval. Laura Stone, 325-9481 or lauraanne@ou.edu.

College of Arts and Sciences Convocation

10 a.m., Lloyd Noble Center, 2900 S. Jenkins Ave. Kristi Morgan, 325-2347 or kcain@ou.eduhttp://cas.ou.edu/may-convocation-instructions.

College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences Convocation

7 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Reception immediately following, Sam Noble Museum of Natural History, 2401 Chautauqua Ave. Mary Anne Hempe, 325-3095 or mahempe@ou.edu.

Aviation Undergraduate Programs

Candidates will be recognized during the Michael F. Price College of Business Convocation listed below. Informal reception for Aviation Graduates and their guests to be held immediately prior, from 1 to 3:30 p.m., Max Westheimer Airport, 1700 Lexington St. Shelly Ainsworth, 325-6033 or sainsworth@ou.edu.

Michael F. Price College of Business Convocation

4:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center Reception immediately following, Chesapeake Energy Courtside Club, Lloyd Noble Center. Alisa Tillman, 325-8024 or tillman@ou.edu

College of Dentistry Commencement

2 p.m., First United Methodist Church, 131 NW 4th St., Oklahoma City. Carla Lawson, 271-5444 or Carla-lawson@ouhsc.edu.

College of Dentistry Dental Hygiene Convocation

10 a.m., First United Methodist Church, Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, First United Methodist Church. Kristy Jurko, 271-4435 or kristy-jurko@ouhsc.edu.

Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy Convocation

6:30 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Molly Shi Boren Ballroom, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Linda Goeringer, 325-4005 or lgoeringer@ou.edu.

Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education Convocation

3:30 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, 820 Van Vleet Oval. Christine Frank, 325-4844 or christine.frank@ou.edu.

College of Engineering Convocation

7:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Susy Calonkey, 325-1069 or scalonkey@ou.edu; www.coe.ou.edu/wssc/grad_convocation.

Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts Convocation

10 a.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Jane Custar, 325-7370 or janecustar@ou.edu.

College of International Studies Convocation

2 p.m., Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center, 560 Parrington Oval. Reception immediately following, Molly Shi Boren Ballroom, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Tracy Holloway, 325-1429 or tracyholloway@ou.edu.

Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication Convocation

10 a.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Gaylord Hall, 395 West Lindsey St. Kathy Sawyer, 325-5226 or ksawyer@ou.edu.

College of Law Convocation

10:30 a.m., Civic Center Music Hall, 201 N. Walker, Oklahoma City. Reception from 4 to 6 p.m. Friday, May 10, second-floor atrium, College of Law, 300 W. Timberdell Road. Deborah Case, 325-4729 or dcase@ou.edu.

College of Liberal Studies Convocation

1:30 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Missy Mitchell, 325-2823 or mjmitchell@ou.edu.

College of Medicine Commencement

10 a.m., Saturday, May 25, Civic Center Music Hall, 201 N. Walker, Oklahoma City. The College of Medicine Alumni Association will host a reception at 11:30 a.m. at the Civic Center. James F. Albertson, 271-2316 or james-albertson@ouhsc.edu.

College of Medicine Graduate Student Convocation

2 p.m., 170 David L. Boren Student Union, 1106 N. Stonewall Ave., Oklahoma City.  Reception immediately following, David L. Boren Student Union, David L. Boren Lounge, Room 302. Karen Bentley, 271-2085 or Karen-bentley@ouhsc.edu.

College of Nursing Convocation

1:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Margaret A. Robinson, 271-2428, Ext. 49130, or Margaret-A-Robinson@ouhsc.edu.

College of Pharmacy Commencement

10 a.m., Saturday, June 1, Civic Center Music Hall. Darla Puckett, 271-6598 or darla-puckett@ouhsc.edu.

College of Public Health Convocation

2 p.m., Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, Beaird Lounge, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Robin Howell, 271-2308 or Robin-howell@ouhsc.edu.

OU-Tulsa Convocation

7 p.m. Tuesday, May 7, Donald W. Reynolds Center at Tulsa University, 3208 E 8th St., Tulsa. Tracy Kennedy, (918) 660-3316 or tkennedy@ou.edu.

Receptions and Recognition Ceremonies

Advanced Programs Graduation Reception

3–5 p.m. Friday, May 10, Conference Room A, College of Continuing Education Forum Building, 1704 Asp Ave. Joanne Braunbeck, 325-0133 or jbraunbeck@ou.edu.

African American Academic Achievement Celebration

4 p.m. Friday, May 10, Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center. Brandon Oldham, 325-3163 or oldham@ou.edu.

American Indian Academic Achievement Celebration

3:30 p.m. Friday, May 10, Jim Thorpe Multicultural Center. Reception immediately following, same location. Lindy Waters, 325-1468 or lwaters@ou.edu.

Honors College Graduation Breakfast

8:30 –10:30 a.m. Saturday, May 11, David L. Boren Hall, 1300 Asp Ave. Kelsey Lunsford, 325-5291 or klunsford@ou.edu.   

Phi Beta Kappa Initiation

3 p.m. Friday, May 10, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, Beaird Lounge, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Lynne Levy, 325-6702 or lhlevy@ou.edu.

Student-Athlete Graduation Reception

3:30-5 p.m. Friday, May 10, Lloyd Noble Center Courtside Club. Terri Moyer, 325-8397 or tmoyer@ou.edu

Graduate College

1-3 p.m. Friday, May 10, Stephenson Research and Technology Center, 120 David L. Boren Blvd. Diana Beal, 325-7715 or dbeal@ou.edu.

Air Force ROTC Commissioning Ceremony

10 a.m. Friday, May 10, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following in the union’s Frontier Room. Tori Lamoureux, 325-3211 or AFROTC@ou.edu.

Army ROTC Commissioning Ceremony

1 p.m. Friday, May 10, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following in the Armory. Lt. Simenson, 325-3012 or ksimenson@ou.edu.

Naval ROTC Commissioning Ceremony

10 a.m. Friday, May 10, Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center. Reception immediately following, Lissa and Cy Wagner Hall, 1005 Asp Ave. Julie Dahlgren, 325-2021 or jdahlgren@ou.edu.

 2013  |  2012  |  2011

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or publicaffairs@ou.edu.