Skip Navigation

Master of Arts in Art History

Skip Side Navigation

Master of Art in Art History

Dr. Watson lecturing.

The Master’s Program in Art History in the OU School of Visual Arts is dedicated to maintaining high academic standards while simultaneously providing individualized attention in the advising and training of its students. The Art History faculty is committed to developing critical, creative, scholarly approaches to the history of art works, approaches grounded in sensitive perception as well as in familiarity with pertinent primary and secondary texts within a broader cultural context. Verbal and written discourse augments perceptual skills that are emphasized at every stage in the program. A student must demonstrate ability to use French, German, Spanish, or another approved language as a research tool.

The MA in Art History degree prepares the candidate to enter a doctoral program in Art History or to engage in museum or gallery work. Students seeking to gain admission to this degree program should have a strong liberal arts background with at least 18 hours in undergraduate art history credit. Students with fewer hours in art history must demonstrate special proficiency to do graduate work.

 

Art History Graduate Coordinator Contact

image of Dr. Palmer

Dr Alison Fields serves as the Coordinator of Art History Graduate programs.

Prospective students may contact Dr. Fields at afields@ou.edu with questions or to schedule a meeting on campus.

Art History Faculty

NameTitleEmail
Dr. Robert BaileyArt History Associate Professorrobert.bailey-1@ou.edu
Dr. Rozmeri BasicProfessor of Art History
rozmeri@ou.edu
Dr. Susan Caldwell
Professor Emeritus and David Ross Boyd Professor
shcaldwell@ou.edu
Dr. Alison FieldsArt History Associate Professor
afields@ou.edu
Dr. Kenneth Haltman
H. Russell Pitman Professor of Art History
haltman@ou.edu
Dr. Allison PalmerProfessor of Art History
apalmer@ou.edu
Byron PriceDirector of the Charles M. Russell Center & OU Press
b_byron_price@ou.edu
Dr. W. Jackson Rushing, III
Adkins Presidential Professor of Art History and Mary Lou Milner Carver Chair in Native American Art and Graduate Coordinator (MA & PhD)
Jackson_rushing@ou.edu
Dr. Mary Jo WatsonRetired Regents' Professor Art Historymjwatson@ou.edu