Skip Navigation

Master of Fine Arts in Art

Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts, School of Visual Arts,The University of Oklahoma website wordmark
Skip Side Navigation

Master of Fine Art in Art

Ceramics

The OU School of Visual Arts offers graduate study in the following areas:

Art, Technology & Culture

  • Art & Technology
  • Film & Video
  • Photography


Studio Art

  • Painting
  • Ceramics
  • Sculpture
  • Printmaking


Visual Communication
The MFA program is primarily a studio residency program occasionally requiring structured classroom instruction. Students in the MFA program must be self-motivated and self-disciplined, while working under the direction of faculty advisors where an interdisciplinary approach to creative research is encouraged.

Students participate in regularly scheduled critiques and performance evaluations by a faculty committee. Graduate students are encouraged to develop their own creative direction within the context of contemporary culture, theory and history. They are expected to develop new skills and encouraged to expand their overall scope of creative interests.

MFA Degree Requirements & Admission

The MFA is a 60 credit hour degree requiring a minimum of two years residency although most students take three years to complete the program. The degree culminates with an MFA exhibition and a written thesis document that accompanies the exhibition.

MFA Degree Requirements
Graduate Seminar  3 hours
Graduate Art History  9 hours
Graduate Studio 25 hours
Graduate Electives 18 hours
Graduate Thesis  5 hours

Transfer students are eligible to apply up to 15 hours towards the degree upon approval of the faculty and graduate liaison.
 
Students accepted into the program are eligible for competitive Graduate Assistantships and scholarship support. Assistantships include a generous 9-month stipend and a full waiver of tuition. MFA candidates are also provided studio space for up to three years.

Graduate Admission Requirements     Graduate Student Handbook (pdf)     M.F.A. Degree Checksheet

Art, Technology & Culture Faculty

NameTitleEmail
Tess ElliotArt, Technology and Culture Assistant Professortesselliot@ou.edu
Cathleen FaubertArt, Technology and Culture Assistant Professor
faubert@ou.edu
Pete FroslieArt, Technology and Culture Associate Professor Froslie@ou.edu
Ron JacksonPhotography for Non-Majors Adjunct Instructor
ronald.w.jackson-1@ou.edu
Todd StewartArt, Technology and Culture Associate Professor
stewart@ou.edu

Studio Art Faculty

NameTitleEmail
Stuart AspreyCeramics Associate Professorstuart@ou.edu
Jamie Bates SloneCeramics Assistant ProfessorJamie.M.Bates.Slone-1@ou.edu
Marwin BegayePainting and Printmaking Associate Professor
marwin@ou.edu
Doug CasebeerCeramics - Artist in Residence
dcasebeer@ou.edu
Jason CytackiPainting Associate Professor
jason.cytacki@ou.edu
Bob DohrmannCore Professorbobd@ou.edu
Jonathan HilsContemporary Sculpture Associate Professor
hils@ou.edu
Curtis JonesPrintmaking Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator (MFA)
chivo@ou.edu
Daren KendallSculpture, Assistant Professor
kendall@ou.edu
Paul MooreSculpture Artist-in-Residence
crownartsinc@sbcglobal.net
Sohail ShehadaFigurative Sculpture Assistant Professor
sohail@ou.edu

Visual Communication Faculty

NameTitleEmail
Eric AndersonVisual Communication Professor
eric@ou.edu
Tom DavieVisual Communication Assistant Professortomdavie@ou.edu
Karen Hayes-ThumannVisual Communication Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator
kmthumann@ou.edu
Barry RosemanVisual Communication Adjunct Professorbarry@ou.edu