Skip Navigation
logoOU homepageInstitute for the Study of Human Flourishing homepage

Institute Leadership Team

Nancy E. Snow, Ph.D.

Nancy Snow


Phone: (405) 325-4725
Office: Chemistry Building, RM 208E
Website: Personal Webpage

Dr. Snow is Professor and Director of the Institute for the Study of Human Flourishing at the University of Oklahoma. She is also co-Director of The Self, Motivation & Virtue Project, a $2.6 million research initiative on the moral self. She is the author of Virtue as Social Intelligence: An Empirically Grounded Theory (Routledge, 2009) and over thirty papers on virtue and ethics more broadly. She has also edited or co-edited six volumes: In the Company of Others: Perspectives on Community, Family, and Culture (Rowman & Littlefield 1996) Legal Philosophy: Multiple Perspectives (Mayfield, 1999), Stem Cell Research: New Frontiers in Science and Ethics (Notre Dame, 2004), Cultivating Virtue: Perspectives from Philosophy, Theology, and Psychology (Oxford, 2014), The Philosophy and Psychology of Character and Happiness (Routledge, 2014) and Developing the Virtues: Integrating Perspectives, co-edited with Julia Annas and Darcia Narvaez (Oxford, 2016). She is currently revising a monograph on hope, writing one on virtue ethics and virtue epistemology, and co-authoring a book on virtue measurement. She is the Associate Editor for Ethics and Philosophy of The Journal of Moral Education. In the summer of 2016 Dr. Snow participated as a faculty member for the 2016 NEH summer institute "Moral Psychology and Education: Putting the Humanities to Work."

Scott Beck, Ph.D.

Scott Beck

Leadership Team


Dr. Scott Beck is the Principal at Norman High School, the Institute's first partner school. Dr. Beck has also served in Norman Public Schools as an Assistant Principal and as a social studies teacher. Prior to coming to Norman in 2004, Dr. Beck worked in the Moore Public Schools, Wayne County, Georgia, and at Bishop McGuinness Catholic High School in Oklahoma City. He holds a Bachelor's degree from the University of Central Oklahoma, a Master's degree in Education Administration, Curriculum and Supervision from the University of Oklahoma and a PhD in Education Leadership and Policy Studies from OU as well. Dr. Beck is a National Board Certified teacher and lives in Norman.

Nicole Campbell, Ph.D.

Nicole Campbell

Leadership Team

Phone: (405) 325-2072

Dr. Campbell is Associate Professor of Psychology and Dean of University College at the University of Oklahoma. Since moving into University College administration in 2009, her research focus has been on student retention and success. Her research background is in social cognition, with an emphasis on individual differences in cognitive style.

Kelly Damphousse, Ph.D.

Kelly Damphousse

Leadership Team

(405) 325-2077
Website: CAS Dean Webpage

Dr. Kelly Damphousse is Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at The University of Oklahoma. He served as Associate Dean in the College of Arts and Sciences from 2004 - 2013 when he was appointed as Interim Dean. He was named Dean of the college in 2014. In addition to teaching "Introduction to Sociology" to 750 freshmen per year, he serves as OU’s Big 12/NCAA Faculty Athletic Representative. Both of his daughters graduated from CAS; Kayleigh (Sociology 2014) and Kristen (Biology 2016). He and Beth serve the university as Family-in-Residence and the former empty-nesters are now parents to 380 OU students in Headington Hall.

Gregg A. Garn, Ph.D.

Gregg Garn

Leadership Team

(405) 325-1082
Website: Faculty Webpage


Dr. Garn is Dean of the Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education and Executive Director of the K20 Center for Educational and Community Renewal. Dr. Garn holds the Linda Clarke Anderson Presidential Professorship and serves as professor of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies. Dr. Garn is active in several national organizations, including the Politics of Education Association, the University Council for Educational Administration, and the American Educational Research Association. His research agenda centers on school choice, policy development and implementation and the politics of education. He has authored articles in Educational Administration Quarterly, Education and Urban Society, Education Policy Analysis Archives, and Educational Leadership.

Kyle Harper, Ph.D.

Kyle Harper

Leadership Team

Phone: (405) 325-4962
Websites: Faculty Website | Provost Website

Dr. Harper is Professor of Classics and Letters, Executive Director of the Institute for the American Constitutional Heritage, and Senior Vice President and Provost at The University of Oklahoma. Dr. Harper's research has focused on the social and economic history of the period spanning the Roman Empire and the early middle ages. His current work on the environmental and population history of the first millennium explores the impact of climate change and disease on the history of civilization. Dr. Harper is author of Slavery in the Late Roman World, AD 275-425 (Cambridge University Press, 2011). The book was awarded the James Henry Breasted Prize by the American Historical Association and the Outstanding Publication Award from the Classical Association of the Middle West and South. His second book, From Shame to Sin: The Christian Transformation of Sexual Morality was published by Harvard University Press in 2013.

Felix Wao, Ph.D.

Felix Wao

Leadership Team

Phone: (405) 325-3122
Website: Office of Academic Assessment Director Webpage

Dr. Felix Wao is the Director of the Office of Academic Assessment at the University of Oklahoma (OU). In this role, he oversees the development, implementation and review of learning outcomes assessment initiatives for degree programs at OU aimed at promoting continuous improvement and institutional effectiveness. Additionally, he helps with assessment of general education program and is a member of the Provost’s Advisory Committee on General Education (PACGEO). Dr. Wao chairs the Provost’s Advisory Committee on Learning Outcomes Assessment (PACLOA) and is a member of the Diversity and Inclusion Academic Council, and Academic Program Review (APR) Committee.  He is active in and has presented at various national and regional assessment and research conferences including American Educational Research Association (AERA), Association for Institutional Research (AIR), Assessment Institute and Higher Learning Commission (HLC). His research focuses on strategies for blending assessment processes and analytics to enhance student learning at the institutional and program levels. He is a member of the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) Peer Review Corps and a Mentor of the Assessment Academy at the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).

Linda Zagzebski, Ph.D.

Linda Zagzebski

Leadership Team

(405) 325-6324
Website: Faculty Website

Dr. Zagzebski is George Lynn Cross Research Professor, and Kingfisher College Chair of the Philosophy of Religion and Ethics, at the University of Oklahoma. She is the past President of the American Catholic Philosophical Association (1996-7) and of the Society of Christian Philosophers (2004-7), and current President of the American Philosophical Association Central Division (2015-16). She has published six books and numerous articles in the areas of epistemology, philosophy of religion, and virtue theory. Her most recent book, Epistemic Authority: A Theory of Trust, Authority, and Autonomy in Belief (Oxford University Press, 2012). Her current project is a book on Exemplarist Virtue Theory, a form of virtue ethics based on direct reference to moral exemplars. This book will incorporate empirical literature on the emotion of admiration, on emulation, and work on the neuroscience of exemplars. It is supported by grants from the Templeton Foundation and from the Character Project at Wake Forest University. It was also the topic of her Gifford Lectures at the University of St. Andrews in October 2015.