Three Minute Thesis, founded by the University of Queensland

The 2017 Three Minute Thesis final competition took place February 24th in Meacham Auditorium at the Oklahoma Memorial Union. Ten finalists competed:

LaVonya Bennett – Counseling Psychology
Hamidreza Esmaielpour – Physics
James Floyd – Microbiology
Curtis Foxley – History
Mustafa Ghazi – Mechanical Engineering
Japneet Kaur – Exercise Physiology
Gabriel Machado – Geophysics
Ann Ojeda – Geology
Wei Tian – Petroleum Engineering
Katie Wilson – Meteorology

Congratulations to LaVonya Bennett (First Place, People's Choice) and Curtis Foxley (Runner-up)! LaVonya represented the University of Oklahoma at the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS) 3MT® Competition in Indianapolis in April.

Finalist Presentations

LaVonya Bennett

Influence of Positive and Negative Diversity Interactions on Psychological Well-Being

First Place; People's Choice Award

Curtis Foxley

The Cold War West


Hamidreza Esmaielpour

Hot Carrier Solar Cells; A Practical Route to Efficient Solar Cells

James Floyd

Microbes Impact Biodiesel Systems

Mustafa Ghazi

3D Motion Capture Using 2D Markers

Japneet Kaur

Racial Differences in Bone and Muscle

Gabriel Machado

The Link Between Water and Earthquakes

Ann Ojeda

Geology, Chemistry and Public Health in the Gulf Coast

Wei Tian

Radon Production from Shale Gas Reservoir

Katie Wilson

Eye in the Sky

Questions? Contact the Graduate College:

Linda Kelly, Assistant to the Interim Dean,
Suzanne Peters, Assistant to the Associate Dean,
Visit us at