Skip Navigation

IEG Director

Skip Side Navigation

IEG Director

Jizhong Zhou, PhD

George Lynn Cross Research Professor, Department of Microbiology and Plant Biology, Director of Institute for Environmental Genomics

Contact Information
Office phone: (405) 325-6073


Detailed CV (pdf)
Biography (pdf)
Detailed Biosketch (pdf)
Publication highlights (pdf)


Dr. Jizhong Zhou is a George Lynn Cross Research Professor and Presidential Professor in the Department of Microbiology and Plant Biology, School of Civil Engineering and Environmental Sciences, and Director for the Institute for Environmental Genomics, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK. He has authored more than 580 publications, with total citations of ~ 39,090 and H-index of 105, on microbial genomics, genomic technologies, molecular biology, molecular evolution, microbial ecology, bioremediation, bioenergy, global change, bioinformatics, systems biology, and theoretical ecology. He received Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers in 2001, R&D 100 Award in 2009 as one of 100 most innovative scientific and technological breakthroughs, Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award in 2014 – the highest scientific recognition in the U.S. Department of Energy, and the 2019 ASM Award for Environmental Research. Dr. Zhou was the ESA Fellow in 2018. He is a senior Editor for ISME J, mBio, and a former Editor for Applied and Environmental Microbiology. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, Ecological Society of America, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Dr. Zhou recipient of an Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award

alt text

Energy Secretary Moniz announced the names of the nine recipients of the Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award, which recognizes exceptional US scientists and engineers preforming research supporting the Energy Department mission. IEG Director, Jizhong Zhou, was selected as one of nine recipients.

“These mid-career researchers have made significant advances in fundamental science and technology innovation,” Secretary Moniz said. “They will help sustain America’s research and development leadership. I congratulate the winners for their outstanding achievements, thank them for their work on behalf of the Department and the Nation, and look forward to their continued accomplishments.”

Jizhong (Joe) Zhou (University of Oklahoma) - Biological and Environmental Sciences Honored for his outstanding accomplishments in environmental genomics and microbial ecology, including the development of innovative metagenomics technologies for environmental sciences, for groundbreaking discoveries to understand the feedbacks, mechanisms, and fundamental principles of microbial systems in response to environmental change, and for transformative leadership to elucidate microbial ecological networks and to link microbial biodiversity with ecosystem functions.