Skip Navigation
ConocoPhillips School of Geology & GeophysicsOU homepageConocoPhillips School of Geology & Geophysics

News and Events:

Student Receives Provost Award


PhD student, Richard Brito Leonet, will receive the Provost's Certificate for Outstanding Graduate Assistant Teaching. The award honors the hard work and dedication of the top ten percent of graduate assistants across campus by student evaluations.

Distinguished Service Award for Alumna


Master of Science in Geology alumna, Lura Joseph, received the 2014 Mary B. Ansari Distinguished Award from the Geoscience Information Society at the annual convention of the Geological Soceity of America. Her long record of professional activity and research reflects a deep understanding of, and thoughtful concern for, the future of library collections, bibliography and geoscience information.  

OU Imperial Barrel Team


The OU Imperial Barrel Team won First Place at the Mid-Continent competition for an unprecedented third year in a row, and they won Second Place at the 2014 AAPG Annual Convention. Members include Charles Crosby, Emma Giddens, Michael Kowalczyk, Rachel Petit and Brandon Swain, under the supervision of Dr. John Pigott.

Institute for Reservoir Characterization

Stephenson lab dedication

The Institute for Reservoir Characterization recently dedicated two research labs in Sarkeys Energy Center: the Noble Energy Company Reservoir Characterization Center Laboratory and the Robert L. and Norma E. Stephenson Geologic Reservoir Characterization Core Facility.

Geophysical Tech-Fest

organizing committee

For the first year, OU, the University of Tulsa, the  University of Arkansas and Oklahoma State University collaboarted to host the first Geophysical Tech-Fest. The purpose of th event is to give students the opportunity to network and share their specialized research projects.