Skip Navigation
ConocoPhillips School of Geology & GeophysicsOU homepageConocoPhillips School of Geology & Geophysics

Faculty

The ConocoPhillips School of Geology and Geophysics (CPSGG) currently has 21 full-time, tenured and tenure-track faculty, 5 adjunct faculty and instructors and 5 emeritus faculty. Our faculty are assisted by 4 research staff and 5 administrative staff. 

R. Douglas Elmore

R. Douglas Elmore

Director, ConocoPhillips School of Geology and Geophysics
and Eberly Chair


Sedimentology, Paleomagnetism of Sedimentary Rocks, and Diagenesis
delmore@ou.edu

Younane N. Abousleiman

Younane N. Abousleiman

Professor and Larry W. Brummett / ONEOK Chair
Director, integrated PoroMechanics Institute (iPMI)


Reservoir Characterization and Mechanics of Porous Media
yabousle@ou.edu
 
  

Behm

Michael Behm

Assistant Professor of Geology and Geophysics
  

Exploration Geophysics, Solid Earth Geophysics, Seismic Imaging/Monitoring, Seismic Interferometry and Earthquakes/Tectonics
michael.behm@ou.edu

Carpenter

Brett Carpenter

Assistant Professor of Geology and Geophysics
  

Structural Geology
brett.carpenter@ou.edu

Xiaowei

Xiaowei Chen

Assistant Professor of Geology and Geophysics
  

Seismology and Earthquake Processes
xiaowei.chen@ou.edu

dulin

Shannon Dulin

Assistant Professor of Geology and Geophysics

Paleomagnetism, Sedimentary Geology, Geologic Field Methods
sdulin@ou.edu

Andrew S. Elwood Madden

Andrew S. Elwood Madden

Associate Professor of Geology and Geophysics

Nanoscale Geoscience, Low-Temperature, and Environmental Geochemistry
amadden@ou.edu

Megan E. Elwood Madden

Megan E. Elwood Madden

Associate Professor and Stubbeman-Drace Presidential Professor of Geology and Geophysics

Earth and Planetary Geochemistry
melwood@ou.edu

Michael H. Engel

Michael H. Engel

Clyde Becker Chair

Organic / Stable Isotope Geochemistry
ab1635@ou.edu

Liu

Xiaolei Liu

Assistant Professor of Organic Geochemistry
  

Geobiology, Lipid Biomarkers, Origins of Life
xlliu@ou.edu

David London

David London

Norman R. Gelphman Professor in Geology and Geophysics

Experimental Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Igneous and
Metamorphic Petrology, and Geology of Metals
dlondon@ou.edu

Richard Lupia

Richard Lupia

Associate Professor of Geology and Geophysics
Associate Curator of Paleobotany and Micropaeontology,
The Sam Noble Museum


Paleobotany, Palynology, and Paleoecology
rlupia@ou.edu

Kurt J. Marfurt

Kurt J. Marfurt

Frank and Henrietta Schultz Chair and Professor of Geophysics

Seismic Processing, Seismic Interpretation, and Reservoir Characterization
kmarfurt@ou.edu

Shankar Mitra

Shankar Mitra

Victor E. Monnett Chair in Energy Resources

Structural Geology, Petroleum Geology, and Fractured and Faulted Reservoirs
smitra@ou.edu

Dr. Nori Nakata

Nori Nakata

Lissa and Cy Wagner Assistant Professor
of Geology and Geophysics


Seismology, 3D/4D Seismic Imaging, Seismic Interferometry, Microseismic, Signal Processing, Wave Phenomena, Civil Structure Monitoring, Computational Seismology
nnakata@ou.edu

John D. Pigott

John D. Pigott

Associate Professor of Geology & Geophysics

Ancient and Modern Carbonates, Basin Analysis, and Seismic Stratigraphy
jpigott@ou.edu

Matthew J. Pranter

Matthew J. Pranter

Lew and Myra Ward Chair in Reservoir Characterization &
Professor of Geology and Geophysics

Reservoir Characterization, Reservoir Modeling, Sedimentary Geology, Petroleum Geology
matthew.pranter@ou.edu

Roger M. Slatt

Roger M. Slatt

Gungoll Family Chair of Petroleum Geology and Geophysics
Director, Institute for Reservoir Characterization


Reservoir Characterization, Deepwater Depositional Systems, Unconventional Shales, Clastic Sequence Stratigraphy
rslatt@ou.edu

Gerilyn S. Soreghan

Gerilyn S. Soreghan

David L. Boren Professor and James Roy Maxey Professor

Sedimentology, Stratigraphy, and Paleoclimatology
lsoreg@ou.edu

Michael J. Soreghan

Michael J. Soreghan

Associate Professor of Geology and Geophysics

Sedimentary and Environmental Geology
msoreg@ou.edu

Barry L. Weaver

Barry L. Weaver

Associate Professor of Geology and Geophysics

Trace Element Geochemistry of Igneous and Metamorphic Rocks
bweaver@ou.edu

Steve Westrop

Steve Westrop

Willard L. Miller Professor
Curator of Invertebrate Paleontology,
Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History


Invertebrate Paleontology
swestrop@ou.edu

Cooperating and Adjunct Faculty

kyle murray

Andrew Cullen
Adjunct Professor of Geology and Geophysics


Tectonics, Petroleum Systems, Risking and Decision Analysis, Southeast Asia, Oklahoma

andrew.b.cullen-1@ou.edu

G.B. Morgan, VI

Gail Holloway
Adjunct Instructor
Undergraduate Recruiter


gholloway@ou.edu

 
 
 

G.B. Morgan, VI

G.B. Morgan, VI
Adjunct Professor of Geology and Geophysics
Scientist/Researcher II, Electron Microprobe Laboratory


Electron Microscopy and Microanalysis, Igneous Petrology, Experimental Geochemistry, Materials Science

gmorgan@ou.edu

kyle murray

Kyle E. Murray
Cooperating Researcher
Hydrogeologist IV, Oklahoma Geological Survey

Water and Energy Resources, Groundwater

kyle.murray@ou.edu 

Brad Wallet


Brad Wallet
Adjunct Lecturer
Seismic Exploration

bwallet@ou.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Judson L. Ahern

Judson L. Ahern
Professor Emeritus

Geomechanics, Gravity and Magnetics, and Environmental Geophysics
jahern@ou.edu

M. Charles Gilbert

M. Charles Gilbert
Professor Emeritus

Igneous and Metamorphic Rock Systems
mcgilbert@ou.edu

Charles W. Harper, Jr.

Charles W. Harper, Jr.
Professor Emeritus

Paleontology
charper@gcn.ou.edu

G. Randy Keller

G. Randy Keller
Professor Emeritus

Geophysics, Structure and Evolution of the Lithosphere from basins to the upper mantle, and Geoinformatics
grkeller@ou.edu

R. Paul Philp

R. Paul Philp
Professor Emeritus

Petroleum and Environmental Geochemistry
pphilp@ou.edu

Ze'ev Reches

Ze'ev Reches
Professor Emeritus


Structural Geology, Earthquakes, and Rock Mechanics
reches@ou.edu