Home Page Image

Organizational Communication
Mini Conference 2012

October 5, 2012 - October 7, 2012


The 25th annual OCMC is being sponsored by The University of Oklahoma Office of the President, Office of Research Services, College of Arts and Sciences, Graduate College, Office of the Provost, and the Department of Communication.

OCMC Program

Friday, October 5, 2012

12:30 p.m.
 Pre-Conference Registration Opens
(National Weather Center: Entrance)

1:00 p.m.  - 5:00 p.m.  
Preconference Guest Lecturer: Noshir Contractor
Jane S. & William J. White Professor of Behavioral Sciences - Northwestern University
 (National Weather Center: Room 1313)

5:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Welcome Reception & Early Registration
(National Weather Center: Atrium)

7:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
Shuttle Bus to Hotels
Leaves from Weather Center Entrance (tentative)
 (Every hour on the hour)

Saturday, October 6, 2012

7:30 a.m. - 9:00a.m.
 Shuttle Bus to Conference from Hotels
(On the ½ hour)

8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.
Breakfast & Registration
(Sam Noble Museum: Rotunda)

8:30 a.m.  - 9:45 a.m.
Session I: Social Change
(Sam Noble Museum: Auditorium)
Jonathan Wickert – University of Missouri
Ryan Fuller - UC-Santa Barbara
Sara Baker – University of Nebraska

9:45 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
Refreshment Break
(Sam Noble Museum: Rotunda)

10:00 a.m.  - 11:00 a.m.
Poster Session: I
(Sam Noble Museum: Rotunda- Easels Provided)
Veronica Dawson – University of Utah
Kyle Heuett – University of Tennessee
Hilary Schlimbach – University of Texas
Michael Sollitto – West Virginia University
Laura Young – University of Kentucky
Moyi Jia – University of Ohio
Paula Hopeck – Purdue University
Alina Lungeanu – Northwestern University
Dr. Keri Stephens - University of Texas

Poster Session 1 "Wandering" Scholars: 
James Olufowote, Assistant Professor, University of Oklahoma
Nicole Ploeger, Assistant Professor, University of Arkansas, Little Rock
Craig Scott, Associate Professor, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
Session II: Socialization
 (Sam Noble Museum: Auditorium)
Ran Ju –Ohio University
DaJung Woo – Kansas State University
Stephanie Dailey – University of Texas
Angie Pastorek – University of Texas

12:30 p.m.  - 1:30 p.m.
(Sam Noble Museum: Rotunda)
Open Access: Explore Museum at Leisure

1:30 p.m.  - 2:45 p.m.
Session III: Leadership
(Sam Noble Museum: Auditorium)
Anna Wiederhold – Ohio University
Allison Weidhass – University of South Florida
Elizabeth Minei –University of Oklahoma

2:45 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Refreshment Break
(Sam Noble Museum: Rotunda)

3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.  
 Poster Session: II
(Sam Noble Museum: Rotunda-Easels Provided)
Katherine Gronewold – North Dakota State University
Ashley Barrett – University of Texas
Cara Jacocks – Texas A&M University
Martijn VanKelegom – University of Tennessee
David Askay – UNC-Charlotte
Sunny Lee - Rutgers
Elizabeth Goins – University of Texas
Kris Knutson – University of Kansas
Dr. Keri Stephens - University of Texas

Poster Session 2 "Wandering" Scholars:
Debbie Dougherty, Associate Professor, University of Missouri
Johny Garner, Assistant Professor, Texas Christian University
Loril Gossett, Associate Professor, University of North Carolina, Charlotte

4:00 p.m. - 4:45 p.m.  
Session IV: Publishing Your Dissertation and Beyond
(Sam Noble Museum: Auditorium)
Sarah Riforgiate, Assistant Professor, Kansas State University
Scott D’Urso, Associate Professor, Marquette University
Scott Poole, Professor, University of Illinois
Michael W. Kramer, Professor, University of Oklahoma (Moderator)

4:45 p.m. -5:30 p.m. 
Shuttle to Fred Jones Jr. Art Gallery
Open access to enjoy the Gallery at your leisure
(Fred Jones Jr. Art Gallery)

5:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.  
 Cocktail Hour & Dinner
(Fred Jones Jr. Art Gallery)

8:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
Explore Campus Corner
Shuttle Bus to Hotels
Shuttle Leaves from Fred Jones Jr. Art Gallery Entrance (on Elm Street)
(Every Hour)

Sunday, October 7, 2012

6:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
 To Airport: Shuttle Bus Pick-up from Hotels
(Every Hour)

7:30 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. 
To Conference: Shuttle Bus from Hotels to Conference
(Every ½ Hour)

8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.
(Sam Noble Museum: Cafe)

8:30 a.m. - 9:45 a.m.
Session I: Bridging Boundaries
(Sam Noble Museum: Auditorium)
Rahul Mitra – Purdue University
William Barley – Northwestern University
Angela Gist – University of Missouri

9:45 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
Refreshment Break
(Sam Noble Museum: Cafe)

10:00 a.m. - 11:15 a.m.
Session II: Technology
(Sam Noble Museum: Auditorium)
Zhe Li - Rutgers
Sandra K. Evans – University of Southern California
Laurie Stewart – Kansas State University

11:15a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Closing & Lunch
(Sam Noble Museum: Cafe)