OU Symphony Orchestra Logo

School of Music | College of Fine Arts | OU Home

2008-2009 Concert Season

Tuesday, September 23, 2008 - 8:00 pm
Bach/Stokowski: Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor
Lance Hulme: Sirens' Song, a new work specially written for the OU Symphony
Beethoven: Symphony No. 1

The OU Symphony divides into an opera orchestra and a chamber orchestra:
Opera Orchestra*

DELIBES: LAKME
Dress rehearsals:
Sunday-Tuesday, October 19-21 - 7:00-10:00pm
Performances:
Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 10:00 am ( Student matinee)
Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 8:00 pm
Friday, October 24, 2008 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, October 25, 2008 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, October 26, 2008 - 3:00pm
* Opera events take place in the Reynolds Performing Arts Center

Chamber Orchestra
Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 8:00 pm

Sibelius: Pelleas and Melisande
Schubert: Symphony No. 1

Friday, December 5, 2008 - 8:00 pm
Featuring world-renowned bass-baritone Robert Hale, guest artist
Mozart: The Marriage of Figaro: Overture
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto with Nan Lu, violin
Gounod: "Serenade" and "Le Veau D'or" from Faust
Wagner: The Flying Dutchman: Overture
Wagner: "Die Frist ist um" from The Flying Dutchman
Wagner: Siegfried: Forest Murmurs
Wagner: Final Scene from Die Walkure: "Wotan's Farewell and Magic Fire Music"

Monday, February 16, 2009 - 8:00 pm - "Mosaic" Concert
Beethoven: Symphony No. 1, finale
Mozart: Aria from Le Nozze di Figaro

The OU Symphony divides into an opera orchestra and a chamber orchestra:
Opera Orchestra*

MOZART: THE MARRIAGE OF FIGARO
Dress rehearsals:
Sunday-Tuesday, March 1-3, 2009 - 7:00-10:30pm
Performances:
Wednesday, March 4, 2009 - 10:00 am (Student matinee)
Thursday, March 5, 2009 - 8:00 pm
Friday, March 6, 2009 - 8:00 pm
Saturday, March 7, 2009 - 8:00 pm
Sunday, March 8, 2009 - 3:00 pm

* Opera events take place in the Reynolds Performing Arts Center

Chamber Orchestra
Tuesday, March 10, 2009 - 8:00 pm

Faure : Requiem
University Choir, Dr. Mark Lucas, director
Liszt: Les Preludes
Wesley DeSpain, conductor
Hanson: Serenade for Flute, Harp, and Strings
Erin Wright-Parsons, flute
Grieg: Concerto for Piano, first movement
Heejin Jang, piano

Tuesday, April 21, 2009 - Temple B'nai Israel, OKC - 8:00 pm
Runout concert - Honoring the opening of a new Holocaust Museum
Bernstein: Symphony No. 1 "Jeremiah"

Sunday, April 26, 2009 - 3:00 pm
"The President's Concert"

Marvin Lamb: New work, specially written for OU Symphony and featuring the new Sharp Hall organ, with guest soloist John Schwandt
Bernstein: Symphony No. 1 "Jeremiah"
Brahms: Symphony No. 2

OU Home | Equal Opportunity | Disclaimer | Copyright