Skip Navigation

OU School of Drama Alumna Earns National Recognition

OU Public Affairs WebsiteOU homepagePublic Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation


NORMAN – Paige Hathaway, 2011 graduate of the bachelor of fine arts scenic design program in the University of Oklahoma Helmerich School of Drama, earned the 2018 Rising Star Award, presentedby the United States Institute for Theatre Technology. The Rising Star Award, established by LDI and Live Design Magazine, recognizes excellence and artistic achievement in the areas of scenic, lighting, sound and projection design, or the convergence of these design disciplines.

“The entire OU family congratulates Paige Hathaway on this major achievement,” said OU President David L. Boren. “She has truly distinguished herself on the national stage, and we are proud of her hard work and creativity.”

In addition to receiving the national USITT award, Hathaway received two Helen Hayes nominations for her designs for Or, at Round House Theatre, and Me ... Jane: The Adventures of Young Jane Goodall at the Kennedy Center.

One of the country’s most prestigious cultural honors, the Helen Hayes Awards recognizes and celebrates excellence in professional theatre throughout the Washington metropolitan area. Winners of the Helen Hayes awards will be announced on May 11 at an awards gala.

Hathaway’s professional work has been featured at such notable regional institutions as The Muny, Arden Theatre Company, The Folger Theatre, Signature Theatre, Olney Theatre Center, Round House Theatre and Woolly Mammoth Theatre. When describing her work, Professor Jon Young said, “It is visceral, gorgeous and the attention to detail is stunning. She has truly taken the renowned theatrical community by storm.”

Hathaway designed over five mainstage productions during her time at OU, one of which was selected as part of the international student design exhibition at the 2011 USITT Prague Quadrennial Emerge exhibition in Prague, Cezch Republic. The Prague Quadrennial is the principal international theatre design and scenography exhibition for universities and colleges, in which more than 70 countries typically participate.

At OU, Hathaway was the recipient of two Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts awards. The F. Donald Clark Award is awarded to the student in the college who exemplifies excellence with their artistry and also in the classroom. The Weitzenhoffer Award is given to a design and production student who shows most promise for success in their field. 

“We are so proud of Paige’s accomplishments as a professional scenic designer,” said Tom Huston Orr, School of Drama director. “She continues to exhibit all that is best about the Sooner spirit and the values that we instill in the Helmerich School of Drama.”


Recent News

OU Student Receives Udall Scholarship

Daniel Hayden

NORMAN - University of Oklahoma honors student Daniel R. Hayden has been named a 2018 Udall Scholar. The Udall Foundation Scholarship recognizes undergraduate students who demonstrate a commitment to careers related to the environment or to Native American public policy or health care. Hayden is one of 50 nationwide selected for the honor. Read more

OU Professor to Receive IEEE Satellite Communications Technical Contribution Award

Mohammed Atiquzzaman

Mohammed Atiquzzaman, is the recipient of the prestigious Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Satellite Communications Technical Contribution Award for 2018. The annual award is given to an accomplished, senior-level researcher who has achieved outstanding results in satellite communications and recognizes excellent scientific contributions done by academia and industries. Atiquzzaman will receive the award at the IEEE International Conference on Communications in Kansas City, Missouri, May 20-24. Read more

OU Physicist Developing Quantum-Enhanced Sensors for Real-Life Applications

Albert Marino

A University of Oklahoma physicist, Alberto M. Marino, is developing quantum-enhanced sensors that could find their way into applications ranging from biomedical to chemical detection. In a new study, Marino’s team, in collaboration with the U.S. Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory, demonstrates the ability of quantum states of light to enhance the sensitivities of state-of-the-art plasmonic sensors. The team presents the first implementation of a sensor with sensitivities considered state-of-the-art and shows how quantum-enhanced sensing can find its way into real-life applications. Read more

OU Class of 2018 Gift to Honor Borens

The Boren Green

NORMAN – The University of Oklahoma Class of 2018 will celebrate their time at OU through a dedicated green space that will add to OU’s national reputation as one of America’s most beautiful campuses. Located along Lindsey Street in front of the newly completed Residential Colleges, this year’s class gift will fund a picturesque lawn named The Boren Green. Read more

OU Students Receive National Security Education Program Award for International Study

The Boren Awards

NORMAN – University of Oklahoma senior James Ratcliff and OU junior Libby Trowbridge recently were selected as recipients of the prestigious Boren Award for International Study, sponsored by the National Security Education Program. Thirty-four OU students have received the award since the program began in 1994. Read more

OU-Led Research Team Accelerating Antibiotic Discovery

Zygurskaya and Rybenkov

NORMAN — University of Oklahoma professors, Helen Zgurskaya and Valentin Rybenkov, and team are addressing the challenge and critical need for new antibiotics that can fight infections caused by the multi-drug resistant bacterium, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, considered an urgent threat by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The OU team responded to a special request for applications from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, and received a five-year, $5.7 million grant to develop new, more effective approaches against Gram-negative bacteria that are protected by multi-drug efflux pumps and low-permeability membranes. Read more

News Archives

2017  | 2016  | 2015  | 2014  |  2013  

May 2018

April 2018

March 2018

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or

2018 News Archives


For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or