Home
Degrees
Faculty
Advising
Courses
News
Outreach
 

 

Any person who is adequately educated will have an informed understanding of religion and an appreciation of religion at its best. I teach in the Religious Studies Program to serve that end.

Tom W. Boyd, David Ross Boyd Emeritus Professor, Religious Studies

 

Scholarship and teaching are both forms of human relationship. The purpose of both is to enable the development of further relationships characterized by integrity and by an ongoing process of coming to understand. Both must therefore be governed by the same principles. The study of religions consists in listening to unfamiliar voices with sacrificial attention, constructing conceptual models that allow one to relate what one has heard to familiar categories, and then subjecting those models and categories to deconstruction through self-criticism and further acts of listening....Students should leave a course not so much with a new ability to talk about religion, as with what I like to call "listening knowledge": a basic mental map, and the skill to use and redraw it as they work to understand new religious voices that they encounter beyond the classroom.

David Vishanoff, Assistant Professor, Religious Studies, Area of Speciality Islamic Studies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Faculty Teaching Religious Studies Courses

Name Department Office Phone and Email
Mohammad Alhawary International & Area Studies/Modern Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics KH

325-1467
malhawary@ou.edu

Peter Barker History of Science PHSC 622 325-2242
barkerp@ou.edu
Rozmeri Basic Art/Art History FJC 413 325-6593
rozmeri@ou.edu
Barbara Boyd Religious Studies DAHT 804 325-5615
barbaraboyd@ou.edu
Tom Boyd Religious Studies DAHT 804 325-6239
tomboyd@ou.edu
Erik Braun Religious Studies DAHT 805C 325-3118
ebraun@ou.edu
Ryan Brown Psychology DAHT 705 325-4526
rpbrown@ou.edu
Tom Burns Sociology KH 331 325-0461
tburns@ou.edu
Peter Cahn Anthropology DAHT 521 325-4432
pcahn@ou.edu
Susan Caldwell Art/Art History FJC 216 325-3252
shcaldwell@ou.edu
David Chappell History DAHT 403A 325-2423
dchappell@ou.edu
Rangar Cline Religious Studies/History DAHT 419 325-6024
ranger.cline@ou.edu
Jeanette Davidson African & African-American Studies ELLH 234 325-2327
jrdavidson@ou.edu
R.C. Davis Honors MH 110 325-4531
rcdavis@ou.edu
Ralph Doty Classics KH 109 325-6921
rdoty@ou.edu
Kyle Harper Classics & Letters KH 335 325-4063
kyleharper@ou.edu
Jill Irvine Women's Studies/Religious Studies DAHT 805C 325-5232
jill.irvine@ou.edu
Neal Judisch Philosophy DAHT 620

325-6324
neal.judisch@ou.edu

Charles Kenney Political Science DAHT 205 325-3735
ckenney@ou.edu
Drew Kershen Law LAW 325-4784
dkershen@ou.edu
Charles Kimball Religious Studies DAHT 804C 325-5015
kimball@ou.edu
Misha Klein Anthropology DAHT 512 325-5411
misha@ou.edu
Ori Kritz Modern Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics KH 325-1542
okritz@ou.edu
Joshua Landis International and Area Studies HEST 325-1584
landis@ou.edu
Alan Levenson History & Judaic Studies DAHT 403a 325-6002
alevenson@ou.edu
Nina Livesey Liberal Studies ADMN 325-1061
nlivesey@ou.edu
Steven Livesey History of Science PHSC 622

325-2211
slivesey@ou.edu

Roberta Magnusson History DAHT 816 325-8972
rmagnusson@ou.edu
Kieran Mullen PHYS NH 104 325-3961
kieran@ou.edu
Sean O'Neill Anthropology DAHT 513 325-3261
Sean.P.O-Neill-1@ou.edu
Amy Olberding Philosophy/International & Area Studies DAHT 605 325-6342
aolberding@ou.edu
Larry Rossow Educational Leadership ECH 207 325-2930
lfrossow@ou.edu
Michael Scaperlanda Law LAW 325-4833
mscaperlanda@ou.edu
Carsten Schapkow History & Judaic Studies DAHT 403a 325-6002
cschapkow@ou.edu
Shmuel Shepkaru History & Judaic Studies DAHT 403a 325-6386
shmuel.shepkaru-1@ou.edu
Zoe Sherinian Music CMC 127H 325-2081
zsherinian@ou.edu
Daniel Snell History DAHT 420

325-6346
dcsnell@ou.edu

Ken Stephenson Music CMC 231 325-1650
kstephenson@ou.edu
Norman Stillman History & Judaic Studies DAHT 403a 325-6501
nstillman@ou.edu
Ann-Marie Syzmanski Political Science DAHT 218 325-6436
ams@ou.edu
Zev Trachtenberg Philosophy DAHT 610 325-6324
ztrachtenberg@ou.edu
Alan Velie English GIH 313 325-6278
alanvelie@ou.edu
Rienk Vermij History of Science PHSC 625 325-5416
Rienk.vermij@ou.edu
David Vishanoff Religious Studies DAHT 805 325-1150
vishanoff@ou.edu
Stephen Weldon History of Science PHSC 625 325-2741
spweldon@ou.edu
Jane Wickersham History DAHT 806 325-8974
jwickersham@ou.edu
Grady Wray MLLL, Spanish Cross Center 325-4198
gwray@ou.edu
Linda Zagzebski Philosophy DAHT 605 325-6491
lzagzebski@ou.edu
Musharraf Zaman Civil Engineering/Environmental Science Carson Engineering Ctr 325-4236
zaman@ou.edu
Religious Studies Program
455 West Lindsey, Suite 804
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-3349
Fax: (405) 325-1502
rels@ou.edu