Skip Navigation

Research Liaisons

Skip Side Navigation

Research Liaisons

In addition to capable and motivated faculty and quality students, a successful academic research enterprise is characterized by a number of key factors. Each requires not only appropriate mechanistic processes but also effective communication among faculty, departmental and college leadership, and central administration, particularly the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR). At the present time on the Norman campus, such communication occurs both formally and informally.

Emulating the longstanding and highly successful Graduate Liaison program operated by the Graduate College, the OVPR established the Research Liaisons program in January 2011. This program engages a faculty representative from each academic department, school, and program involved in organized research.

Selected by the faculty within each program to serve a 3-year term, the Research Liaisons:

  • Serve as a resource within the academic program for communicating to faculty and students and answering questions regarding research opportunities, policy changes, and other information provided by the OVPR. Note that funding opportunity announcements will continue to be sent directly to faculty.
  • Serve as a resource to the OVPR regarding departmental research capabilities and plans. Note that the Research Liaison has no purview over faculty activities but rather maintains a working knowledge of ongoing and planned scholarly activities.
  • Provide input to the OVPR on other issues related to organized research and creative activity.

Research Liaisons meet twice each semester and are asked to share what is learned in these meetings with their department/school/program colleagues and to bring to these meetings ideas and thoughts concerning research at OU.

Research Liaisons by College

Lee Fithian
Division of Architecture
Associate Professor
Email: leefithian@ou.edu

Tamera McCuen
The Haskell & Irene Lemon Construction Science Division
Associate Professor
Email: tammymccuen@ou.edu

Abigail Moore
Oklahoma Biological Survey/Microbiology and Plant Biology
Assistant Professor
Email: abigail.j.moore.@ou.edu

Bradley Stevenson
Department of Microbiology & Plant Biology
Associate Professor
Email: bradley.stevenson@ou.edu
Cameron Siler
Department of Biology/Sam Noble Museum of Natural History
Assistant Professor/Assistant Curator
Email: camsiler@ou.edu
Carol Silva
Department of Political Science
Associate Professor
Email: clsilva@ou.edu
Carolin Showers
Psychology
Professor
Email: cshowers@ou.edu
Charles Kimball
Department of Religious Studies
Director/Professor
Email: kimball@ou.edu
Debra Bemben
Department of Health and Exercise Science
Professor
Email: dbemben@ou.edu
James Shaffer
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Professor
Email: james.p.shaffer-1@ou.edu
Jody Worley
Human Relations
Associate Professor
Email: jworley@ou.edu
Leland Bement
Archeological Survey
Associate Professor
Email: lbement@ou.edu
Marc Levine
Anthropology
Assistant Professor/Assistant Curator
Email: mlevine@ou.edu
Misha Nedeljkovich
Department of Film and Media Studies
Professor
Email: mihajlo@ou.edu
Pamela A. Genova
Department of Modern Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Professor
Email: genova@ou.edu
Samuel Perry
Department of Sociology
Assistant Professor
Email: samperry@ou.edu
Suzanne Moon
Department of the History of Science
Associate Professor
Email: suzannemoon@ou.edu
Yong-Mi Kim
School of Library and Information Studies
Associate Professor
Email: yongmi@ou.edu
Guifu Zhang
School of Meteorology
Associate Professor
Email: guzhang1@ou.edu
Tom Neeson
Geography and Environmental Sustainability
Assistant Professor
Email: neeson@ou.edu
Dean Hougen
School of Computer Science
Associate Professor
Email: hougen@ou.edu
Mark Yeary
School of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Professor
Email: yeary@ou.edu
Ramkumar N. Parthasarathy
Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
Professor
Email: rparthasarathy@ou.edu
Robert Nairn
School of Civil Engineering and Environmental Science
Sam K. Viersen Family Foundation
Presidential Professor
Email: nairn@ou.edu
Shivakumar Raman
Industrial Engineering
Professor
Email: raman@ou.edu
Vassilios I. Sikavitsas
Bioengineering/Biomedical Engineering
ProfessorEmail: vis@ou.edu
Benjamin Heddy
Educational Pyschology
Assistant Professor
Email: heddy@ou.edu
Doo Hun Lim
Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Associate Professor
Email: dhlim@ou.edu
Tim Laubach
Department of instructional Leadership and Academic Curriculum
Assistant Professor
Email: laubach@ou.edu

 

Julia C. Ehrhardt
Honors College
Associate Professor
Email: juliae@ou.edu
Carl Sondergeld
School of Petroleum and Geological Engineering
Professor
Email: csondergeld@ou.edu

Rick Lupia
School of Geology and Geophysics
Associate Professor
Email: rlupia@ou.edu

Scott Linn
Division of Finance
Professor
Email: slinn@ou.edu
Marc Levine
Anthropology
Assistant Professor/Assistant Curator
Email: mlevine@ou.edu
Jeffrey Swinkin
Music
Assistant Professor
Email: jswinkin@ou.edu
Jon Young
School of Drama
Assistant Professor
Email: jon.young-1@ou.edu
Paul Christman
Weitzenhoffer School of Musical Theatre
Professor
Email: pc@ou.edu
Peter Froslie
School of Art and Art History
Assistant Professor
Email: froslie@ou.edu
Roxanne Lyst
School of Dance
Assistant Professor
Email: rlyst@ou.edu