We Know We Belong to the Land - A Hundred Years of Oklahoma and the Congress
War and American Ascendance (part 4)
The postwar saw changes in Oklahoma's congressional delegation. G.I. candidates Carl Albert, Glen Johnson, and Preston Peden all won in 1946. Although only Albert survived the 1948 election, that original trio presaged a new delegation. In the elections between 1946 and 1950, Oklahoma replaced both its senators and saw seven of its eight House seats change hands. This change in incumbency symbolized more the passing of a generation than political instability as six of the eight members who entered Congress in 1951 remained through 1962.
Above: The Oklahoma delegation gathers for a banquet ca. 1947.  From the left are Toby Morris (D-OK, 1947-1952, 1957-1960), Glen D. Johnson (D-OK, 1947-1948), Mike Monroney, William G. Stigler (D-OK, 1943-1952), Preston Peden (D-OK, 1947-1948), George B. Schwabe (R-OK, 1945-1948, 1951-1952), Ross Rizley, and Carl Albert.

Copyright © 2007 Carl Albert Center at the University of Oklahoma
Last Modified 04/05
/07 cacarchives@ou.edu
Disclaimer | Copyright

OU Disclaimer