We Know We Belong to the Land - A Hundred Years of Oklahoma and the Congress
The Progressive Era (part 5)
The Oklahoma Congressional Delegation in 1919
Above: The Oklahoma congressional delegation with General William Smith and General Patsy O’Neal in 1919.  Smith commanded the 36th Division in World War I.  The 36th was composed of National Guard units from Oklahoma and Texas and saw action with the French Fourth Army. From the left are: Thomas D. McKeown (D-OK, 1917-1920; 1923-1934); Joseph B. Thompson (D-OK, 1913-1920); Scott Ferris; General Smith; Charles Carter; General O'Neal; William W. Hastings (D-OK, 1915-1920, 1923-1934); James V. McClintic (D-OK, 1915-1934); Dick T. Morgan; Everette B. Howard (D-OK, 1919-1920, 1923-1924, 1927-1928); and Clay Briggs (D-TX).
Alfalfa Bill Murray

Above: One of Oklahoma’s most colorful politicians was William Henry David “Alfalfa Bill” Murray (D-OK, 1913-1916). Nicknamed the “Sage of Tishomingo,” Murray presided over the Oklahoma Constitutional Convention and later served as governor of the state from 1931-1934. Because Murray urged preparedness for World War I and believed that the U.S. could not remain out of the war, he was defeated for reelection. (Courtesy Western History Collections, University of Oklahoma Libraries)

Claude Weaver
Above: A native Texan, Claude Weaver (D-OK, 1913-1914) came to Pauls Valley, Indian Territory, in 1895.  Always interested in civic affairs, Weaver helped establish public education in Pauls Valley–the first public school system in Indian Territory.  In the House, Weaver served on the Banking and Currency Committee and helped write the legislation which framed the Federal Reserve Act.

Copyright © 2007 Carl Albert Center at the University of Oklahoma
Last Modified 04/05
/07 cacarchives@ou.edu
Disclaimer | Copyright

OU Disclaimer