News from the Center

LaDonna Sullivan

Ron Peters, who has served as the Carl Albert Center's director since 1979, passed that responsibility to Gary Copeland with a big smile on July 1. Copeland has been with the Center since 1980. As associate director, he developed the Center's fully-funded and nationally competitive five-year congressional fellowship program.

Copeland's first year in the director's chair promises to be a busy one. He also serves as president of the Southwestern Political Science Association, president of the Norman Public Schools Board of Education, and member of the executive board of Oklahoma Network for Excellence in Education.

Peters remains with the Center as Regents' Professor of political science, spending more time in the classroom and on his research. He continues his work on the Center's publications and also serves as chair of the political science department.

Cindy Simon Rosenthal, assistant director, is a new member of the editorial board of Women & Politics. She is also editing Women Transforming Congress, a volume from the conference that the Center hosted in April 2000, for publication by University of Oklahoma Press.

A former Carl Albert Fellow, Matthew C. Moen has been named the University of Maine Trustee Professor for 2000-2001. This support will enable him to spend the year studying the impact of state legislative term limits. Moen is a professor of political science and chair of the department at the University of Maine in Orono, where he has taught since 1986.

L. Marvin Overby, another former fellow, was recently honored with a distinguished chair lecturing award in the Fulbright Scholars Program. He is spending academic year 2000-2001 at the Jozsef Attila University in Szegadin, Hungary, where he assumed the Laszlo Orszagh Chair in American Studies. Overby is an associate professor of political science at the University of Mississippi, a senior research associate and founding co-director of the University of Mississippi Social Science Research Laboratory.

At the political science department's annual awards luncheon in September, Carl Albert Fellow Jocelyn Jones received the V. Stanley Vardys Award for her paper "Closing the Gap: An Analysis of Presidential Voting Patterns Among Southern White Evangelicals." She presented the paper at the annual meeting of the Southwestern Political Science Association in Galveston in March. Undergraduate fellow Aleisha Karjala received the Allan Saxe Award from the political science department and the A.R. Larason Public Service Scholarship from the College of Arts and Sciences.

The Carl Albert Center and the University of Oklahoma Press hosted a reception to honor the Julian J. Rothbaum Distinguished Lecturers at the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association in Washington, D.C. on September 1. Lecturers John Brademas, Barber Conable, Ted Lowi, Dick Fenno, Chuck Jones, Marty Lipset, and Theda Skocpol were joined at the reception by Matthew Holden, who has agreed to present the biennial lecture in 2001. Julian Rothbaum and his son and daughter-in-law, Joel and Carol Jankowsky, mingled with more than a hundred guests, including Ambassador Barbara Heckler, several former Carl Albert Fellows, and other scholars. The Center was represented by Gary Copeland, Cindy Simon Rosenthal, Ron Peters, LaDonna Sullivan, Jocelyn Jones, and Craig Williams. Jean Hurtado, the new editor for the Rothbaum Lecture Series, represented the Press and was accompanied by Kim Wiar, who served as the series editor until her recent retirement.

After the reception, Joel and Carol Jankowsky and their son David hosted a dinner for the Rothbaum Lecturers and other invited guests.

During the annual business meeting of the Legislative Studies Section of APSA, the second annual Carl Albert Dissertation Award was presented to Glen Krutz for his dissertation, "Explaining Institutional Change: The Rise and Impact of Omnibus Legislating," which he completed at Texas A&M University. Krutz, who is now an assistant professor at Arizona State University, will visit the Carl Albert Center in November to conduct a seminar on his research.

Undergraduate Research Program

The Carl Albert Center annually offers a limited number of research fellowships to undergraduate students. In recent years, students in the program have been assigned to leadership roles in conducting projects such as election-day exit polls, field research on women in political leadership, and analyses of citizen participation in community affairs; collaborative work with members of the faculty to conduct and publish research and to present papers at state and regional political science conferences; independent research leading to papers that have won the University of Oklahoma's undergraduate research competition and the Southwestern political Science Association's best paper award; studeis on such diverse topics as special elections in the U.S., electoral systems in Poland and Hungary, budget reform in the U.S. Senate, leadership styles in the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, and career paths of women in political life.

The program is directed by Professor Cindy Simon Rosenthal and includes ten students this year:

Table of Contents| |Editor's Introduction| |Special Orders| |News| |Announcements| |Other Issues of Extensions |

| HOME | | Contact Us |
| Teaching & Research | | Public Outreach | | Congressional Archives | | Graduate Fellowship |

This page is best viewed at a resolution of 800 x 600 pixels.
Copyright, The Carl Albert Center