For the Record

News from the Center

LaDonna Sullivan

Professor Matthew Holden Jr., the Henry L. and Grace M. Doherty Professor of Government and Foreign Affairs at the University of Virginia, delivered the tenth biennial Julian J. Rothbaum Distinguished Lecture in Representative Government, "Public Administration and Political Power," on November 6, 7, and 8.

Immediately following the first lecture, Professor Holden and his wife Dorothy Holden were guests of honor at a reception and ceremonial dinner hosted by the Carl Albert Center. Provost Nancy Mergler, Center Director Gary Copeland, and Joel Jankowsky made brief remarks before dinner, and Professor Holden conducted a question and answer session with guests after dinner.

Among the 200 dinner guests were Close Up Foundation President Steve Janger, Oklahoma House member Bill Nations, Norman Mayor Ron Henderson, Norman City Council members David Karr and Richard Stawicki, and former OU Regent Dan Little.

In addition to Julian Rothbaum and son Joel Jankowsky, other family members who attended the lecture and dinner were Paul Esserman of Denver, Ruth Nelson and her husband Tom Murphy of Tulsa, and B.J. Rothbaum and daughters Ann and Rebecca of Oklahoma City.

During the annual business meeting of the Legislative Studies Section of the American Political Science Association (APSA), the third annual Carl Albert Dissertation Award was presented to Michele Lynn Swers for her dissertation, "From the Year of the Woman to the Republican Ascendancy: Evaluating the Policy Impact of Women in Congress," which she completed at Harvard University. The award is sponsored by the Carl Albert Center, and the recipient is selected by a committee of the Legislative Studies Section.

Also during the annual APSA meeting, Gary Copeland was recognized by APSA and Pi Sigma Alpha for outstanding teaching in political science.

Cindy Simon Rosenthal was granted tenure and promoted to associate professor at the University of Oklahoma this past June. She was also promoted to associate director of the Carl Albert Center in October 2001.

At the annual awards ceremony of the Political Science Department at the University of Oklahoma, Carl Albert Fellows Melody Huckaby and Lynsey Morris received John Halvor Leek Memorial Scholarships. Robert Dean Bass Memorial Scholarships were awarded to Carl Albert Undergraduate Fellows Michael Avery and Phyllis Jones.

Undergraduate Fellow Neelesh Nerurkar, recently inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, is also the recipient of a Pi Sigma Alpha Howard Penniman graduate scholarship to continue his studies at Johns Hopkins University's School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) in Washington D.C.

Undergraduate fellows have been actively engaged in collaborative research with various faculty. Phyllis Jones presented a paper on school board representation with Professor Jill Tao at the Southern Political Science Association meeting in November 2001. Michael Avery, who is working under the supervision of Professor Ron Peters, will present a paper on the Federal Communications Commission at the Southwest Political Science Association meeting in March 2002.

Undergraduate fellow Michael Willis is this year's president of Student Association for Public Administration at University of Oklahoma.

The Ron Peters Graduate Assistant Teaching Award was presented for the first time this year. The award was recently established by former students, friends, and colleagues to honor the distinguished career of Ron Peters, current chair of the Political Science Department and former director of the Carl Albert Center. The first recipient of the award is Kim Uhiren Hoffman, in recognition of her exceptional teaching during academic year 2000-2001.

The Center's assistant curator, Todd Kosmerick, is now the chair of the Congressional Papers Roundtable of the Society of American Archivists. He has previously served that group in various leadership positions.

Kosmerick recently announced that new inventories have been completed to provide more detailed descriptions in some of the Carl Albert Center's congressional collections, including Carl Albert, Dewey Bartlett, Sidney Clarke, Helen Gahagan Douglas, Thomas P. Gore, Jed Johnson, Robert S. Kerr, Dick T. Morgan, William H. "Alfalfa Bill" Murray, and Elmer Thomas. Collection descriptions and inventories can be accessed from the Center's web page at

Carl Albert Fellow Jocelyn Jones returned to campus at the end of October after completing the APSA Congressional Fellowship Program in the House Republican Conference office. While in Washington, she interviewed members of Congress for her dissertation research which examines how the factors of gender ideology and partisanship interact to determine legislative behavior.

Courtney Cullison, a former legislative correspondent from the Washington office of Congressman Tom Coburn (R-Okla.), entered the Carl Albert Fellowship Program this fall. She is a 2000 graduate of Oklahoma State University

Former Carl Albert Fellow Jean Shumway Warner has returned to the Center to serve as project specialist for the NEW (National Education for Women) Leadership Oklahoma program. The Center is a participating partner in the NEW Leadership Development Network, an initiative of the Center for American Women in Politics at Rutgers' Eagleton Institute of Politics. The network is designed to build and support young women's public leadership education at colleges and universities across the United States. The Carl Albert Center will host a five-day residential summer institute May 17-21, 2002, on the Norman campus. The institute is designed to encourage undergraduate women to consider careers in politics and public service. Approximately 30 students representing a variety of college majors, class years and standings, and economic and personal backgrounds will be selected to participate. Detailed information about the project is available on a new web page at

Undergraduate interns for NEW Leadership Oklahoma include Melissa Wabnitz who started her work with the Carl Albert Center in fall semester, and Kaci Walker and Elizabeth Deerinwater who will join the conference staff in the spring semester.

New Publications of Carl Albert Center Faculty, Staff, and Fellows

Table of Contents| |Editor's Introduction| |Special Orders| |News| |Rothbaum Lecture|
 |Announcements| |Other Issues of Extensions |

| HOME | | Contact Us |
| Teaching & Research | | Public Outreach | | Congressional Archives | | Graduate Fellowship |

This page is best viewed at a resolution of 800 x 600 pixels.
Copyright, The Carl Albert Center