Global Header Staff Senate
 Contact Staff Senate Sponsor:

  Melissa Lane
  phone (405) 325-4672
  fax (405) 325-7864

Contact OU Norman Campus Staff Senate:

Your Classification:*
Question or comment:
Membership Meetings Member Groups Committees Professional Development Merit Awards Official Actions Constitution




Wednesday April 15, 2015



Chair John Bishop called the meeting to order at 1:39 p.m. in the Scholars Room of the Oklahoma Memorial Union.
Officers present – John Bishop, Chair; Debbie Copp, Chair-Elect; Chris Cook, Immediate Past Chair; Cecilia McEwen, Recording Secretary;

Staff present – Melissa Lane, Administrative Coordinator

Representatives present – Hourly Employees Council: Eric Grubbs, Suzie Brewer, Kim Haddad, Synthia Petross,  Julie Hamburger, David Kizer, Ross Mehl; Informational Staff Association: Dan Hough, Corey Helms, Sarah Connelly, Priscilla Crawford; Organizational Staff Council: Matt Rom, Kristi Wright; Administrative Staff Council: Paul Arcaroli

Representatives absent — Hourly Employees Council: Karen Stark, Cecilia Holmes, Jake Wetherington, Brandie Wright, Carolyn Irons; Informational Staff Association: Richard Snelling, Gordan Carrie; Organizational Staff Council: Justin Daniels, Deborah Skeel, Julia Rouse; Administrative Staff Council: Michael Giesecke

Guests present — Cathy Yeaman, Lezlie Marsh, Sue-Anna Miller, and Kristen Homles


On motion by Dan Hough, the minutes of March 18, 2015 Staff Senate meeting were accepted.


John met and helped select the President’s trophy recipient.  Staff Week is next week so everyone is very busy.  Please make sure and give the Staff Week committee feedback and tell them thank you for all of their hard work.  Good luck at all of the events next week!!


Administrative Staff Council:  President Michael Giesecke reported by email that they met on March 24 in the union, they briefly discussed volunteer needs for the Staff Picnic and then had a presentation by guest speaker Erin Yarbrough, Associate Vice President for Web Communications, Marketing and New Media. She and her colleague, Brandt Smith, discussed the launch of the new OU homepage and new departmental website templates this summer. They also discussed the new OU Bound mobile app that prospective students will be able to utilize in the future to complete their application and admissions process to The University of Oklahoma. David Goodspeed, Assistant Vice President for Digital Innovation, also discussed the new “Tornado Alley,” Janux course with meteorologist Gary England.

Hourly Employees Council:  President Eric Grubbs reported that they met last Wednesday the 8th but did not have quorum.   They did get an update on the Ice Cream Social coming up and finalized needs and assignments for the event. Kristen Holmes will be the HEC representative to the Staff Senate nomination committee.

Informational Staff Association:  President Elect Dan Hough reported that they had a regular business meeting and conducted organization business including discussions following reports from Staff and Faculty Senate reps.  They continued planning for the ISA Staff Week Art Show. Things are looking good again for this year.  They also made plans to honor our award winners and nominees at our May meeting.

Organizational Staff Council:  President Justin Daniels reported by email that they met last Thursday, April 9th and had a very brief meeting.  Their meeting was at Couch Restaurants and they invited all of this year’s award nominees and recipients.  They had lunch and visited with all the nominees.  The noise made it very difficult to have a meeting but they did discuss their upcoming Bingo event held during Staff Week and they are ready to go.


Awards Committee:  By email Chair Liz Cooley reported that they met last week to assemble all of the certificates for Staff Anniversaries.  The walk-through was scheduled for Wednesday for the ceremony.

Communications Committee:  By email Chair Gina Powell reported that the committee met by email and completed the newsletter from Staff Week chair, Paige Smith, inviting staff to attend Staff Week events April 20 to 24, 2015.

Staff Initiatives Committee:  Chair Kristi Wright reported that they continued their discussion about tuition waivers and will discuss tuition waivers to Staff Senate for input in the next couple of months.  They did not have any new business.
Staff Week Committee:  Chair Paige Smith reported by email that they on 4/14/15, the health fair has 48 vendors and the craft fair has 55 vendors. The grand prize flyers went out and most departments should receive them on the 14th or 15th. They discussed how door prizes were to be distributed and how they will display the winners this year (on a dry erase board). Reminder about next meeting to discuss what we could work on for next year’s staff week.


Employee Benefits Committee:  Debbie Copp reported that they met and discussed the following: I. Health Insurance Update; Claims are running well with no high claims to date. Holding our breath as June is usually the month that high claims hit. Using data we have to date, a projected rate increase for next year would be around 3% for PPO and the HMO would be looking at a double digit increase, around 12% right. VERY PRELIMINARY data. Really like what we have seen from consultant company in terms of our reps and expect we will be looking for things to keep HMO increases down.  II. Long Term Care Insurance; All who are on current plan will have the option to stay on that plan but will no longer be a group plan and will be subject to expected rate increases. Group plans for LTC are a thing of the past so we will be exploring other options for people after February 2016, including more education about making the decision to buy LTC – who may need it and who really doesn’t.  III. Retirement Update; Retirement expos went great on all three campuses. Planning for quarterly education series as a result of the number of questions on particular areas during the expos. Topics could be women and investing, higher ed employee investments, what will social security look like, income planning for retirement. Watch for more on this outreach effort.  IV. Dependent Tuition Fee Waiver; Will begin this summer and guidelines are being finalized with a distribution to follow. Dependent must be enrolled in health insurance by May 1 to get waiver this summer. VI. Wellness Update; Continuing to have great participation in scheduled health screenings. Standing desk program getting closer to starting. Watch for updates. Company will offer same discount OU is getting to individuals who want to get this kind of desk as well. V. General updates; Approval to add a representative for Cameron University has been approved at all levels. Need to finish off annual report for the 2013-14 academic year.

Health Insurance Working Committee:  By email Sue Anna Miller reported that they have not met.


The following reports were linked to the March agenda:

Staff Senate Foundation account report

Minutes of Employment Benefits Committee meeting for November 2014





As there was no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:22 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,

Melissa Lane
Administrative Coordinator

Cecilia McEwen
Recording Secretary



Page Break Bar

The University of Oklahoma Staff Senate, Norman Campus, 905 Asp, Norman, OK 73019 (405) 325-4672  | 
Elegant page break

bottom left corner image

bottom left right image