Newman logo



Voting Procedures




Young Writers Award


729 Elm
Norman OK 73019-2105
(405) 325-3580
uschina at ou dot edu


2013 FestivalChinese

Wednesday, March 6

12 noon-1:30 pm. lunch talk (Hester Hall 160 Seminar room)
(This event is free and open to the public with rsvp to

  • Jennifer Feeley (Iowa), “Plath in China: Gender and Confessional Poetics in Post-Mao China”

7-9:30pm. (Auditorium, Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art, 555 Elm Avenue)
(This MOVIE is free and open to the public)

  • Hou Hsiao-Hsien film, “A Time to Live, a Time to Die” (1985) 童年往事

Thursday, March 7

11:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon: Exhibit Opening
Main Floor, Bizzell Memorial Library
This event is free and open to the public

  • The Newman Prize and Chinese Literature Today at OU
    Exhibit celebrates the work of the three Newman laureates to date: Yang Mu in 2013, Han Shaogong in 2011, and the inaugural prize awarded in 2009 to Mo Yan, now winner of the 2012 Nobel Prize in Literature as well.

1:30-4pm: Symposia (Auditorium, Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art, 555 Elm)
(free and open to the public)

1:30-2:15 p.m. Roundtable on Taiwanese Culture and Politics

  • Shelley Rigger (Davidson), “What Makes Taiwan Taiwanese”
  • Jennifer Feeley (Iowa), “When a Translation is Not a Translation: Consummating the Human and the Mechanical in Hsia Yü's Pink Noise

2:30-3:15 p.m. Roundtable on the Newman Laureate

  • Michelle Yeh (UC Davis), “Yang Mu and Modern Chinese Poetry”
  • Andrea Lingenfelter (Berkeley), “Translating Yang Mu…”

3:30-4 p.m. Keynote Address by Yang Mu
(free and open to the public)

  • The 2013 Newman laureate reads from his work and answers questions

5:30-9pm: Awards Banquet
(Sandy Bell Gallery, Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art, 555 Elm Ave, Norman)

By invitation only

2009 symposia honoring the first Newman Prize winner, Mo Yan
2011 symposia honoring the second Newman Prize winner, Han Shaogong
2013 symposia honoring the third Newman Prize winner, Yang Mu
2015 symposia honoring the fourth Newman Prize winner, Chu T'ien-wen
2017 symposia honoring the fifth Newman Prize winner, Wang Anyi