Skip Navigation

2018 Heisman Trophy

Skip Side Navigation
Kyler Murray and Lincoln Riley

Murray Claims OU's Seventh Heisman Trophy

The Sooners need a bigger trophy case! Kyler Murray has added yet another Heisman Trophy to Oklahoma's collection, which now has seven of the awards in its history.

On Saturday, the redshirt junior quarterback was announced as the 2018 Heisman Trophy winner, awarded annually to the most outstanding player in college football. Murray joins Billy Vessels (1952), Steve Owens (1969), Billy Sims (1978), Jason White (2003), Sam Bradford (2008), and Baker Mayfield (2017) as Sooners who have claimed the sport’s top award.

OU is now tied with Notre Dame and Ohio State for the most Heisman Trophies won by a school. Additionally, OU is just the fourth school with back-to-back Heisman winners and the first to have quarterbacks claim the honor in consecutive seasons.

In 2018, Murray has put together an incredible season while he has guided the Sooners to a fourth straight Big 12 title and a third College Football Playoff appearance. Some of his statistical highlights include leading the nation in total yards (school-record 4,945), points responsible for (306), passing efficiency rating (205.7), yards per pass attempts (11.9), and yards per completion (16.8).

The Allen, Texas, native has accounted for 4,527 yards of total offense, which is more than 68 of the nation’s other 129 teams. Murray has thrown for 4,053 yards this season and tallied 40 touchdowns to just seven interceptions while also rushing for 892 yards and 11 touchdowns.

Here’s a look at some of OU’s rich Heisman history and the elite group of Sooners Murray joins. 

Baker Mayfield (2017)

Baker Mayfield, who wore jersey No. 6, became OU’s sixth Heisman winner last season. During his redshirt senior campaign, Mayfield put together an extensive list of accomplishments, including leading the FBS in completion percentage (.705), points responsible for (296), and yards per pass attempt (11.5). The Austin, Texas, native finished his collegiate career by tossing at least two touchdown passes in a FBS record 27 straight games.

Sam Bradford (2008)

In 2008, Sam Bradford led the most explosive offense in college football that season, completing 328 of his 483 pass attempts for 4,720 and a school-record 50 touchdowns with just eight interceptions. The Oklahoma City, Okla., native also led the nation in passing efficiency and scored five rushing touchdowns. 

Jason White (2003)

Jason White and the 2003 Sooners scored 601 total points on the season, then a school record. The Tuttle, Okla., native put up an impressive four to one touchdown to interception ratio and set the program record at the time for touchdown passes with 40 and twice posted five touchdowns in one game.

Billy Sims (1978)

As a junior, Billy Simms led the nation in rushing as he set a Big Eight single-season rushing record with 1,762 yards on 231 carries. In a school-record four games, the Hooks, Texas, native recorded at least 200 yards. He paced the Sooners to an 11-1 record and a third-place finish nationally.

Steve Owens (1969)

In his Heisman season, Steve Owens tallied 1,523 yards on 358 carries and scored a then-school record 23 touchdowns. Owens, who was from Miami, Okla., carried the load for OU’s offense, posting two 200-plus yard games and helping the Sooners to an average of 28.5 points per game.  

Billy Vessels (1952)

OU’s first Heisman winner, Billy Vessels rushed for 1,072 yards on 167 carries and scored 17 touchdowns during his senior season en route to the trophy. Vessels, a Cleveland, Okla., native, was a versatile component of the Sooner offense, even connecting on seven passes for two touchdowns.


Next up, Murray and the No. 4 Sooners will face No. 1 Alabama in the Orange Bowl in a College Football Playoff Semifinal matchup. The game, which will be televised by ESPN, is scheduled for 7 p.m. CT on Dec. 29. To read more about Murray’s Heisman-winning season and to keep an eye on the Sooners in the Orange Bowl, visit