Skip Navigation

Land Acknowledgment

Skip Side Navigation

Land Acknowledgment

Long before the University of Oklahoma was established, the land on which the University now resides was the traditional home of the “Hasinais” Caddo Nation and “Kirikirʔi:s” Wichita & Affiliated Tribes. This land was also once part of the Muscogee Creek and Seminole nations.

We acknowledge this territory once also served as a hunting ground, trade exchange point, and migration route for the Apache, Comanche, Kiowa and Osage nations. Today, 39 federally-recognized Tribal nations dwell in what is now the State of Oklahoma as a result of settler colonial policies designed to assimilate Indigenous peoples.

The University of Oklahoma recognizes the historical connection our university has with its indigenous community. We acknowledge, honor and respect the diverse Indigenous peoples connected to this land. We fully recognize, support and advocate for the sovereign rights of all of Oklahoma’s 39 tribal nations.

This acknowledgement is aligned with our university’s core value of creating a diverse and inclusive community. It is our institutional responsibility to recognize and acknowledge the people, culture and history that make up our entire OU Community.

Additional Resources for learning about the land you are currently on, a guide to acknowledging land and an Ally Toolkit: