Skip Navigation


Distinguished Alumni - 2005

Edward N. Brandt Jr.

('54 BS Math, '60 MD, '63 Ph.D.), representing the natural sciences; Dr. Brandt has established his career in public health policy and administration. He is Regents' Professor Emeritus at OU's Health Sciences Center and has served there as chair of the Department of Health Administration and Policy and the director of the Center for Health Policy.

Fred Harris

('52 BA Political Science/History), representing the social sciences; Harris served in the Oklahoma State Senate from 1956 to 1964, while acting as senior partner in his private law practice. From 1964 to 1973 he continued service in the United States Senate and was a member of the President's National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders. In 1976, he sought the Democratic Party's presidential nomination for president of the United States. Since 1976, Harris has served on the political science faculty at the University of New Mexico.

A. Thomas Loy

('74 BA Letters, '93 MLS), representing the humanities; Loy is the creator of Oklahoma's MetaFund Community Development Corporation, a non-profit organization which functions as a catalyst for building trust, cooperation, and creating stakeholders among historically underserved populations and in distressed regions of Oklahoma.

David Wanser

('72 BA Journalism, '73 MHR, '89 Ph.D., Psychology), representing the professional schools; Wanser has had a full career working for a number of major mental health organizations. He has held several key positions in the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation, including director of NorthSTAR Managed Care, a $100 million program for making mental health care accessible to more citizens.

Peter G. Pierce III

('71 BA Latin), will receive the 2005 College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Service Award. President of First Bethany Bancorp, he also helped found MetaFund with Loy in 1999.