Skip Navigation

Awards and Scholarships

Skip Side Navigation

Annual FMS Awards and Scholarships

Awards and Scholarships

To apply for these awards and scholarships, please use the OU CASH system



Jeanne Hoffman Smith has established a yearly FMS Award of $1,000.00 named for two of the key faculty members responsible for establishing the Film and Video Studies program at OU. The award is to be used for a film or media-related program/workshop or institute anywhere other than OU. Winners may apply the funds to professional or technical training classes, travel to conferences or archives, to provide financial support during unpaid internships, or any other academic opportunity that will supplement the student’s FMS major coursework.

This award is open to Film and Media Studies juniors and seniors who have a major GPA of 3.5 or higher and an overall GPA of 3.2 or higher. Applicants should complete the application form, available on the FMS website, and turn in a one-page description of how they would use the prize money.

NOTE: Must be used within 12 months from date of award.

This award of $1,000 will be given to an OU student to help complete or exhibit a film or video project. This project must be substantially underway or complete, and preference will be given for postproduction and/or exhibition expenses, which may include festival submission fees and travel.

The Ned Hockman Award was established in 2001 in celebration of the man who put filmmaking on the map at the University of Oklahoma. His career at OU spanned forty-two years - from 1945, when he persuaded President Cross to set up a training program in the little known-technology of television - to his retirement in 1987 as a distinguished David Ross Boyd Professor of Journalism.

Any full-time OU undergraduate or graduate student with a film or video project may apply. Students should submit the application form, available on the FMS website, a copy of the film or video project (whether complete or in-progress), and a one- page description of how the student hopes to use the award money.

Ted and Pam Withrow established the C. Clay Withrow Film and Media Studies Writing Award, named in honor of their son, to encourage excellent and imaginative writing about film or other visual media.The candidate must have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher at the time of application, OR must be nominated by an FMS faculty member for the award.

The $1,000 annual prize recognizes the best essay written on a film, television, or media studies topic by an OU undergraduate.

The Andrew S. Horton Screenwriting Award was established in 2013 to honor the Jeanne Hoffman Smith Professor of Film & Media Studies in recognition of his service to the Program, the University, and the profession.

All full-time, regularly enrolled undergraduate students at the University of Oklahoma are eligible for this $1,000 screenwriting prize. Submissions can be for feature-length films, shorts, or they can be partially completed scripts that show great potential.

Full-time Film & Media Studies majors who demonstrate financial need are eligible for this scholarship. Students must be in good standing with the College of Arts & Sciences. 

For more information regarding any of the scholarships, contact the FMS Office at or (405) 325-3020.

Travel Assistance

The fund was established for travel stipends for students to attend conferences, film festivals and various other student development activities that might require travel. Appropriate expenditures include, but are not limited to, airfare, registration expenses and various travel expenses. Recipients must be Film & Media Studies majors or minors enrolled at the University of Oklahoma. Unlike our annual awards, students will NOT apply for this funding through the CASH system. Contact the FMS office for details.