Skip Navigation

Majors & Minors

Skip Side Navigation


The Department of Political Science offers three majors: Political Science, Political Science with a concentration in Elections & Campaign Management, and Public & Nonprofit Administration. Find credit-hour requirements, current check sheets, and course distribution lists.


Learn more about one of our six minors: Political Science, Public Affairs & Administration, Elections & Campaign Management, Intelligence & National Security, Nonprofit Organizational Studies, and Non-Governmental Organizations. 

General Requirements for All Minors

At least six (6) credit hours must be earned in courses acceptable for residence credit by standards set forth by the College of Arts and Sciences, excluding transfer, correspondence, and examination (AP, CLEP, Advanced Standing) credit. Courses for the minor may not be taken Pass/No Pass.

No single course may be used by a student to satisfy a major requirement and a minor requirement. A course may be used, however, to satisfy both a major support requirement and a minor requirement. Requests to substitute a minor requirement must be approved in writing by the Department of Political Science.

The requirements for a minor must be completed concurrently with the major degree requirements. No minor may be added by completing courses after receiving the bachelor’s degree. Minors in the College are available to all undergraduate students at OU. If the minor is officially declared, successfully completed, and noted on the graduation application, the student’s transcript will so indicate at the time the bachelor’s degree is posted.