Skip Navigation

Faculty

Skip Side Navigation

Faculty

Internal RELS Faculty

Deonnie Moodie

Deonnie Moodie is Chair of the Religious Studies department.  She earned her Ph.D. in Religious Studies from Harvard University and M.Div. from Harvard Divinity School. She has a B. A. from Hope College, where she majored in International Studies. Dr. Moodie specializes in South Asian religions, particularly Hinduism. She is especially interested in contemporary temple Hinduism in urban South Asia and the ways in which people of various class backgrounds negotiate these sites as spaces of devotion, memory, monumentality, labor, and leisure. At OU, Prof. Moodie teaches Introduction to Religious Studies, Introduction to Hinduism, Religion and Nationalism in India, a Mondey, Power, and God(s):  Religion and Economy East and West. For more information about her research, click here.

Religious Studies | dmoodie@ou.edu | Office: ROBT 141 | 325-5143

Rangar Cline

Rangar Cline is a historian of the later Roman Empire with research and teaching interests in Roman religions, epigraphy, and archaeology.  His research focuses on the relationship between Greek and Roman religions, early Christianity, and Judaism in the Roman world.  His book Ancient Angels, about angel veneration in the Roman Empire, was published with Brill Press (Leiden, March 2011) in the series “Religions in the Graeco-Roman World.”   His current book project examines the economics of pilgrimage. Click here for Prof. Cline's website.

Religious Studies | rangar.cline@ou.edu | Office: ROBT 146 | 325-5041 

Geoffrey Goble

Geoffrey Goble joined the RELS faculty in the Fall of 2016, from Washington University in St. Louis, where he taught Buddhism and East Asian Religions.  In addition to his introduction to Buddhism, he has introducted courses on Daoism, Tibetan Buddhism, Chinese Religions, and East Asian Religions. Dr. Goble graduated from OU with a Letters degree, earned his MA at the University of Virginia, and his PhD was completed at Indiana University.  For more information on Dr. Goble's research and teaching interests, see his website here.

Religious Studies | gcgoble@ou.edu | Office: ROBT 138 | 325-3118

Jill Hicks-Keeton

Jill Hicks-Keeton (Phd, Duke University) teaches courses on biblical literature, ancient Judaism, and early Christianity. She is the author of Arguing with Aseneth: Gentile Access to Israel's Living God in Jewish Antiquity (Oxford University Press, 2018) and numerous academic articles. She co-edited The Ways that Often Parted (SBL Press, 2018) and has written for the online journals Religion & Politics and Ancient Jew Review. Hicks-Keeton is a 2018 recipient of the Society of Biblical Literature Regional Scholar Award and is currently serving as a Humanities Forum Fellow and a Risser Innovative Teaching Fellow at OU. She is now working on a book entitled Who Owns the Bible? (under contract with Cambridge University Press) that analyzes the recently-opened Museum of the Bible in Washington, D.C. Follow her on Twitter @JillHicksKeeton.  For more on Prof. Hicks-Keeton's research and teaching, click here.

Religious Studies | jhk@ou.edu | Office: ROBT 114 | 325-5554

David Vishanoff

David Vishanoff earned his Ph.D. in West and South Asian Religions, with a focus on Islamic thought, at Emory University, after completing an M.A. in Religious Studies at the University of Colorado. His research is principally concerned with how religious people interpret and conceptualize sacred texts—both their own, and those of other religious traditions. His publications have dealt with Islamic thought, including the early history of Islamic legal theory (The Formation of Islamic Hermeneutics: How Sunni Legal Theorists Imagined a Revealed Law), and with interactions between religious communities, including Muslim rewritings of the Psalms of David. He is presently studying modern Qur’anic hermeneutics, beginning with recent developments in Indonesia, where he spent the spring of 2013 as a Fulbright senior scholar. He teaches upper-level courses on The Qur’an, Islamic Law, and Islamic Theology, as well as comparative courses such as Jesus in the World’s Religions.  Click here for Prof. Vishanoff's website. 

Religious Studies | vishanoff@ou.edu | Office: ROBT 119 | 325-1150


Emeritus Faculty

 

Charles Kimball

Charles Kimball is Presidential Professor Emeritus, and Former Chair of Religious Studies at the University of Oklahoma. Between 1996 and 2008, he served as Chair of the Department of Religion and the Divinity School at Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, NC. During the 2006 fall term, Dr. Kimball was the Rita and William Bell Visiting Professor at the University of Tulsa. He is a graduate of Oklahoma State University and holds the M.Div. degree from The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. He received his Th.D. from Harvard University in comparative religion with specialization in Islamic studies.  Prof. Kimball became the Chair of the Religious Studies Department in 2008, and retired in 2020. Click here for Prof. Kimball's website. 

Religious Studies | kimball@ou.edu | Office: ROBT 112 | 

Core Faculty

The Religious Studies department is governed by core voting faculty.  To be eligible to servce on the core voting faculty, members must regularly teach courses in the Religious Studies curriculum and be willing to attend departmental meetings.

Thomas Burns

Thomas Burns
Professor
Email: tburns@ou.edu
Office: Kaufman 323

Luis Cortest

Luis Cortest
Professor of Spanish
Email: lcortest@ou.edu
Office: Kaufman 130
Director of the Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Marie Dallam

Marie Dallam
Associate Professor
Email: mwdallam@ou.edu
Office: Honors College, DLB Hall
Research: American religion and culture

Kyle Harper

Kyle Harper
Professor, Sr. Vice President & Provost
Email: kyleharper@ou.edu
Office: Evans Hall
Research: Roman Empire and Early Middle Ages

Ori Kritz

Ori Kritz
Associate Professor Hebrew Studies
Email: okritz@ou.edu
Office: Kaufman 209
Research: Modern Hebrew and Yiddish Literature

Scott Johnson

Scott Johnson
Associate Professor Classics & Letters, Joseph F. Paxton Presidential Professor
Email:sfj@ou.edu
Office:  Carnegie 119
Late Antique Literature and Culture

Joshua Landis

Joshua Landis
Associate Professor, IAS
Director of the Center of Middle East Studies
Email: landis@ou.edu
Office: Cate Center 4 # 385
Research: Political Islam, International Relations in the Middle East, Islam, The Modern Middle East, Culture and Society in the Middle East, the US in the Middle East

Alan Levenson

Alan Levenson
Schusterman Professor of Jewish History
Email: alevenson@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 305E
Research: Jewish Intellectual, Literary, and Religious History

Roberta Magnusson

Roberta Magnusson
Associate Professor
Email: rmagnusson@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 822
Research: Medieval European and Italian History

Sam Perry

Sam Perry
Assistant Professor
Email:  samperry@ou.edu
Office:  Kaufman Hall 335A
Research:  Religion, Culture, Families, Race/Ethnicity, Gender/Sexuality, Inequality, Collective Action

Bala Saho

Bala Saho
Associate Professor
Email:  bsaho1@ou.edu
Office:  DAHT 412
Research:  African History, Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries, Colonialism

Carsten Schapkow

Carsten Schapkow
Associate Professor, L. R. Bammer Jr. Presidential Professor
Email: cschapkow@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 316
Research: Jewish History

Cyrus Schleifer

Cyrus Schliefer
Assistant Professor
Email:  cyrus.schleifer@ou.edu
Office:  KAUF 343
Research:  Sociology of Religion, Quantitative Methods, Clergy, Longitudinal/Panel Statistics, Income Inequality

Schmuel Shepkaru

Shmuel Shepkaru
Schusterman Professor of Jewish Intellectual and Religious History
Email: shepkaru@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 305F
Research: Late Antiquity and Medieval Jewish History, Hebrew

Rhona Seidelman

Rhona Seidelman
Assistant Professor
Email:  rds@ou.edu
Office:  DAHT 409D
Research:  Israel, Immigration, Public health, Quarantine

Jane Wickersham

Jane Wickersham
Associate Professor
Email: jwickersham@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 806
Research: Italian and Reformation History

Affiliated Faculty

All OU faculty members who have an interest in the Religious Studies Program, and wish to be affiliated with it, are eligible to be so designated, and can participate in faculty meetings, job talks, deliberations, and other faculty functions. Affiliated faculty do not vote.

NameDepartmentEmail
Peter Barker History of Science
barkerp@ou.edu
David ChappellHistorydchappell@ou.edu
Jeanette DavidsonAfrican & African
 American Studies
jrdavidson@ou.edu
R.C. Davis

World Literature Today

rcdavis@ou.edu
Michael GivelPolitical Sciencemgivel@ou.edu
Allen HertzkePolitical Scienceahertzke@ou.edu
Jill IrvineWomen's and Gender Studies
jill.irvine@ou.edu
Neal JudischPhilosophyneal.judisch@ou.edu
Charles KenneyPolitical Scienceckenney@ou.edu
Kieran MullenPhysics & Astronomykieran@ou.edu
Sean O' NeillAnthropologySean.P.O-Neill-1@ou.edu
Amy OlberdingPhilosophy/International & Area Studiesaolberding@ou.edu
Ann-Marie SyzmanskiPolitical Scienceams@ou.edu
Zev TrachtenbergPhilosophyztrachtenberg@ou.edu
Rienk VermijHistory of Sciencerienk.vermij@ou.edu
Stephen WeldonHistory of Sciencespweldon@ou.edu
Grady WraySpanishgwray@ou.edu
Musharraf ZamanCivil Engineering/Environmental Sciencezaman@ou.edu

Emeritus Faculty

NameDepartmentEmail
Tom BoydPhilosophy of Religiontomboyd@ou.edu
Barbara BoydChristianity, Historical Jesusbarbaraboyd@ou.edu
Dan Snell Ancient Near Eastdcsnell@ou.edu
Norman StillmanJudaic Studies
nstillman@ou.edu
Alan VelieEarly Modern English Literature, Native American Literaturealanvelie.ou.edu