Skip Navigation


Skip Side Navigation

Donate to SLIS or to Student Scholarships

You may donate to SLIS through the OU Foundation. Gifts may be made to the general SLIS account ("SLIS Development"), to the Alumni Association, or to specific scholarship accounts. To specify an account, please use the drop down menu on the donation form (labeled "use my gift for") to select the account to which you would like to donate.

Donate Here

SLIS also has two scholarships that are through the OU Regents and not through the OU Foundation. These two scholarships do not appear on the donation form drop-down menu. These two are the Roberta Roads Allen Scholarship and the Phillip Farish Scholarship.

Following are brief descriptions of the SLIS scholarships that have separate Foundation accounts.

Dr. Frances Laverne Carroll (1925 – 2012) received a bachelor of science in education from the Kansas State Teachers College in 1948, a master of arts in Library Science from the University of Denver, Colorado in 1956, and a Ph.D. in general education from the University of Oklahoma in 1970. She was a professor of Library Science at OU SLIS from 1962 to 1986. This scholarship was established in 2007 and is for full-time master’s students and requires applicants to submit an essay and an application form with their advisor’s signature.

H. W. Wilson Publishing Company is a long-standing company in the LIS field. They established their scholarhip with SLIS in 1994.

Jesse Lee Rader founded OU's School of Library Science and served as director for three decades. This scholarship was established in his name in 1981.

Julian Rothbaum was an OU alum, an ardent supporter of the university, and a member of the OU Board of Regents and the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. He established a number of awards, scholarships, and endowed professorships at OU. 

Clarice Marie Springer Hollingsworth received a BA from OU and took courses towards a Master's of Library Science from Columbia University. She established three scholarships at OU.

Floy Elliott Cobb was an English teacher at Central High School in Tulsa and a principal at Drumright, in Drumright, OK. This scholarship was established in 1983.

Dr. Lotsee Patterson received a Master’s in Library Science (1969) and a Doctorate in Educational Technology (1979), both from the University of Oklahoma.  She was a professor in the University of Oklahoma’s School of Library and Information Studies from 1991 to 2008. She was instrumental in founding the American Indian Library Association (est. 1979) and through her membership in the National Commission on Libraries and Information Science (NCLIS), she secured federal funding for tribal libraries, benefitting the Native American tribes in Oklahoma in providing library services. This scholarship was established in 1994 and is for students who have documented enrollment in a federally recognized tribe with preference for those living and working in the Native American community. Students must be enrolled in at least 6 graduate credit hours, and may not receive the award for more than 2 consecutive years.

Mary Angus Sherman received a Master of Library Science from the University of Oklahoma. She served as the director of the Pioneer Library System and has been active on several boards at the University, including the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of International Studies, the Foundation Board of the Trustees and the University Library System. She was the Oklahoma Library Association President from 1982 to 1983 and also received OLA’s Oklahoma Library Legend Award.

Mildred Laughlin was an OU professor with a passion for children's and young adult literature and services. She founded the Festival of Books, the Sequoyah Young Adult Book Award, received the Oklahoma Library Association’s Distinguished Service Award, and was named an Oklahoma Library Legend. This scholarship is for students who focus on children’s or young adult services in school or public libraries, and requires a nomination by School of Library and Information Studies faculty member and an essay.

Nannie B. Trammell (1918 – 1971) was born in Pawhuska, OK. She attended the University of New Mexico, Oklahoma City University, and received her bachelor’s in Library Science from the University of Oklahoma in 1937. This scholarship was established in 1993.

The OSLA scholarship account was presented by students to a long-time faculty member of SLIS at the Spring 1976 annual meeting of the Oklahoma Student Librarians Association. The scholarship is for students with a focus on children’s or young adult services in schools or public libraries, or teaching school librarianship.

The School celebrated its 75th Diamond Jubilee Celebration in 2004. The year's events culminated with a dinner at the Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History and a commemorative plaque. The SLIS 75th Anniversary Scholarship was established as part of this celebration.

Irma Rayne Tomberlin acquired dual bachelor’s degrees at Louisiana State University’s flagship campus in Baton Rouge, her home town and place of birth, followed by a Master’s of Library Science from the University of Oklahoma. She worked in several libraries within the University of Oklahoma, including art librarian, assistant reference librarian and interlibrary loan librarian before becoming a faculty member in the School of Library Science, also serving as its associate, then acting, director of the school. This scholarship requires a nomination by a SLIS faculty member and an essay. The scholarship is awarded by the OU SLIS Alumni Association.