Skip Navigation

Graduate Student Award 2022

Skip Side Navigation
May 2022

Congratulations to the 2021 Graduate Student Award Winners

Each year, the sociology department presents two graduate students awards for excellence in research, teaching/TA work, and service to the department. These are the highest honor presented by our department to our graduate students and all awards winner are nominated by a professor with the winners decided by departmental committee.

2022 Outstanding Master’s Student Award

The 2022 Outstanding Master’s Student Award was presented Tiffanie Vo. Tiffanie has demonstrated excellence in her Research, Service, and dedication to public sociology during her time at OU Sociology.  She  has successfully defended  her Master’s thesis "Parenthood Premiums and Penalties among Asian American Workers: Exploring the Income Differences across Gender, Marriage, and Parenthood" and has been admitted and will be attending the University of Indiana, Bloomington PhD program in sociology in fall 2022.

The 2022 Outstanding Doctoral Student Award



The 2022 Outstanding Doctoral Student Award was presented to Haifan Xiao. During her time in our department, Haifan  has excelled in her research and the classroom. Haifan  is currently preparing her disertation proposal.

Each year, the sociology department awards a series of funded summer research oportunities thanks to the generous donations of Harold Grasmick and Helen Riddle. Each funded project will each receive $3000 to dedicate to their research and they will present their research in the departments spring symposium. Conglations to each award winner (listed with faculty advisor) and good luck on the research this summer! 


  • Rin Ferraro & Dr. Cyrus Schleifer: "Shifting the Double Shift: Income Differences among Working Remotely Due to COVID and the Motherhood Penalty and Fatherhood Premium"
  • Sally Wiser & Dr. Trina Hope: "Illicit Masculinity and Marijuana use"
  • Haifan Xiao & Dr. Martin Piotrowski: "Examining Europeans’ attitudes toward Immigrants: The winners and losers"
  • Bria Schwartz & Dr. John Leverso:  "Pulling The Short Straw: The Intersection of Girls, Gangs, & Juvenile Detention" 
  • Elizabeth McElroy & Dr. Sam Perry:  "Sacred Subordination: Gender Ideology and Sexual Satisfaction Outcomes Among Christian Women"
  • Oyin Okuwa & Dr. Loretta Bass:  "Experience with Racism and Mental Health Outcomes for Adolescent Children" 


Congratulations to all of our award winners and we look forward to see your research next year!