Skip Navigation

Graduate Students

Skip Side Navigation

Graduate Students

Matthew D. Bejar


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: mdbejar@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his
Research: Crime/Deviance, Theoretical Criminology, Family, and Courtship/Marriage

Emily R.D. Bonner


 

MA Student
Email: emily.bonner@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interest:  Race and Ethnicity, Stratification, Race and Environmental Studies, Environmental Justice, Religion

Aaron Brown


 

 

MA Student
Email: aaron.b.brown@ou.edu
Research Interest:  Crime and Delinquency, Online Extremist Groups, Sociology of Religion, Police Reform.

 

 

Kyle Callen


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: Kyle.L.Callen-1@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his
Research Interests: Social Theory, Sociology of Knowledge, Sexualities, Identity, Native American Studies, Disability Studies

Bella Chiareli


 

PhD Student
Email: isabella.chiareli@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Medical Sociology, Women & Gender Studies, Immigration, Cross National Comparative Studies, Mixed Methods

Sarah Connelly


 

PhD Student
Email:
sarahee@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Education and Stratification

Joshua Davis


PhD Candidate
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: jdavis@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his
Research Interests: Crime and Delinquency, Punishment, Race and Ethnicity, Religion, Political Sociology

Natalie D. Dickson


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: ndickson@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her
Research: Higher Education, Stratification & Inequality (race/gender/class), Mixed Methods, Medical Sociology

Rin Ferraro


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: ferraro@ou.edu
Pronouns: they/them/theirs
Research Interests: Child Abuse and Neglect, Sociology of Family,  Quantitative Methods, Early Childhood

Lauren Fishel


 

PhD Student
Email:  lfishel@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research: Sociology of Violence,  Extremism & Radicalization, Social Identity, Political Sociology, Ideology and Social Contagion 

Kenneth E. Frantz


 

MA Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: kenneth.e.frantz-1@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his
Research Interests: Religion, Politics, Gender, Public Sociology

Personal Website

 

Ami Mariko Hood Frost


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: afrost@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Women & Gender, Race & Ethnicity, Stratification, Family, Religion, Mental Health

 

 

Elizabeth “Beth” M. Green


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: beth.green@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Intimate Partner Homicides, Quantitative Methods, Criminology, Gender

Andi Hamilton


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: andi.hamilton@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Crime, Family, Adverse Childhood Experiences, Decision-Making of Stakeholders in Child Sexual Abuse Cases

Peyman Hekmatpour


PhD Candidate
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: peyman.hekmatpour@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his
Research Interests: Cross-National Sociology, Quantitative Analyses, Environmental Sociology, and Sociology of Religion

Personal Website

Meredith Ille


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: Meredith.L.Ille-1@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Mass murder, Familicide, Genocide, Solitary confinement and mental health, and Corrections

Andrew D. Joyce


 

MA Student
Email: andrew.d.joyce-1@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his
Research Interests:  religion, education,  stratification, mixed methods

Jessie Laljer


 

PhD Candidate
Email: 
Jessie.Laljer@ou.edu
Pronouns: any
Research Interests: Family, Gender, LGBTQ, and Gender Nonconformity

Heather Lepper-Pappan


 

PhD Student 
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email:
 Heather.lepper-pappan@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her or they/them
Research Interests: Criminology and Deviance, Family, Child Abuse and Neglect, LGBTQ and social justice issues

Carrie McLachlin Leslie


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email:carriemcleslie@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Environmental Sociology, Development Sociology, Women and Gender, Indigenous Studies, Social Movements, Cross-national Sociology

Matthew S. Loflin


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Pronouns: he/him/his
Email: msloflin@ou.edu
Research Interests: Ethnicity/Race, Class Stratification, Criminology

Melissa Maxey


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: mmaxey@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Family, Stratification and Inequality, Education, Family, Research Methods

Elizabeth McElroy


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: elizabeth.mcelroy@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Sexuality, Religion, Gender Development, Social Contagion, Reducing Exploitation of Vulnerable Populations, Cross-Cultural Experiences

Tess McGee


 

BA/MA Student
Email: teresa.k.mcgee-1@ou.edu
Pronouns: they/them
Research Interests: Gender nonconformity, deviance, social control, social stratification, sociology of family

 

Oyindamola A. Okuwa


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: oyin.okuwa@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: International Migration, Comparative Political Economy of Development, Family and Children. 

Wyatt Schmitz


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: wyatt@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his
Research Interests: Cross national comparative studies and Demographics (with international focus)

Bria Schwartz


 

MA Student
Email: bcschwartz@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Criminology, Women and GenderSstudies, Marriage and Family, Female Gangs, Women and Families in Poverty, LGBTQIA+ 

Tacey M. Shurtliff


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: taceyshurtliff@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Criminology, Race and Ethnicity, Adolescence, Delinquency and Family

Marianne E. Smith


 

PhD Student
Email: m.e.smith@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Stratification, Social Control, Race, Immigration, Nationalism, Media  

Jackie Switzer


 

PhD Student
Email: jackieswitzer@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his
Research Interests: Criminology and Deviance, Class Stratification

Kelly Tabbutt


 

PhD Student
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: Kelly.M.Tabbutt@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Native Nations Sovereignty, US Colonialism, Sociology of Law, Race/Ethnicity, Criminology/Deviance, Policy Evaluation/Analysis

Abigail Renee Tessmer


 

MA Student
Email: tess0000@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her
Research Interests: Queer Studies, Queer Surveillance, Transgender/Non-Binary Studies, Feminist Theory, Social Control

Gehrig Thurston


 

MA Student
Email: gthurston@ou.edu
Pronouns: they/them/theirs
Research Interests: Inequality and Stratification, Gender and Sexuality, Social Stigma, Public Policy

 

 

Brynn Vaughan


 

BA/MA Student
Email: brynnvaughan@ou.edu
Research Interest: Stratification, Social Control, Race, Political Sociology, Gender

Sally Wiser


 

PhD Student
Email: Sally.m.wiser-1@ou.edu
Research Interest: Crime and Deviance, Family, Juvenile Delinquency, Women in Prison

Alexandra D. Wood


 

BA/MA Student
Email: alexandrawood@ou.edu
Research Interests: Mass Violence, Crime and Deviance, Terrorism, Destructive Religious Movements, Criminology

Haifan Xiao


 

PhD Student
Email: hfxiao@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Demography, Race and Ethnicity, Asian American Studies, Social Stratification

Abby Young


 


PhD Candidate
Curriculum Vitae (pdf)
Email: s.abby.baker@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Research Interests: Gender, Quantitative Methods, Sociology Education, Educational Expectations, Structural Equations Modeling