Skip Navigation
Electrical & Computer EngineeringThe University of OklahomaElectrical & Computer Engineering

Faculty Research Interests

Barnes, Ronald Assistant Professor; Ph.D., University of Illinois-Urbana/Champaign, 2005. Computer micro-architecture; compilers; computer hardware and software design and co-design. E-mail: ron@ou.edu

Cheng, Samuel  Assistant Professor, TCOM, Tulsa; Ph.D., Texas A&M University, 2004. Information theory, image and signal processing for medical application, pattern recognition. E-mail: samuel.cheng@ou.edu

Commuri, Sesh Associate Professor; Ph.D., Texas-Arlington, 1996. Intelligent systems, robotics, embedded real-time control. E-mail: scommuri@ou.edu

Cruz, J. R.  Professor and Tilley Chair; Ph.D., Houston-University Park, 1980. Digital communications, signal processing. E-mail: jcruz@ou.edu

Ding, Lei Assistant Professor; Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2007. Biomedical imaging, neural engineering. E-mail: leiding@ou.edu

Havlicek, Joseph  Professor; Ph.D., Texas-Austin, 1996. Signal and image processing, multimedia communications, nonlinear and AM-FM signal models, Kalman filtering, intelligent transportation systems. E-mail: joebob@ou.edu

Jiang, John (Ning)  Associate Professor, and OG&E Professor; Ph.D., University of Texas, 2005. Estimation, analysis, control of physical and financial risks for deregulated energy industry. E-mail: jnjiang@ou.edu

Lee, Samuel C.  Professor; Ph.D., Illinois, 1965. Medical imaging, computer disease diagnosis, pattern recognition, artificial intelligence, computer expert systems, signal and image processing, fuzzy logic systems, neural networks. E-mail: samlee@ou.edu

Liu, Hong Charles & Jean Smith Chair of Bioengineering/Professor, Ph.D., Worcester Polytechnic Inst., 1990. Biomedical imaging/biomedical engineering. E-mail: liu@ou.edu

McCann, Patrick J.  George Lynn Cross Research Professor; Ph.D., MIT, 1990. IV-VI semiconductor lasers, tunable diode laser spectroscopy, optoelectronic integrated circuits. E-mail: pmccann@ou.edu

Refai, Hazem Hejjo  Williams Professor, TCOM, Tulsa; Ph.D., Oklahoma, 1999. Modeling and simulation in wireless telecommunication, VoIP, network design and optimization, network traffic modeling. E-mail: hazem@ou.edu

Runolfsson, Thordur Professor; Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1988. Systems and control, complex dynamical systems, uncertainty analysis, modeling and simulation, power systems and energy efficiency. E-mail: runolfsson@ou.edu

Shi, Zhisheng  Professor; Ph.D., Freiburg (Germany), 1995. Semiconductor thin film growth, optoelectronic devices (lasers and detectors), broadband integrated circuits. E-mail: shi@ou.edu

Sluss, James J. Jr. Morris R. Pitman Professor, ECE/TCOM, and ECE Director; Ph.D., Virginia, 1989. Fiber-optic transmission systems, intelligent transportation systems, telecommunications, broadband networks. E-mail: sluss@ou.edu

Tang, Choon Yik  Assistant Professor; Ph.D., University of Michigan, 2003. Wireless communications and networking (link adaptation, resource allocation, protocol design, distributed estimation/control/optimization), systems and control theory. E-mail: cytang@ou.edu

Verma, Pramode Williams Professor and TCOM Director, Tulsa; Ph.D., Concordia University (Montreal), 1970. Telecommunication networks, networking technology, interoperability. E-mail: pverma@ou.edu

Yang, Rui  Professor; Ph.D., Nanjing University, 1987. Solid state devices; interband cascade structures for lasers and detectors. E-mail: rui.q.yang@ou.edu

Yeary, Mark Presidential Professor; Ph.D., Texas A & M, 1999. Digital signal processing, as applied to radar signal processing, digital communications, image processing, adaptive filter design, and customized embedded DSP systems.  In addition:  new educational models and effective pedagogy for interdisciplinary learning. E-mail: yeary@ou.edu

Yu, Tian-You Gerald Tuma Presidential Professor; Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2000. Remote sensing, radar signal processing. E-mail: tyu@ou.edu

Zhang, Yan (Rockee) Associate Professor; Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2004. Intelligent radio and radar sensing, RF-microwave systems and instrumentation, random signal and Low-Probability-of-Intercept (LPI) radar, real-time system implementation on FPGA and DSP. E-mail: rockee@ou.edu

Adjunct Faculty and Their Research

Chilson, Phillip Associate Professor, Meteorology; Ph.D., Clemson, 1993. Atmospheric layered phenomena and their interactions with background wind field using profiling atmospheric radars; development of spatial and frequency interferometry. E-mail: chilson@ou.edu

Palmer, Robert Professor, Meteorology; Ph.D., Oklahoma, 1989. Array processing techniques for weather radar, meteorological phenomena using Doppler radar, development of innovative radar interferometric techniques, adaptive array applications for wireless communications. E-mail: rpalmer@ou.edu

Pei, Jinsong Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Ph.D., Columbia, 2001. System identification, simulation and control of linear and nonlinear systems, neural networks, digital signal processing and numerical analysis. E-mail: jspei@ou.edu

Zhang, Guifu Associate Professor, Meteorology; Ph.D., Washington, 1998. Radar polarimetry and interferometry for weatherquantification and forecasting, wave interactions propagation with geophysical media. E-mail: guzhang1@ou.edu