Skip Navigation

Vision Statement and Mission

Vision: The Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication will be an outstanding journalism and mass communication program with excellence in student and faculty achievement, distinctive programs, and service to the profession.

Mission: To educate producers and consumers of existing and emerging forms of public communication, and to instill in them the value of freedom of expression, intellectual and cultural diversity, critical thinking, creativity, ethics, professional skills, and social responsibility.


  • One of the largest colleges at the University of Oklahoma
  • Formerly known as the H.H. Herbert School of Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Achieved college status in July 2000 after 85 years with a $22 million gift from the Gaylord family
  • Founding member of the Accrediting Council for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (ACEJMC), 1945, formerly American Council on Education in Journalism
  • Home of the Native American Journalists Association (NAJA)
  • Headquarters for the Oklahoma Scholastic Media/OIPA, the oldest continuing secondary school press organization in the world
  • Apple Distinguished Program


  • Dean, Joe S. Foote
  • Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, David Craig
  • Assistant Dean for Student Affairs & Administration, John Hockett
  • Director of Graduate Studies, Meta G. Carstarphen
  • Founding Dean, Charles C. Self


The college has several endowed positions, including:

  • Joe S. Foote, Gaylord Chair
  • Charles Self, Edward L. Gaylord Endowed Chair
  • Maureen Taylor, Gaylord Family Endowed Chair
  • Meta Carstarphen, Gaylord Family Endowed Professor
  • Peter Gade, Gaylord Family Endowed Professor

25 tenure-track faculty lines

  • 9 full professors
  • 9 associate professors
  • 6 assistant professors
  • 1 open line which will remain unfilled until further notice

30 practitioner instructors and adjuncts

  • 12 full-time instructors
  • 18 part-time adjunct professors


  • The University of Oklahoma maintains addresses for more than 152,000 alumni in the U.S.
  • More than 9,000 alumni have undergraduate and/or graduate degrees in journalism
  • Current enrollment within the Gaylord College is more than 1,200
  • Mozelle Richardson is the oldest person to graduate from the Gaylord College. She completed her bachelor’s degree in professional writing in the spring of 2004 at the age of 90. She is among the world’s oldest college graduates according to The Guinness Book of World Records.


  • Bachelor of Arts in Journalism with majors in advertising, journalism, professional writing, public relations, and broadcasting and electronic media
  • Master of Arts in Journalism with emphases in journalism, mass communication management, strategic communication or media arts
  • Master of Professional Writing
  • Ph.D. in Mass Communication with emphases in news and information, strategic communication or media arts