Skip Navigation
OU Public Affairs WebsiteThe University of OklahomaPublic Affairs

TU, OU Move Forward to Expand the Community Medical School in Tulsa to a Four-Year Program



CONTACT: OU Public Affairs, (405) 325-1701

TULSA – The University of Tulsa and the University of Oklahoma recently signed a memorandum of understanding further advancing the partnership that has formed the Tulsa School of Community Medicine.

This document begins the process of seeking approval from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education to expand the Tulsa School of Community Medicine’s four-year educational track.

The first-year class will enter the school in 2015 and will consist of 25 students, with enrollment expected to grow over time.

The Tulsa School of Community Medicine does not require any new state dollars to expand from a two-year to a four-year program. The new school is funded entirely by private donors, including major gifts from the George Kaiser Family Foundation, the William K. Warren Foundation, Oxley Foundation, Mervin Bovaird Foundation, Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation, A.R. and Marylouise Tandy Foundation, Leta McFarlin Chapman Memorial Trust and Saint Francis Health System.

“We are proud to partner with TU, one of the nation’s leading private universities,” said OU President David L. Boren. “By working together, we will be able to train more M.D.s for underserved areas in Tulsa and northeastern Oklahoma. We are excited that we will be able to expand our current program with TU.”

“We are honored to participate in the expansion of medical education in Tulsa with the University of Oklahoma,” said TU President Steadman Upham. “The University of Tulsa’s mission includes serving our community, and the Tulsa School of Community Medicine will play a significant role in improving the lives of those who have had difficulty accessing health care in the past.”

The governing boards of both universities recently approved moving forward to create the Tulsa School of Community Medicine. 

 2014  |  2013  |  2012  |  2011

April 2015

OU Commencement to Feature Cornell University President-Elect, Photo Highlights of Graduating Class and Music

Five OU Faculty Named Presidential Teaching Fellows in Joe C. and Carole Kerr McClendon Honors College

University of Oklahoma Professor, OU Alumna Receive Apple Distinguished Educator Awards 

OU Alumnus Named Special Assistant to the Vice President for the University Community

OU Designated Big 12 Conference Champion in EPA’s College and University Green Power Challenge

OU President David L. Boren Announces $30 Million in Gifts to Name College of Engineering and Establish New School of Biomedical Engineering

OU and Nanowave Technologies Inc. Enter into Research Agreement

Four OU Students Receive Boren Awards for International Study

2014-2015 OU President's Trophy Winners Announced

OU Engineering Professors among Nation's Best 'Young Investigators'

Oklahoma Water Survey Plans Water Reuse Workshops

OU Students to Serve Hispanic Communities During "Big Event" Day of Community Service

OU’s Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center on List of Most Beautiful Conservatories, Schools of Music

Honorary Degree Recipients to be Honored at OU Commencement Friday, May 8

April 17 Dedication Ceremony Scheduled for Hester Hall, Home of OU College of International Studies

Cornell University President-Elect Elizabeth Garrett to Deliver OU's 2015 Commencement Address

Gary England to Lead New Severe Weather Series Featured on OU's Janux Platform

Two OU Students Receive Goldwater Honors

OU Physicists First to Create New Molecule with Record-Setting Dipole Moment

OU Makes History with Record-Setting Number of Freshman National Merit Scholars

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or