Skip Navigation

Helmerich School of Drama

Skip Carousel Content

The University of Oklahoma is committed to achieving an equitable, diverse, and inclusive university community by recognizing each person’s unique contributions, background, and perspectives.  The University of Oklahoma strives to cultivate a sense of belonging and emotional support for all, recognizing that fostering an inclusive environment for all is vital in the pursuit of academic and inclusive excellence in all aspects of our institutional mission.

Skip Side Navigation

Drama Students and Faculty Win Awards at 2023 Southwest United States Institute for Theatre Technology Winter Symposium


Interim Director, Helmerich School of Drama
Professor - Scenic Design

Design & Production Area Coordinator
2016 Rothbaum Presidential Professor of Excellence in the Arts

Jon Young (he/him/his) is a Full Professor of Scenic Design at the University of Oklahoma and a proud member of USA 829. Young is a 2020 inductee to the membership of the National Theatre Conference, a recipient of the 2016 Rothbaum Presidential Professor of Excellence in the Arts from the University of Oklahoma, and a 2015 recipient of the Gold Medallion from the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival.

Young has designed professionally for Houston Shakespeare Festival, Stages Repertory Theatre, Creede Repertory Theatre, Lyric Theatre of Oklahoma, Black Hills Playhouse, Unicorn Theatre, Late Night Theatre, and Coterie Theatre. Young has designed over 30 productions at the University of Oklahoma for Dance, Drama, Opera and Musical Theatre. His design for Stupid F##king Bird at Stages Repertory Theatre was published in the Summer 2016 issue TD & T. Designs for Sunday in the Park with George and The Odyssey were published in the Summer 2012 issue TD & T. His scenic design for After Juliet was invited to be a part of the World Stage Design 2009 exhibit in Seoul Korea. 

Follow his work: @youngscenicstudio 

Helmerich School of Drama faculty and students attended the 2023 Southwest United States Institute for Theatre Technology winter symposium held in Frisco, Texas, to participate in workshops and design competitions.

Kellen Sapp, Abby Knauber, Associate Professor of Costume Design Lloyd Cracknell, Cassi Crain and Erasmo Salinas were awarded for their work in performing arts design:

  • Kellen Sapp, a lighting design sophomore, won the Recognition in Lighting Design Award
  • Abby Knauber, a scenic design junior, won the 2023 Archibald-Texas Scenic Scholarship Award
  • Cassi Crain, a lighting design senior, won the Don Child’s Schuler-Shook Award
  • Erasmo Salinas, a scenic design junior, won the Excellence in Technical Direction Award
  • Professor Lloyd Cracknell was awarded the Oscar Brockett Teaching Award

“I am always impressed by the results our students have in regional and national competitions,” said Jon Young, interim director of the Helmerich School of Drama. “It is a true testament to their talent and commitment as young artists. I also want to say thanks to our dedicated faculty and professional staff within the College of Fine Arts and the School of Drama for their commitment to teaching our students” .

Why choose the University of Oklahoma?

Drama performance major Jackie Simmons sat down with OU Admissions & Recruitment and shared her Sooner experience and why she chose the Helmerich School of Drama.

OU Together: COVID-19 Resources


The University of Oklahoma has resumed  in-person classes at regular capacity university-wide for the fall 2021 semester. 

OU TOGETHER serves as a centralized, evolving resource for our Norman campus operations. Please visit frequently for the latest information. Find information about COVID-19 resources and masking protocols here.


Long before the University of Oklahoma was established, the land on which the University now resides was the traditional home of the “Hasinais” Caddo Nation and “Kirikirʔi:s” Wichita & Affiliated Tribes.

We acknowledge this territory once also served as a hunting ground, trade exchange point, and migration route for the Apache, Comanche, Kiowa and Osage nations. 

Today, 39 tribal nations dwell in the state of Oklahoma as a result of settler and colonial policies that were designed to assimilate Native people.

The University of Oklahoma recognizes the historical connection our university has with its indigenous community. We acknowledge, honor and respect the diverse Indigenous peoples connected to this land. We fully recognize, support and advocate for the sovereign rights of all of Oklahoma’s 39 tribal nations. This acknowledgement is aligned with our university’s core value of creating a diverse and inclusive community. It is an institutional responsibility to recognize and acknowledge the people, culture and history that make up our entire OU Community.