Skip Navigation

Student Success and Awards

Skip Side Navigation

Student Success and Awards

Provost's Awards

To recognize and reward outstanding performance by graduate students, the Office of the Provost initiated two annual awards—the Ph.D. Dissertation Prize and the Graduate Teaching Assistant Award—in Spring 1990.

Past Winners

The Nancy L. Mergler Dissertation Completion Fellowship is an award for Ph.D. candidates who are in the final phases of dissertation writing. The purpose of the award is to recognize especially meritorious projects and to support their completion. Seven one-time awards of $15,000 are granted for each academic year on a competitive basis to the most outstanding proposals. A call for applications is announced each December. A selection committee of current faculty from across campus reviews the applications and selects recipients in the spring. All Ph.D. candidates in Norman-Campus programs who will prospectively complete their degree in the coming academic year are eligible to apply.

The Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost recognizes and honors the hard work and dedication of graduate students who teach at OU by awarding the Provost’s Certificate of Distinction for Outstanding Graduate Assistant Teaching. Recipients of this honor are among the top 10 percent of all graduate teaching assistants across campus by student evaluations.

Graduate Fellows

Over one hundred of the University of Oklahoma's finest graduate students receive funding for their degree programs through OU's prestigious fellowship awards. These fellowships are funded through generous contributions from private donors, sponsoring corporations, the federal government, the OU Foundation, and various OU colleges and departments.

Pat Tillman Scholars

Jason Poudrier is the University of Oklahoma's newest Tillman Scholar. He is pursuing a Ph.D. in Instructional Leadership and Academic Curriculum with a concentration in English Education.

Read Jason's Bio

Past Tillman Scholars include Emily Junkins (pursuing Ph.D. in Microbiology) and Ashley LaRue (M.A. International Relations, 2017).