Skip Navigation

OU's Approved English-Speaking Countries

Skip Side Navigation

Approved English-Speaking Countries at OU

The University of Oklahoma defines a "first language" or "native" speaker of English as someone who has completed all requirements for and graduated from an accredited high school in one of the countries below. Such individuals do not need to be certified for English capacity to instruct in an OU course.

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize (British Honduras)
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Canada (except Quebec)
  • Cayman Islands
  • Channel Islands
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Grenada
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • Jersey
  • Guam (U.S. citizens)
  • Guernsey
  • Guyana (not Ghana in Africa)
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • New Zealand
  • St. Kitts and Nevis (St. Christopher and Nevis)
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • South Africa
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks & Caicos Islands
  • United Kingdom (England, Wales,
  • Scotland, Northern Ireland)
  • U.S. Virgin Islands