Skip Navigation

Main Seminars

Skip Side Navigation

Main Seminars

SpeakerTitleDate Time

Simon
Levin 

website

Mathemathical ecology: A century of
progress, and challenges for the next
century (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/32nPZ6Q

Sept. 16, 20208:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

James
Tiedje 

website

Assessing the past and future of
microbial ecology: The foundation
of the biosphere (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3eBS7N1

Sept. 23, 20208:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Bruce
Rittmann

website

Understanding the Biofilm Anode
in Microbial Electrochemical Cells
(MXCs) (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/2IjLp24

Sept. 30, 20208:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Paul
Falkowski

website

The Origin and Emergence of Global
Coupled Biogeochemical Cycles (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/38kXoaJ
More: https://bit.ly/3n2gFln

Oct. 14, 2020
8:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Richard
Luthy

website

The Urban Water Revolution:
Sustainable Water Supplies for
Semi-arid Cities (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/358AvWg

Oct. 21 (US),
Oct. 22 (GMT,
Beijing), 2020
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Mary
Firestone

website

Water in Soil: the Basis for Terrestrial
System Functioning (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3qAY2Yt

Oct. 28 (US),
Oct. 29 (GMT,
Beijing), 2020
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

William
Schlesinger

website

Carbon Sequestration in Soils to
Mitigate Global Climate Change (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/35x7UtM

Nov. 4, 20208:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

Rita
Colwell

website

Climate, Oceans and Human Health:
What Cholera can teach us about
COVID-19 (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3lDWdX3

Nov. 11, 20208:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

Peter B.
Reich

website

The strength of simplicity and
the challenge of complexity:
traits, trade-offs, and scaling in an
era of multiple global changes (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/2UXO8RS

Nov. 18, 20208:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

James S.
Clark

website

Continent-wide change driven by
indirect climate effects on fecundity
(PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/39GC6VG

Nov. 25, 20208:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

Peter
Vitousek

website

Pacific Islands as Model Systems for
Understanding Ecosystems and
Human-Environment Interaction (PDF)

Video: http://bit.ly/2KsUaZ2

Dec. 2 (US),
Dec. 3 (GMT,
Beijing), 2020
7:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Jim
Elser

website

Biological stoichiometry of nutrient
limitation in ecology, evolution, and
sustainability (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/37jHQDs

Dec. 9 (US),
Dec. 10 (GMT,
Beijing), 2020
7:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Peter
Kareiva

website

The Science of Science Communication:
Dealing with Complexity and Uncertainty
(PDF)

Dec. 16 (US),
Dec. 17 (GMT,
Beijing), 2020
7:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Bruce E.
Logan

website

You need to learn more about your
daily energy use and carbon emissions
to better understand the challenges of
slowing climate change (PDF)

Video: http://bit.ly/2MCRrgL

Jan. 20, 20218:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

James
Galloway

website

Nitrogen Out of the Bottle: The
Challenge of Managing the Genie (PDF)

Video: http://bit.ly/3tfGT7Q

Jan. 27, 20218:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm Beijing

James
Estes

website

The historical ecology of an iconic
keystone predator (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3p6jhzo

Feb. 3 (US),
Feb. 4 (GMT,
Beijing), 2021
7:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Gretchen
Daily

website

Valuing Nature in Decisions: From  
Demonstration to Transformation (PDF)

Video: http://bit.ly/2Ocos4r

Mar. 3 (US),
Mar. 4 (GMT,
Beijing), 2021
7:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Mary
Power

website

Floods, drought, and alternate states
in algal-based river food webs (PDF)

Video: http://bit.ly/3tikkij

Mar. 10 (US),
Mar. 11 (GMT,
Beijing), 2021
7:00 pm CST
8:00 pm EST
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

George
Somero

website

Molecular Adaptation to Environmental
Stress: Complementary Roles of Macro-
molecules and “Micromolecules" (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/392u9JA

Mar. 17 (US),
Mar. 18 (GMT,
Beijing), 2021
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

John
Terborgh

website

Zoned vs. mixed plant communities:
how top-down and bottom-up forcing
structures plant communities around
the globe (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/31xQcna

Mar. 24, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Steve
Pacala

website

How to Achieve Net-Zero Greenhouse
Gas Emissions in the United States by
Midcentury (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/2QRVc3M

Mar. 31, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Terry
Chapin

website

Earth Stewardship: A pragmatic
agenda for transformation (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3wWA0d3

Apr. 7 (US),
Apr. 8 (GMT,
Beijing), 2021
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Mathew
Leibold

website

Rethinking metacommunity ecology
- linking pattern and process, is it
possible? (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3dIVyTe

Apr. 14, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Alan
Hastings

website

Transients and the dynamics of
ecological systems (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3o14mHE

Apr. 21 (US),
Apr. 22 (GMT,
Beijing), 2021
7:00 pm CDT
8:00 pm EDT
12:00 am GMT
8:00 am Beijing

Drew
Harvell

website

Host-Pathogen Interactions and the
Sustainability of Marine Ecosystems
(PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3fbe1rs

Apr. 28 (US),
Apr. 29 (GMT,
Beijing), 2021
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Joan
Bennett

website

Fungal volatiles: more than just a
funky smell (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/2RbKMg5

May 5, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Elizabeth
Borer

website

Chasing contingency to discover
generality: climate, nutrients, and
herbivores in Earth’s grasslands (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3fsaia3

May 12, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Steven
Lindow

website

Understanding microbial life on leaves
(PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/34qqthK

May 19 (US),
May 20 (GMT,
Beijing), 2021
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Nancy
Knowlton

website

Earth Optimism: Changing the
Conservation Conversation and the
Earth's Trajectory (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3hh2Ez8

May 26, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Glen
Daigger

website

Travels Through the World of Water
(PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/2UOlKoI

Jun 2, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Stephen
Palumbi

website

The adaptive capacity of marine species
in the face of climate change:
heat tolerance, phenotypic plasticity
and genome evolution in corals (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3A0RuXT

Jun 9 (US),
Jun 10 (GMT,
Beijing), 2021
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Colin
Murrell

website

The role of bacteria in the biogeo-
chemical cycling of isoprene, a much
neglected atmospheric trace gas (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3xwJoEq

Jun 16, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Phil
Hugenholtz

website

Microbial taxonomy run amok? (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3haUWI3

Jun 23 (US),
Jun 24 (GMT,
Beijing), 2021
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Mimi
Koehl

website

Locomoting in a turbulent environment:
Ways to study microscale processes
in a large-scale ocean (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/2UBJcFw

Jun 30 (US),
Jul 1 (GMT,
Beijing), 2021
8:00 pm CDT
9:00 pm EDT
1:00 am GMT
9:00 am Beijing

Willy
Verstraete

website

Engineering microbial cleantech for
environmental sustainability (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3hAReY7

Sep. 1, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Jonathan
Levine

website

Understanding species responses to
climate change: the role of population
and community ecology (PDF)

Sep. 8, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

John
Crittenden

website

Gigatechnology: Developing
Sustainable Urban Infrastructure
to Solve Gigaton Problems (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/2Ya2xA0

Sep. 15, 2021
8:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Joan
Rose

website

The World of Environmental
Virology (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/3D3MQZP

Sep. 22, 2021
8:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing

Douglas
Capone

website

Marine Mosaics: Emerging Patterns of
Nitrogen Fixation in the Oceans (PDF)

Video: https://bit.ly/2WSqyL3

Sep. 29, 20218:00 am CDT
9:00 am EDT
1:00 pm GMT
9:00 pm Beijing