Skip Navigation

Day 3

Skip Side Navigation

iFAST Environmental Biotechnology - Day 3

Date: Dec 18, 2021

Time:  10:00 am - 12:30 pm U.S. ET
            3:00 pm - 5:30 pm GMT
            11:00 pm - (Dec.19) 1:30 am China

U.S. Eastern Standard Time

10:00 am - 10:05 am

Introduction to today’s session

Bruce Rittmann, Arizona State University

10:05 am - 10:35 am

University Professor
B.Eng., M.Eng (McGill), Ph.D. (Stanford), P.Eng.
Canada Research Chair in Anaerobic Biotechnology
Principal Investigator, Biodegraders Research Group
Director, BioZone – Centre for Applied Bioscience and Bioengineering
Cross-Appointed Professor, Department of Cell & Systems Biology

10:35 am - 10:50 am

Emeritus Professor
Chemical, Biological & Environmental Engineering

Expertise and Interests: Biological wastewater treatment; biological remediation of hazardous wastes; environmental policy and management; sustainable engineering practices.

Ph.D. Environmental Engineering - Stanford University, 1973.
M.S. Environmental Engineering - Oregon State University, 1970.
B.S. Civil Engineering - Oregon State University, 1968.


10:50 am - 11:05 am

Centennial Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Emeritus

Research focus: Anaerobic Biotransformation of hazadous pollutants oxygenation of rivers and lakes.

11:05 am - 11:20 am

Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Michigan

I am the Altarum/ERIM Russell O’Neal Professor of Environmental Engineering and one of four faculty members of the University of Michigan Environmental Biotechnology group. I am inspired by the complexity of the microbial world and the astonishing progress we have made in the field of microbial ecology over the past few decades. This progress continuously motivates me to rethink engineered systems so we can better harness the power of microorganisms to treat water and recover resources from waste stream.

Most of the research projects my team and I work on strive to understand and improve various aspects of the engineered water cycle microbiome to improve human health using sustainable design approaches. We especially focus on (i) water and energy recovery from waste streams and energy crops, and (ii) drinking water systems including biofiltration, disinfection, distribution and premise plumbing.


(10-min break)

11:30 am - 11:45 am


Professor, Department of Environmental Engineering, Inha University, Korea

Prof. Bae's research interests are in the anaerobic treatment of waste and wastewater, biological nutrient removal, and treatment of landfill leachares. He serves as a leader of the World Class University research team for "Reduction of greenhouse gas production and energy consumption in wastewater treatment plants" funded by Korean Research Foundation. His team together with Perry L. McCarty at Stanford developed a novel Anaerobic Fluidized Bed Membrane Bioreactor, which requires less energy for fouling control and has high potential to remove micropollutants. He served as vice president of the Korean Society of Water and Wastewater.


11:45 am - 12:00 am

12:00 pm - 12:30 pm

Perry L. McCarty, Silas H. Palmer Professor Emeritus, joined the Stanford University faculty in 1962 when he came to help develop the environmental engineering and science program. From 1980 to 1985 he was Chairman of Stanford's Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, and from 1989 to 2002 served as Director of the Western Region Hazardous Substance Research Center. He has a B.S. Degree in civil engineering from Wayne State University (1953), and M.S. (1957) and Sc.D. (1959) degrees in sanitary engineering from M.I.T.

The focus of his research and teaching has been on water with primary interest in biological processes for the control of environmental contaminants. His early research was on anaerobic treatment processes, biological processes for nitrogen removal, and water reuse. Current interests are on aerobic and anaerobic biological processes for treatment of domestic wastewaters, and movement, fate, and control of groundwater contaminants.

He was elected to membership in the National Academy of Engineering in 1977 and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1996. He received the John and Alice Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement in 1992, the Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize for Outstanding Achievements in Water Science and Technology in 1997, and the Stockholm Water Prize in 2007.

Prof. McCarty has over 350 publications, and is coauthor of the textbooks, Chemistry for Environmental Engineering and Science, and Environmental Biotechnology - Principles and Applications.

Adjourning: Jizhong Zhou, University of Oklahoma, USA